We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go here it is a dump”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel Malta
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We arrived at the hotel after an early morning flight. The foyer was grubby and very tired looking but ever hopeful we booked in hoping that the bedroom would be better. It wasn't. It was dirty and damp smelling, the bathroom was just as bad. We had asked for a pool view and give the hotel its due we had one, unfortunately the pool was empty and was taped off. We were told that there was another up on the 6th floor but as I am disabled and use a mobility scooter that was a no no. My husband went to look at the rest of the hotel having first asked me not to unpack (no chance of that) and when he came back after seeing the restuarant and bar which were in as bad a state as the room we went to check out again. While we were waiting to do so there were a couple of people asking for their money back so we weren't alone. The hotel was having an extension built and would have been better to shut down while this was going on or at the very least let the holiday companies know. I have stayed in better hotels when I was younger and cash strapped. We found an apartment courtesy of Lets Move in St. Julians, they were very helpful and even picked up our luggage from the hotel. So we had the expense of both the apartment and half board which we had booked through a travel company in the UK, this is a good argument for every travel company to have a rep in the resort, unfortunately there was no rep here. We found some nice restuarants, Vermells, Peppi's and 516 all had reasonably priced meals. Think very carefully before booking into the Alexandra.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kay4katz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianneSt_Julains, General Manager at Alexandra Hotel Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Pools are closed twice a year for maintenance to take place. This took place in October when the summer season was over and the water was becoming colder. The Hotel has two pools one on the ground floor and the other on the sixth floor. The sixth floor pool is accessible to a mobility scooter whilst the pool which was being refurbished is not, as there are some steps which lead to the pool. The people who are being mentioned complaining have booked a standard room whilst they needed a family room. Clients were moved to an apartment with an area of 30 sq metre and a 15sq metre balcony were they stayed till the end of their stay and promised to return. Receptionist on duty offered the client to change their room but they refused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (998)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 998 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2011

On arrival at 11am we were told my a very rude receptionist to just dump our bags in the reception area with the bags of people that were checking out and go and sit in the bar area as the room was not ready,ok we knew that checkin was 2pm. Bar area dingy,seats grubby, toilets near reception blocked. Outdoor pool has dirt and pieces of concrete in it, corridor to room grubby. Room it's self was normal size, the sheets looked like they hadn't been changed,crumpled up, also bed one side was higher than the other obviously 2 different sizes shoved together, shower head was filthy and limescaled up. This would probably suit 20 year olds who don't care as they would be to drunk to worry.

Room Tip: Higher ones might be less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harlow69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

going down hill,lack of management,v.good location,not clean needs room up-dates,plastic sticks to stir morning tea(no spoons).Cant have a glass of rose wine in evening only sell by bottle.No bar staff just a security gard covering(if he is out on his rounds you cant get a drink until his return!)Massive row one evening by staff in reception! in front of guests.,who trained the staff?This hotel could be much much better if someone cared.Why leave clean "towels" on the bed when they are needed in the bathroom.This hotels rooms need good clean and refurb,we stayed on the second floor.If the Alexandra does not sort its self out(its like its being run by an accountant or some one who does not understand what guests want) it will have to keep loweing rates to attract punters and will get stuck in a downard spiral a real shame as some staff in reception a quite brilliant

Room Tip: high up not over reception or just pick some where else (sorry alexandra)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnsteel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianneSt_Julains, General Manager at Alexandra Hotel Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Please note that cutlery served in breakfast is forks, knives and spoons and coffee stirrers instead of teaspoons. The majority of the hotels use stirrers for breakfast. If the client brought the attention to the waiter at the restaurant I am sure that they would have given her. Wine served by glasses used to be sold in the bar, but lately we made a good deal with one of the local wineries in Malta were they discounted the prices and was not worsted for the guest to buy in glasses since the difference to half a bottle which serves two glasses was for only 50cents. We have two shifts at the bar which is opened for 24 hours solely to serve the hotel guests. We open the bar for 24 hours not because we have a lot of revenue from it but if a guest comes at night and needs some coffee and snacks he can be served. Our four fulltime barmen works from 10.00 until 15.00 and from 15.00 until 23.00. From 23.00 until 06.00 am we have the service of a contractor which provides us with security personnel and were trained on purpose for our hotel to serve at the bar. As a three star hotel we are not obliged to leave the bar open for 24 hours but we feel that we have to give this service to the clients even though it is being run at a loss. Employees at the hotel have monthly training and daily briefing before starting their shift. One of the Duty Managers started shouting with one of the employees on a Sunday evening. Although we make extensive interviews when choosing our employees (this Duty Manager who has finished his tertiary studies at the University, is highly educated and is over qualified to work at this job) but since we are humans these things happen although they are never tolerated, and was dismissed instantly. Our refurbished and superior rooms have stainless steel shelving which it makes it possible for the towels to be placed in the bathrooms. Since the standard rooms have not any towel shelving, this makes it impossible for the towels to be placed in the bathroom as the only place available is the toilet. I do not think that it is a good idea to place it there when they can be placed in a better place. The Alexandra Hotel has been doing refurbishing since 2003 when the new owners took over the management. Since the hotel has been operating since 1987, the first works which were carried out were plumbing of the whole hotel including eight floors, pipes were changed to a German system, electricity and boiling system. Unfortunately these are not seen by the clients but it is from there that the works had to start. Every winter from November until March a whole floor which consists of 25 rooms is refurbished. The refurbishing which takes place does not involve only changing the furniture or color scheme but the room is stripped down from everything including floor tiles, bathrooms and energy saving electricity system. We have refurbished four floors up till today at the moment we have just finished the refurbishing of the first floor rooms. In between the hotel has purchased a block of 25 apartments adjacent to the hotel which we have interconnected. These apartments are finished to high standards and have balconies of 15 square meters. Moreover we have just finished the building of another 40 rooms on the other side of the road were the new capacity of the hotel is going to be of 210 rooms from 140. This project involved the digging of the hall were an indoor pool , gymnasium, a conference centre seating up to 150 delegates, sauna, beauty centre were built. The outdoor pool on the sixth floor is being moved to the new part of the building were the construction of a 50 sq metres pool, a big barbeque area, bar and sun terrace are taking place. Restaurant is going to be refurbished and enlarged to double the capacity; the bar and the reception are going to be refurbished too. These works in these public areas are going to take place in January and February of next year were the Hotel is going to close for two months to be in a position to carry out these works. The Directors knows of the potential of this hotel and are investing heavily in the property infact over two million euros were invested in refurbishment apart from the building which is being purchased. Ultimately the hotel is run by three young directors aged 32 to 37 who finished their tertiary studies at the University and knows how to speak four languages, English, Italian, French, German and one of them has just passed from her ordinary level in the Spanish Language to be in a position to understand the various nationalities that come at the Hotel. Even the receptionists are bilingual. Ultimately I would like to thank the hundreds of loyal return visitors who choose our hotel for their visit on our lovely Island twice a year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

A lot of collage students stay at this hotel, they where screaming and shouting .There was no water in the pool down stairs, the pool on the roof was very small there was only room for one person the walk all the way round it.The hotel is having a lot of work done, it started at 8am once 745am Had to ask for extra cover none in room only one top sheet and top cover they were not the covers shown in picture above the where faded plane red. pillow was stained brown they said this was due to the water???? for breakfast you had a choose of melon two cakes sausage or bacon you would be lucky if you got them on the same day beans or toms scrambled egg or omm or on the last day in was a poached egg these also not on the same day.
the one thing i will say was good was the staff they did well with what they had to work with.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandra m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianneSt_Julains, General Manager at Alexandra Hotel Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Extra blankets and pillows are placed in wardrobes. Whole linen at the hotel is changed every six months. Breakfast consists of four different types of cereals, four different types of bread, marmalade, jam, honey, cheese, two cold cuts, fruit, two different bakery items, like cake and pudding and the hot section. The hot section consists of baked beans, grilled tomatoes, bacon, sausages, scrambled or fried eggs and boiled eggs. We employee two kitchen staff to cook the breakfast, and we never had any complaints about it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

After arriving at the hotel, it was obvious the general standard of the hotel was unsatisfactory. Booking a 3 star hotel we were realistic in our expectations of what we would receive. We weren’t expecting the Ritz! We were given room 520, which we found to be totally unsuitable to spend 12 nights in. it was unclean, run down and in desperate need of general maintenance. The bath, toilet and plug less sink were in very poor condition due to rust, corrosion and dirt. Not to mention the broken toilet seat. When we asked for a plug on the second day it was not received until the final day prior to our departure.

Furthermore the bed was another disaster, when we removed the sheet, we discovered a large brown stain on the mattress which i dread to imagine what from. Being a couple, we expected a double bed and were assured at reception this would be arranged prior to our check in. However when we arrived at our room we discovered two single beds of different heights pushed together resulting in a 3 inches difference in the height. This became problematic when my partner fell down the middle. Funny at first, but so frustrating as the holiday progressed!

On complaining at reception that the room was in an extremely poor state we were met with an unaccommodating attitude and were told we could transfer the following day with a charge of 20 euros, per person, per night for 12 nights, which was simply just extortionate! When asking about keys to the mini safe in the room we were informed this would be another additional no refundable charge of 23 euros. Sky was also advertised as an available amenity in the hotel, when we asked about this, a non-Sky remote was given and only 3 Italian channels where available.

Breakfast was another problematic area. There was very little variety and what there was available was of very poor quality. The buffet consisted of a limited cooked breakfast of sausages, bacon and baked beans which we felt to be largely processed.

Overall the staff throughout the hotel were unaccommodating, unsympathetic and simply had no regards for making our stay enjoyable. The one ray of light was the room maid who was exemplary. She was friendly, approachable and helpful, giving us weather and Maltese sightseeing advice which was much appreciated.

Regardless of the appalling hotel we still had a fabulous hotel. The Alexander is no reflection of Malta. Malta is a gorgeous place, the beaches exceptional and local people friendly and kind. There are other central 3 star hotels which really live up to their rating. Don’t let this put you off booking a holiday to Malta, just avoid The Hotel Alexander!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Stayed her in January 2011. The Hotel is....central. That's about it. We arrived and were told that our deposit had not been received despite having been taken from our CC's a few weeks previously. Negotiated a "new" rate and went to our rooms. Rooms were just o.k. apart from the constant daily construction work outside. Made allowances as it was out of season.

Bar had no character and food looked uninviting. We literally just slept here. Pool was closed and most staff were pleasant. Would advise to pay a little more and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaronCotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

myself and my husband stayed here in september 2009 ,hotel was very disappointing .the downstairs pool was closed and the rooftop pool was dirty and not very well maintained.
the rooms were only passable we had a small double matress set on a piece of timber.thats the only way i could describe it!!!!
the bathroom and shower were ok ish ,needed a good clean.sheets were not changed for the whole 2 weeks we were there we had to ask for clean sheets.we had our own towels.
the staff in dining room and bar were very friendly in all fairness and the breakfast was good every morning ,
i am sorry to say these were the only good points ,so make up your own minds.
i complained to travel agent when we got home ,but they didnt really care needless to say i wont be using them again. from carole galway ireland

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolegalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.2 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#13 of 33 in Saint Julian's
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
#14 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rokna
Rokna
#17 of 33 in Saint Julian's
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dean Hamlet Hotel
Dean Hamlet Hotel
#22 of 33 in Saint Julian's
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#20 of 33 in Saint Julian's
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavalieri Art Hotel
Cavalieri Art Hotel
#19 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel Malta

Address: Schreiber Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3081, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £33 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel Malta 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandra Hotel is a 3 star hotel which has a total of 210 units, which consist in 22 one bedroom apartment, 15 family rooms, 10 triple rooms and 6 interconnected rooms. The rest are double rooms which can be uses for single use as well. 24 Hrs reception, restaurant which serve buffet breakfast and buffet dinner, lounge bar, indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, spa, outdoor pool, pool bar and BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alexandra Hotel Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Saint Julians
Alexandra Palace Hotel Malta
Alexandra Palace Malta
Alexandra Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing