We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good value and friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexandra Hotel Malta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel Malta
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location, good value and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed here as part of a youth rugby tour. We asked for cheap and central, and got what we wanted. Although the décor might be a bit dated, the rooms and communal areas were always clean.
Location is excellent, a short walk into the lively bit of St Juliens, and in the other direction a couple of minutes from some fine restaurants and bars around Spinola bay.
Local bus to Valletta was 4 Euro return.
Hotel staff were very friendly and knowledgable, and the bar was open 20 hours a day .. result!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrewontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    219
    241
    136
    163
See reviews for
71
312
44
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Just back from 5 nights at Hotel Alexandra which I found to be just about acceptable for the price in popular St Julians (around £50 a night for twin room sole use inc breakfast – July 2013).
The hotel is in a quiet side-street but only a short walk to the clubs, restaurants and ‘beach’.
The first few nights were spent in a basic room facing the shaft or centre of the hotel. The corridors are long here and the doors rattle. There was a black hair on the sheet when I turned the bed back. Clean bathroom but just a dribble from the shower. Very little fresh air circulating. Air-con making no difference as controlled remotely by the hotel and never got cooler than 20 degrees.
I later changed rooms (due to noise from nearby room at 4.30am) and found myself in what was obviously a more modern part of the hotel, facing out, with a sea view. Here the doors fitted, fresh air filled the room and the shower worked properly.
The hotel lists numerous options on its room rate menu so I would suggest fine-tuning to avoid the older rooms.
Breakfast is very basic. No hot food. Awful instant tea, not much choice in cereals, some pink meat and rubbery cheese if that’s your style plus cakes and toast. All this is presided over by a joyless head waiter.
The building work seems to be finished and the roof now boasts bright new pool (see picture).
Overall I would say that Hotel Alexandra just about gets the thumbs-up on location and price.

Room Tip: Avoid the older part of the hotel - and bring your own teabags!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John Beasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales U.K.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed in two rooms at the Alexandra in May this year (2013). The reception desk staff - Romina & Chris were so good that I feel guilty criticizing anything about the place!

The hotel location is excellent since it is close to all the shops. It is 3 - 4 mins. walk from a small rocky seafront and 10 mins. walk from the nice beach of St. Georges. I thought to mention that because I had read that there were no beaches around the area! St. Georges beach is literally touching the Paceville area where the streets at night are full of life for the teenagers and twenty-somethings.

One thing to note is that everything, hotels etc. are much closer together than they appear on the maps we looked at before we booked. You can walk from the Alexandra to loads of places around the area. We booked two bus trips with City Sightseeing but be warned - if you don't start early you will not have time to do as much as they will say you can. There are green, red and blue line trips but we only had time to do one a day, I think the other bus company did a better deal.

The breakfasts were continental, hardly ever varied and nothing to write home about, but you can order an English cooked breakfast for about 3 to 5 euros. The breakfast room, the Hotel bar and the reception foyer were always clean and pleasant and the staff there were all very helpful and friendly.

The bedrooms are all much of a likeness (I took time to explore!) and recommend the 4th, 5th and top floors for balcony views. We were however, very disappointed with the bed linen. Every day the beds would be made up but we couldn't really see how clean the sheets were because they were never ironed, they were always creased even before first use. Worse still the sheet covering the mattress was too small and pulled up with every twist of the body! this was the case with all four beds our family had. We ended up buying and fitting our own pillow cases just to FEEL clean. Generally speaking the hotel was clean and tidy it was just a pity about the beds.

Another disappointment was that with renovation going on (which didn't disturb us so no complaints), there was no swimming pool that could be used! So double check if it is finished before you go if this is important to you.

Overall I feel that having explored the island, St. Julians has to one of the best places to stay and the Alexandra is a reasonable place for price and accommodation. We couldn't thank The reception staff enough for their help when my mother lost her purse and again when we needed to hire a wheelchair, and then when a boat trip company left us stranded we phoned the hotel and Romina arranged for a taxi to come and get us, they just can't be faulted.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better sea views. With Paceville being so near you could check whether or not th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank O'Malleyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D18
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

I had a sneaking suspicion upon arrival that all was not well at the alexander. Our booking had been mislaid (second time this happened in two years) but the very helpful gentleman in reception soon rectified the matter and we were ready to settle into a relaxing stay. Our room had recently been refurbished and we were both inpressed by the decor, bathroom, layout and unmistakable smell of newly painted varnish. All the staff we encountered were more than helpful and pleasant. Our room was cleaned every day and the receptionist knew me by name which was a nice touch.

Here's where the plesantaries ended.
The drilling started at 8am daily. I don't mean just a little DIY I mean I thought the workmen were trying to come through the wall. This may have been a welcome sound for a Chilean miner but not the most favourable audio assault you wish to hear at 8am. Nevermind, I thought, we'll hit the pool for a swim. Unfortunately both pools were out of action. I don't mind shutting one pool during high season to enable refurbishment but shutting down both pools was insane. It was really embarrassing trying to explaining to my other half that both pools were off limits. Upon further inspection this was mentioned on the hotel site but none of the third party sites.

So back to the drilling. On the second last day of our stay we arrived in the afternoon to find a sizable mound of debris outside our door. The workers looked at us in contempt as we tried to squeeze pass them to gain access to our room. Why can't this work be completed during low season. I also thought it strange that the hotel would not section off specific corridors to refurbish at a time to avoid any disruption. I don't think it an unreasonable request to begin any heavy drilling work after noon. This is not a concentration camp after all. Please employ a project manager to oversee the refurb. It's been going on for a few years now..









I've stayed here before and expected to get what I paid for in respect of location versus comfort.

Room Tip: Sixth floor for early risers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BaronCotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Julian's hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
228 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed here for a Rugby tournament so i did not book it but it was horrible. The rooms are very small and crammed and the bathroom was dirty and poorly lit. To be expected for paying only 240 Euro for 3 nights stay. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone! The only good thing was the price but there are very nice hotels in the area that aren't much more so save a little more and try staying at a nicer one.

It is located by the main attractions in Paceville and the beach is about a 5 minute walk away. Like i said, you can save a little more money and stay at the nicer hotels on the beach. Don't go here!

Room Tip: If you must stay here, try and get the renovated rooms on the new wing. The other rooms are horribl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianneSt_Julains, Manager at Alexandra Hotel Malta, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Unfortunately there wasn't exact information in which room Mr. Adam was staying. According to our hotel system Mr. Adam was staying in room 621, a room on the sixth floor which was refurbished two years ago. A photo of this room and of the bathroom can be seen in our professional photos. (Room 621 is the room with blue furnishings).

Cleaning of the room is done daily including changing of towels and changing of linen every two days. If the cleaning and room standard was not up to Mr. Adams expectations we would have been pleased to help Mr. Adam if he brought this to our attention whilst he was still at the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

My son and I have just stayed in this hotel after being double-booked in another so-called hotel. On arrival at the Alexandra we were treated with care and attention and the staff went out of their way to get us a room quickly and ensure that our bad experience did not affect the rest of our holiday. My son in particular was upset and they treated him like one of their own, as do all Maltese people.

I cannot thank Roma and Chris enough for accommodating us at such short notice and making us feel welcome. A nice room after a night-flight is a god-send. We were given a family room and it was thoroughly cleaned every day and fresh towels supplied.

This hotel is excellent value for money, the staff are caring and courteous and I will definitely will be staying again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

I've stayed in this hotel for two weeks in April 2013. April considered as shoulder season in Malta, but if you are ready for groups of eroupean teenagers who are coming to study english - this is hotel for you. They were screaming almost 24 hrs a day, and group leaders and staff couldn't do anything with them. They occupied all areas in the hotel so sometimes it was impossible to reach the reception even to leave a key. Sometimes it was impossible to get breakfast as there was no free table in the restaurant.
I arrived at midday, but room was ready so I checked-in immediately. Deposit in amount of 30 Eu per person for the whole duration of stay is obligatory. I was really surprised as I didn't expect it so be ready. They will give it to you back in the end of your stay if everything is fine.
I was travelling alone, but got twin room for single use. Room was spacious, but amenities didn't refresh. Cleaning was good, towels were changed every day. My room had a balcony with chapel view.
Breakfast was one of the worst I've ever seen. Bread, bread, bread and nothing more. In the end of the first week I stopped to get breakfast in the hotel and took it out.
Internet is payable, 30 Eu per 5 days, but I had a lot of good neighbors with free wi-fi, so I didn't pay anything :)
Swimming pool was closed for the renovation during my stay.
All in all, hotel is good, but they have to change the segment of market. If I knew the hotel will be full of teenagers - I would never go there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalia1150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.2 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#17 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.3 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#15 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavalieri Art Hotel
Cavalieri Art Hotel
#18 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
#13 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rokna
Rokna
#16 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dean Hamlet Hotel
Dean Hamlet Hotel
#20 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel Malta

Property: Alexandra Hotel Malta
Address: Schreiber Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3081, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel Malta 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandra Hotel is a 3 star hotel which has a total of 210 units, which consist in 22 one bedroom apartment, 15 family rooms, 10 triple rooms and 6 interconnected rooms. The rest are double rooms which can be uses for single use as well. 24 Hrs reception, restaurant which serve buffet breakfast and buffet dinner, lounge bar, indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, spa, outdoor pool, pool bar and BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotel.de, BookMalta.com, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Alexandra Hotel Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Saint Julians
Alexandra Palace Hotel Malta
Alexandra Palace Malta
Alexandra Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing