We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel Malta
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
West Midlands, uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my parents & 3 young daughters.
Hotel was very clean & well maintained.. Good sea views from balcony..
Only problem is that we had to go across the road for food, as the hotel was just bed & Breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    221
    244
    137
    165
See reviews for
73
315
44
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is situated in the best area of the island. There were some problems with getting the kind of room, for which we have paid for. We stayed in a superior room which was acceptable, but nothing special. Standard rooms have to be very basic. The room was clean.
We chose this hotel, because we intended only to sleep there, otherwise we would have sought a better and more expensive hotel.
For our needs the location was most important, so we can't complain.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MitkoS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel has a load of kids on school trips staying here so a bit off pre planning by the staff would of made a bit of scense, instead of keeping them all on one level they have them scattered about the hotel on every level so beware of the noise levels. The food is pish poor as well. Beware of them booking you a taxi as you get charged a fortune for them best phoning e cabs 00 356 21383838 much cheaper on the phone bill. SO IF YOUR A FAMILY DO NOT STAY HERE AT ANY COST.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alnessliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Julian's hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

If you plan to visit this hotel, prepare with some earplugs, because it is located very close to the discos of St. Julian and there's a lot of nighlife in the nearby streets and even in the Schreiber street where the hotel is. There'a a large shopping mall just opposite, so shopping facilities are good. The hotel is situated very close to bus stops and to some 5 mins walk to the sea (well actually, that's not a big deal in Malta...). Rooms were okay, acceptable for the price and regularly cleaned.
The interior of the hotel reflects the 70's, it's quite old fashioned and dingy. Prepare as well for drunken English and Spanish kids, because of the location many choose this hotel to have some party and usually the staff is not doing anything, even if they are making mess and shouting like hell totally drunk around 6 am.
The breakfast was boring, every day the same, but you can find some excellent restaurants nearby, cheap and expensive as well and I can recommend you to the restaurant which is located in the same building.
Conclusion: visit this hotel if you seek something cheap, which is located in the centre, but only if you are a very good sleeper or doesn't care about noisy.
And prepare for a 2 euros price for printing airline tickets. Printing anything else will cost you some 0,1-0,5 cents/page, but if you would like to print your tickets, they charge 2-2,5 euros/page, not just in this hotel, but everywhere on the island. Fair approach, isn't it?

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tamás F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Perfect location. very close to bars, restaurants and the beach. very helpful staff..they deserve an extra +.. we can highly recommend this hotel! if we visit malta again we will definitely stay at this hotel!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hugas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Came back 5 days ago from staying at this modest friendly hotel for 5 nights half board flying from Manchester 320pp inc' transfers from Malta airport to St.Julians. The transfer time was only 30 mins from airport and that was after dropping off a handful of other holiday makers.

We were a party of 3 - myself 31 and 28 weeks pregnant, my ex partner 35, my mum 56. When we arrived (night time) at the hotel, our first impressions were, the hotel appeared to be basic looking from the outside. We thought the lobby was a little dated but tidy and sufficient. Check-in was speedy and we went up to check the 2 rooms we were allocated (i think 214 and 617). Now i must say, after my mum and i had read some of the reviews for this hotel, we were quite anxious and expected the worst but we were pleasantly suprised when we were greeted with clean, comfortable rooms that were of a good standard in my opinion and both with balconies, 1 facing the front road (a little noise from traffic during peak hours) 1 facing another block of rooms to the rear belonging to the hotel (quite quiet according to my mum). The rooms had conveniences such as hairdryer and t.v with italian, english, maltese and possibly german channels and my mums room had a fridge. All rooms have a safe and we found the beds in the rooms to be very comfortable and there was plenty of hot water for showering. And in the corridors there are cctv cameras keeping watch. The rooftop pool wasnt open but i think this was due to the weather not being hot enough but it wasnt a problem with a nearby beach. We paid for wifi access which was around 6/7 euro for 24 hrs i think but this gives you access to all wifi locations using the same service provider all over St.julians.

The breakfast consisted of a continental (toast, jams, cakes, crossants, cerials, tea, coffee, juice, etc) the dining room was over run with teenage kids in school groups from Italy (a little noisey like most big groups of kids but they were well behaved), presumably with it being Easter holidays but the staff were very efficent at clearing tables making way for other guests.

When investigating the area we soon realised that although the hotel was positioned off the main road and on a small street, everything was on our doorstep and although it was late March, it was apparent St. Julians seemed to be a lively place . The weather was around 18-20 degrees with full sun and there wasnt a cloud in sight. There were private harbours, beaches, casinos, main bus stops, abundance of shops and eateries aswell as pharmacies small mini markerts and bars all within walking distance. I noticed there are contrasting areas surrounding the hotel from upmarket and impressive shopping arcades, marina and deli's in 1 direction and the louder lower end of the market as in nightclubs which come to life of an evening and fast food another direction

We did 2 Malta sightseeing bus trips around north of the island and the south of the island on two seperate days and the pick up point for the sightseeing bus was conveniently situated about 2 minutes walk from the hotel (at the stone archway to dragonara resort) if your new to Malta, there are plenty of tourist leaflets in the lobby area of the hotel that will give you ideas on what to do during your stay.

When we did eat at the hotel of an evening, meals were served buffet style and although they didnt have alot on offer, the chefs gave big portions. The soups were tasty and although ive become a lover of junk food since being pregnant, i became a big fan of these soups and the fresh juicy salad that they had available every evening. The main meals usually consisted of pasta, rice, vegetables and a meat dish to go with this and odd familiar food for kids such as nuggets or hot dogs. They had cakes and ice cream on offer for desert and when buying drinks from the bar they were a similar price to back home.

I'd like to add during our stay i encountered a bad experience involving my ex partner and the manager who was wearing a purple shirt was so helpful and quick thinking. I didn't manage to thank him as i was overwhelmed with embarrasment and shock after what happened but he was so proffessional and understanding about the situation and even made arrangements with his colleague who wore glasses at the reception desk for me and my mum to be moved to a different room, not as high up for safety purposes and so we could be together. He informed me that he had told staff on reception to keep an eye out for anything and after this, i felt so relieved and safe and i dread to think what would of happened without him and the rest of the people that work there.
I honestly cannot fault the hard working, friendly staff. From management, dining room and bar staff to housekeeping, everyone of them put in alot of effort into their jobs and are multi lingual.

If you are looking for a modest, safe, friendly, conveniently located, clean place which is value for money, then i would recommend this hotel. It is is a good 3 star hotel and in my opinion made my 1st visit to Malta, a worth while and memorable one. I'm planning on returning to Malta in the future and ive already decided to stay here with my 2 sisters who are 8 and 9 and my baby when he can fly as I'd feel more than confident staying here with young children in this safe, well run, friendly hotel. There is something to suit everyone in this location, to suit all budgets, and the hotel is an ideal base to cover all areas.

Room Tip: We had rooms 214 (theres abit of noise with it facing the front) 617 (its quieter and faces the rear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miss S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianneSt_Julains, Manager at Alexandra Hotel Malta, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Whilst thanking you for choosing Alexandra Hotel for your holiday, we look forward to welcome you in our hotel in your next visit to our Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

The hotel provides a good value for those who don't spend much time indoors. However, there are some disadvantages (noisiness, the breakfast is mediocre, there is no free Wi-Fi). Though very helpful and friendly staff...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OxanaErm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.2 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#16 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#17 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavalieri Art Hotel
Cavalieri Art Hotel
#18 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
#14 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rokna
Rokna
#15 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dean Hamlet Hotel
Dean Hamlet Hotel
#21 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel Malta

Property: Alexandra Hotel Malta
Address: Schreiber Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3081, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel Malta 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandra Hotel is a 3 star hotel which has a total of 210 units, which consist in 22 one bedroom apartment, 15 family rooms, 10 triple rooms and 6 interconnected rooms. The rest are double rooms which can be uses for single use as well. 24 Hrs reception, restaurant which serve buffet breakfast and buffet dinner, lounge bar, indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, spa, outdoor pool, pool bar and BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexandra Hotel Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Saint Julians
Alexandra Palace Hotel Malta
Alexandra Palace Malta
Alexandra Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing