We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel room needed updating and breakfast needs to be addressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel Malta
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hotel room needed updating and breakfast needs to be addressed”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel early October. The reception were good and efficient. We managed to get a room with a view of the sea (which I asked for), and casino so we were pleased but the bathroom was in a state chunks of wood coming off the door and frame and the bath needed new sealant which was almost off. We thought we would get a fridge (which was in the advert) but you had to rent a fridge for 23 euros. We actually laughed when we saw it. A slight man held this fairly big rusty old fridge and put it on the floor, We had to support at the bottom to lift it up. It was in a right old state but inside was ok and we put our drinks in there and it worked. The room was clean and the beds were fairly comfortable. We could not believe they had new mattresses but no mattress protectors at all, just a cotton bottom sheet which didn't really cover it and when you moved about it came off so you were actually on the mattress. They mattresses wont last that long if this happens all the time.,We had dinner the first night which was ok the ambience could have been better. We decided we would eat out the next night. When we got down for breakfast the next morning, we assumed it was going to be a hot choice but instead only cold buffet style breakfast Ham, cheese and melon. There were different sorts of breads to toast and you did have cake. You had to pay extra 5 euros each if you wanted bacon and egg. We did it once but we had to wait so long for it we nearly gave up. The second morning was chaos! Even though they only had 3 trays to deal with nothing was filled up, the coffee machine wasn't filled up either, no fruit juice available and not a waiter in sight. Everybody was just hovering about waiting for somebody. Finally somebody appeared with a tray of hams but really this was terrible. I could understand if it was may be hot food that had run out but three trays of cold food. Anyway the waiters the next morning were mumbling about having a big coach party in yesterday and it had got a bit too much. The good point also the hotel is central to Paceville which is busy but you can walk around there for your evening walk and there is no trouble. The other thing about the hotel when we got in the lift the same menu for dinner in the evening was in there for 4 days which is probably why some people don't bother. The swimming pool is new and is very nice, but not very big, so there are a few good points but also bad. I would not stay in this hotel again on personal preference although the price was fairly reasonable

Room Tip: High floor overlooking sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol1England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    232
    259
    147
    181
See reviews for
83
337
44
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Alexandra. The room was bright & airy, & housekeeping were very diligent with changing towels, making beds etc. The rooftop pool was ideal & the staff were very helpful with their local knowledge. The breakfast setup was a bit haphazard, but the friendly waitress made up for this. The location was perfect - close to the the hustle & bustle of Paceville, but also a short stroll to St. Julian's bay & the lovely cafes & bars. The hotel was fantastic value for money & we would heartily recommend it in future!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneCarlovian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I stayed in this "hotel" this week during my visit to Malta that was a group tour organization, and I wish I had another choice for accommodation: this is by far the worst hotel I've ever been, seriously this place should be deprived from its third star. The building is dark, and old, the walls and the window are thin like paper, making the room unbearable noisy. The pillows are like a brick, the whole room generally smells really bad. Speaking about a 3 star hotel, I didn't expect a massage tub, but there isn't even something like a shower cabin in the bathroom. The room doors' knobs are designed in such an unlucky system that whenever you would want to close the door, you have no other choice than slamming it really hard, so the whole corridor echoes.
The breakfast is below average as well.
There is no wifi in the hotel, and they charge internet usage per device: if there are 2 people in a room with their own laptops/phones, you have to pay twice the price of internet access.

Malta gave me everything I wished for a great holiday, except a comfortable and relaxing sleep. So I'm utterly heartbroken from the fact that whenever people will ask about my vacation in Malta, I will have to remember this hotel, and tell everyone how bad it was.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felicitas83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Julian's hotels

England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Just back from another wonderful stay at this re-vamped hotel . Everything was just prefect . The newly opened swimming pool on the 7th floor complete with bar was wonderful . Looking forward to being back in April . Would certainly recommend this hotel . Sue & Fred .

Room Tip: All the rooms are newly refurbished and to a high quality .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Invigulator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
March, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The Hotel is situated near the busy part of St Julian's a quick walk to a great choice of eating places, bars and cafes. It has a newly installed swimming pool on the roof and the rate is very competitive but it is a budget hotel. The rooms are adequate, many with Sea Views (but you have to ask). The rooms mainly have showers and twin rooms and many have been renovated but they have a quirky system of switching off the AC from 09.00 - 16.00 everyday! Breakfast is adequate but the real star quality is the staff, they so helpful and happy and this alone is worth the stay.

Had a great time once again and look forward to coming back in May - 2014

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GedD545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

New rooms in the recent (ongoing) extension were nice. The roof top pool is reasonable, with a good friendly bar service. The location is easy access to the local nightlife and close to the main bus routes.

Room Tip: Ask for one of he newer rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Groningerontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Just arrived in London and thought to leave a quick review online since I believe it is only fair to do so, we stayed at the hotel for a few days and had such an amazing time. No doubt the hotel has been going through some major refurbishment work but from what I can see the major work has been done.

The roof top pool views of Malta are amazing. The pool area has a mini bar which serves food in the day time and is open till late (I believe 2am) serving cocktails and refreshments.

I strongly recommend this hotel for any age group; the rooms are clean and properly serviced every day. The staff are very welcoming specially the girls that work in the roof top pool with there amazing cocktails, its a really good place to have your pre-drinks before heading down to saint Julian’s on a night out.

I would say that the prices for cocktails would be alot cheaper than your average bar on the strip. So if you are thinking of going to this hotel I would strongly recommend popping to the 7th floor and get a drink before heading out.

On behalf of me and my friend, we would like to give a very big thank you to the manager of the hotel Emanuel that was always been Professional and available to help us throughout our holiday vacation.

I have had a few minutes and gone through some of the old negative reviews I would strongly ignore them because the hotel has been transformed.


Andreas

Room Tip: I would book early to avoid any dissapointment, with the management and staff this hotel in time wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.2 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#14 of 33 in Saint Julian's
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
#13 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rokna
Rokna
#17 of 33 in Saint Julian's
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dean Hamlet Hotel
Dean Hamlet Hotel
#21 of 33 in Saint Julian's
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavalieri Art Hotel
Cavalieri Art Hotel
#19 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#18 of 33 in Saint Julian's
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel Malta

Property: Alexandra Hotel Malta
Address: Schreiber Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3081, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel Malta 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandra Hotel is a 3 star hotel which has a total of 210 units, which consist in 22 one bedroom apartment, 15 family rooms, 10 triple rooms and 6 interconnected rooms. The rest are double rooms which can be uses for single use as well. 24 Hrs reception, restaurant which serve buffet breakfast and buffet dinner, lounge bar, indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, spa, outdoor pool, pool bar and BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alexandra Hotel Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Saint Julians
Alexandra Palace Hotel Malta
Alexandra Palace Malta
Alexandra Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing