We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pool and location but everything else terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel Malta
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great pool and location but everything else terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

The hotel really needs a refurb. The pool was fantastic and the best part of our stay, if you want a good pool and location and aren't fussed about the room then this is the place for you.

The hotel service was terrible, I called down to reception to get them to fix our toilet flush and was put on hold for 10 minutes, my friend had to go down to reception to find someone and they never came back to us about being put on hold. The room wasn't cleaned every day, they didn't replenish the toilet paper every day. They did give us clean towels however they were the size of hand towels and we had to go to reception to ask for more. When we arrived there was a dirty ash tray on the balcony which was never cleaned while we were there. The beds were ok, bit uncomfortable but had nails sticking out of the sides.

The breakfast is best avoided as well, it was a buffet of bread, meat and a bit of cheese. Didn't taste good at all and not a lot of food. Easier to go to a nearby café and have a toastie or croissant for 1 euro.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    221
    244
    137
    165
See reviews for
73
315
44
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

very central location. rooms very basic and in need of update. bathrooms particularly tired. roof terrace was lovely but the pool was not filled which was disappointing for 147 of us. food was very bland and not much choice. staff were very nice and helpful (well most 1 jobsworth). all in all a good hotel for what we needed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my parents & 3 young daughters.
Hotel was very clean & well maintained.. Good sea views from balcony..
Only problem is that we had to go across the road for food, as the hotel was just bed & Breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is situated in the best area of the island. There were some problems with getting the kind of room, for which we have paid for. We stayed in a superior room which was acceptable, but nothing special. Standard rooms have to be very basic. The room was clean.
We chose this hotel, because we intended only to sleep there, otherwise we would have sought a better and more expensive hotel.
For our needs the location was most important, so we can't complain.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MitkoS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel has a load of kids on school trips staying here so a bit off pre planning by the staff would of made a bit of scense, instead of keeping them all on one level they have them scattered about the hotel on every level so beware of the noise levels. The food is pish poor as well. Beware of them booking you a taxi as you get charged a fortune for them best phoning e cabs 00 356 21383838 much cheaper on the phone bill. SO IF YOUR A FAMILY DO NOT STAY HERE AT ANY COST.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alnessliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Julian's hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

If you plan to visit this hotel, prepare with some earplugs, because it is located very close to the discos of St. Julian and there's a lot of nighlife in the nearby streets and even in the Schreiber street where the hotel is. There'a a large shopping mall just opposite, so shopping facilities are good. The hotel is situated very close to bus stops and to some 5 mins walk to the sea (well actually, that's not a big deal in Malta...). Rooms were okay, acceptable for the price and regularly cleaned.
The interior of the hotel reflects the 70's, it's quite old fashioned and dingy. Prepare as well for drunken English and Spanish kids, because of the location many choose this hotel to have some party and usually the staff is not doing anything, even if they are making mess and shouting like hell totally drunk around 6 am.
The breakfast was boring, every day the same, but you can find some excellent restaurants nearby, cheap and expensive as well and I can recommend you to the restaurant which is located in the same building.
Conclusion: visit this hotel if you seek something cheap, which is located in the centre, but only if you are a very good sleeper or doesn't care about noisy.
And prepare for a 2 euros price for printing airline tickets. Printing anything else will cost you some 0,1-0,5 cents/page, but if you would like to print your tickets, they charge 2-2,5 euros/page, not just in this hotel, but everywhere on the island. Fair approach, isn't it?

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tamás F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Perfect location. very close to bars, restaurants and the beach. very helpful staff..they deserve an extra +.. we can highly recommend this hotel! if we visit malta again we will definitely stay at this hotel!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hugas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.2 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#16 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#17 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavalieri Art Hotel
Cavalieri Art Hotel
#18 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
#14 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rokna
Rokna
#15 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dean Hamlet Hotel
Dean Hamlet Hotel
#21 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel Malta

Property: Alexandra Hotel Malta
Address: Schreiber Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3081, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel Malta 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandra Hotel is a 3 star hotel which has a total of 210 units, which consist in 22 one bedroom apartment, 15 family rooms, 10 triple rooms and 6 interconnected rooms. The rest are double rooms which can be uses for single use as well. 24 Hrs reception, restaurant which serve buffet breakfast and buffet dinner, lounge bar, indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, spa, outdoor pool, pool bar and BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexandra Hotel Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Saint Julians
Alexandra Palace Hotel Malta
Alexandra Palace Malta
Alexandra Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing