We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would not recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel Malta
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Reviewed 17 June 2009

The pictures of this hotel do not match what it is actually like. The rooms are small with air conditioning that does not work. I asked at reception if they could fix it for two days and nobody came to our room. The swimming pools are disgusting with scum ont he top of the water. The showers are terrible with a small hose that just reaches your shoulders.
Only positive thing is that the staff are friendly

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bunnybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (980)
There are newer reviews for Alexandra Hotel Malta
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 980 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2009

We'd booked a double but they only gave us two singles, but we were tired from the flight so decided to let it slide. There was a strong whiff in the room. I thought maybe it was ammonia in the cleaning products or something, as they had just cleaned the room before we arrived. I lay down on the bed and the smell got stronger. I started sniffing around and then almost gagged when I found the source, the pungent stench of pee coming from my mattress. It had dried and the bed had just been made over it! I lifted up the mattress and there was a huge damp patch on the bed base. I packed up my things and went downstairs and explained the situation, and asked to be moved to another room. The woman at reception said they were booked up but could give me a different mattress. I waited up in the room and the cleaners arrived with the replacement mattress, but found that the bed base stain was still damp so luckily they agreed to replace the whole thing. The replacement mattress was pretty worn, although at least it didn't smell of pee. When they put the new sheets on the bed there was a large dark stain on the coversheet. I didn't want to complain again so I just put up with it. We were there for 4 nights and each day when we returned to the room the beds were made but the large stain was still there! This was after 4 nights. I don't know if they replaced the other sheets on the bed but this one certainly never got changed. The bedding was generally tattered and stained and the mattresses uncomfortable.

The hotel rules were something you'd be more likely to find in a summer camp than a hotel - no outside plastic or glass bottles allowed, no guests in the room, and extra daily charges if you want to use the room safe or fridge. If you want the remote control to the TV you need to ask at reception. The air conditioner only blew room temperature air.

This was the cheapest in the area and I guess it proves the saying that you get what you pay for. There was a hotel nearby (Valentina) that our friends stayed at that was only 10 or 20 euros more a night and they didn't have any of the problems we had, it was false economy thinking we'd save money by choosing this as it tainted what could have been a much nicer holiday.

With a little effort this could be a nice hotel - there's a pool and a bar and each room has a balcony with a small view of the water - but standards have obviously been dropped and they seem more interested in packing in large groups than providing a good customer experience.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelinTravis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2009

We stayed here for a wedding. Upon arrival i could not believe that this was still standing in 2009. It's a total early 1970's hotel.

Good points:
Girls at the desk are nice and polite
Has internet access
Great location for young people as it's 2min walk from Paceville - the place where it's all happening as regards pubs and clubs

Bad Points:
The rooms are shocking including the ensuite
The pool was out of order
Building site beside it - be prepared for noise well before you'd normally get up
The air-con doesnt work
The bar staff tried to short change me late at night. Must have presumed i was drunk or something. When i challenged him he offered a free drink and walked away the scumbag
The old night porter/behind the desk man is as ignorant as a farm animal

We were there for 5 nights , on the 4th night a group of italian teenagers checked in and made so much noise that we checked out the following morning to save me getting in trouble with the law. We went to the Golden Tulip around the corner , a proper hotel for €10 extra per night

When in Malta , have a meal at Paparazzi at st.julians bay , have a beer at the black bull and peppermint bar in paceville. Head out to gozo , mdina and popeye film set for day trips , all well worth it. Oh down at Julians bay is the Dubliner , great for a bit of sport and grub too

Really recommend the whole area. Will be heading to Malta again as soon as possible and staying at the Golden Tulip

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
2  Thank dustymauve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2009

Arrived and booked in,we got to our room,it was a really bad,bathroom was a rust bucket,plaster falling off the ceiling,cracks all on the walls.Out on the balcony the guard to stop you falling off was falling off itself.We went down and asked for another room got it it was ok.Had dinner there one evening for €10 buffet what load of crap.The indoor swimming pool was out of order.Location great.Wont be staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wintersGalwayIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2009

We had only one week for vacation, so my husband and I chose Malta - an English and Italian-speaking Mediterranean island rich in history. We easily found the economical Alexandra Hotel on-line and negotiated for 3 meals a day. The location turned out to be wonderful, near public transporation, taxis and sight-seeing buses, pizzerias, banks, souvenir shops, several other hotels, and only 2 blocks from the sea. The Alexandra's 3 meals were abundant and superlative, which may be one of the reasons there were groups of European tourists coming and going - and we were there during the off-season. Chef Charles Brincat invited us and other guests to a private 5-course dinner of his Mediterranean specialities. This cost extra but we had the most delicious seafood dishes ever! On our last night there, Chef Charles treated us to his scrumptious bouillabaisse.
We give The Alexandra Hotel in Malta two thumbs up, recommend that you visit Malta during the off season - the sightseeing is spectacular - and we enthusiastically encourage you to sample Chef Charles' extraordinary cuisine!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2009

Just returned from a five night stay at the Hotel Alexandra- set in St.Julians we travelled there as a family of six. We booked three rooms, B and B and travelled with Air Malta.
The rooms- the hotel is very basic, the reception area fools you into thinking that it is 5* Hotel when as soon as you arrive in your hotel room it may as well be a luxury hostel. The beds are very thin and only about 5 foot 6/8 tall so if you are tall do not stay in this hotel. The shower is very weak, and because of the lack of pressure you have to have it on maximum hot to get a warm shower. We survived the showers for five days but could not spend two weeks here- the hotel luckily is not designed for this. The breakfast of a morning is served on a saucer- there are no plates- they only fill up the food on an hourly basis and even when the food levels get low they need to be reminded to fill them up! The people in the hotel are friendly however they do not have great service skills- they will often speak to their colleagues over you rather than focusing on your conversation. This is a Maltese thing though not exclusive to the Hotel.

St Julians- this is a very mixed area- on the one hand Portomasso a very rich vibrant posh area privileged with Flats overlooking the sea where you can purchase one for 1million Euros. The middle class area has the most to offer great shops, bars and restaurants cafe's at every corner and plenty of tourist attractions. The hotel location is perfect for seeing St Julians.There are however some poorer parts of the town which although never compromised safety i would not want to flash a 5 euro note around!

Malta itself- I went to Malta for a break, expecting Meditereanean hospitality and to experience great cuisine for my stay. the food, the people are generally great. Expect nice sea food! I did not realise how Arabic the island is and to say that i was pleased with how friendly this place was is an understatment- everyone is friendly they just have different standards such as the service level i stated before. The island is more arabic meets Italian and Meditereanean rather than English. Do not be surprised if you go to the island and nobody speaks English. They tend to speak Maltese first- not a problem but it surprised me to be honest.

I would definately return to Malta- but not to Hotel Alexandra; St Julians is OK but if Malta can only offer this as its family meets nightlife club restaurant central then i think that they should essentially try again!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamanskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2008

We had an excellent week at the Alex, so much so we are going back to it in November this year. My wife is a caeliac and they were willing to help as much as possible. Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JonnyboySalford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
#14 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,282 reviews
0.2 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#13 of 33 in Saint Julian's
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rokna
Rokna
#17 of 33 in Saint Julian's
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cavalieri Art Hotel
Cavalieri Art Hotel
#19 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dean Hamlet Hotel
Dean Hamlet Hotel
#22 of 33 in Saint Julian's
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#18 of 33 in Saint Julian's
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel Malta

Address: Schreiber Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3081, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £45 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel Malta 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandra Hotel is a 3 star hotel which has a total of 210 units, which consist in 22 one bedroom apartment, 15 family rooms, 10 triple rooms and 6 interconnected rooms. The rest are double rooms which can be uses for single use as well. 24 Hrs reception, restaurant which serve buffet breakfast and buffet dinner, lounge bar, indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, spa, outdoor pool, pool bar and BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alexandra Hotel Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Saint Julians
Alexandra Palace Hotel Malta
Alexandra Palace Malta
Alexandra Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing