We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel, dirty, unfriendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel Malta
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I was extremely displeased with this hotel and advise travelers to avoid this establishment. I am surprised there are any positive reviews because this is one of the worst places I have stayed and I travel extensively. I would compare the rooms to an old army barracks with old broken down furniture and neglected interiors(desperately needs painting and replacement of all fixtures, toilets didn't work, door handles fell off, etc.). I would have left immediately but I had prepaid through a travel agent and did not have the time or money to search for another place. Plus, I was over charged 150 euros for a miserable room! There were years of dust and grime everywhere you looked, I really didn't want to sleep in the bed. Added to all of this distress was a hotel staff that seemed bleak and trapped in an unfortunate job. They seemed to resent the hotel guests and treated each other badly! How do they stay in business? It was a horrible experience!

Room Tip: Stay away from this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank readytogobaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,020)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

The staff is very friendy. Is near to Paceville, the main night attractions are 3min by walk, but you don't listen any noise from the clubs. 2 pools, 1 inside and 1 outside at the 7th floor. The rooms are good for the price, don't expect too much, but for vacations is mote then enought. Cleaning service everyday, so the rooms are always clean. For the price, I become really surprised with the service.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Ciberman84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Excellent location, daily cleaning and change of towels, nice, air conditioning rooms with sea view, great swimming pool, lovely hotel. Only breakfast could be better, every day was the same, but for additional fee you could buy some warm meal. I definitely recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewelina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel pool leaked through the roof right into our room. We noticed this after staying there for four nights. The room air was moist, there was a pig pool of water on the floor and there was white mold growing on the wall. We had three more nights to go and it was extremely hard to get decent service in this situation. They tried to move us on the second floor but as soon as we opened the door to check the room, the toilet leaked water in the hallway. The next room smelled like an old ashtray and the beddings were dirty. After a long dispute with the reception they told us that "a guy" went to check the room and it was safe to sleep. They didnt know my sister was staying in the room the whole time in which case they were caught in a lie. Finally we got a new room to stay but this argue ruined a good impression of the hotel.
-too many too noisy british teenagers
-the breakfast is not worth to pay extra

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mirella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The hotel really needs a refurb. The pool was fantastic and the best part of our stay, if you want a good pool and location and aren't fussed about the room then this is the place for you.

The hotel service was terrible, I called down to reception to get them to fix our toilet flush and was put on hold for 10 minutes, my friend had to go down to reception to find someone and they never came back to us about being put on hold. The room wasn't cleaned every day, they didn't replenish the toilet paper every day. They did give us clean towels however they were the size of hand towels and we had to go to reception to ask for more. When we arrived there was a dirty ash tray on the balcony which was never cleaned while we were there. The beds were ok, bit uncomfortable but had nails sticking out of the sides.

The breakfast is best avoided as well, it was a buffet of bread, meat and a bit of cheese. Didn't taste good at all and not a lot of food. Easier to go to a nearby café and have a toastie or croissant for 1 euro.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

very central location. rooms very basic and in need of update. bathrooms particularly tired. roof terrace was lovely but the pool was not filled which was disappointing for 147 of us. food was very bland and not much choice. staff were very nice and helpful (well most 1 jobsworth). all in all a good hotel for what we needed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my parents & 3 young daughters.
Hotel was very clean & well maintained.. Good sea views from balcony..
Only problem is that we had to go across the road for food, as the hotel was just bed & Breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.1 mi away
Rokna
Rokna
#21 of 33 in Saint Julian's
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dean Hamlet Hotel
Dean Hamlet Hotel
#22 of 33 in Saint Julian's
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#20 of 33 in Saint Julian's
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#13 of 33 in Saint Julian's
380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavalieri Art Hotel
Cavalieri Art Hotel
#17 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Malta
Holiday Inn Express - Malta
#19 of 33 in Saint Julian's
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel Malta

Address: Schreiber Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3081, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £33 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel Malta 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandra Hotel is a 3 star hotel which has a total of 210 units, which consist in 22 one bedroom apartment, 15 family rooms, 10 triple rooms and 6 interconnected rooms. The rest are double rooms which can be uses for single use as well. 24 Hrs reception, restaurant which serve buffet breakfast and buffet dinner, lounge bar, indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, spa, outdoor pool, pool bar and BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alexandra Hotel Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Saint Julians
Alexandra Palace Hotel Malta
Alexandra Palace Malta
Alexandra Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing