We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cheap, amazing seaview from 6th floor.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel Malta
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Very goodand cheap hotel, centrally located, nice room on the 6th floor, fantastic seaview.Hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexit0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (980)
There are newer reviews for Alexandra Hotel Malta
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 980 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2011

We stayed here for Christmas. The hotel really needs improvements like painting and new furniture. Our double room was big enough and ok for sleeping. Was noisy and the walls were very thin and you can hear everything from next door.
The bathroom was ok just to take a shower.
The breakfast was good, not excelent.
Location was good too, close to bus station and Bay Street area.
Double room was 30 eur/ per night with breakfast included and I think it was a right price for what you get.
If you want to use the fridge, safe box and wifi you have to pay extra.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oanah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

The have very nice new and comfortable rooms with a big balcony, when you are lucky you get a perfect sea view. The location of the Hotel is absolutely fantastic. Only a few metres from the bars, clubs and beach but still in a quiet side street. The whole staff was extremely friendly. Everything was very clean and the breakfast buffet contains the most important needs and the quality of them were very good. They also have computers which you can use and a well-known restaurant. with delicious food. I got a great value for money!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janebzrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

We arrived in St Julians to the destination of our much awaited holiday, to be faced with a dull, grimy unwelcoming frontage and reception, the receptionist was very nice and swiftly gave us our keys, then told us we had to pay a 30 Euro deposit each as previous gusts had left with out paying!!!! (I now know why!!!) I was travelling with my husband and 77 year old mother and on entering our room I broke down in tears. It was awful, it was dark and dingy and warm, the door of our room looked as if it have previously been forced and the wood was handing off around the lock. The curtains were torn and dirty and the TV was held on the stand with pallet tape. The windows were so filthy I wasnt sure what kind of day it was. The view was equally underwhelming, building works and the side of other buildings. However if you stretched to your right a slight bit of blue sea was barely visible. Through my tears I pulled back the dated bed covers to reveal not white crisp cotton which I would expect in any 3 star establishment but grey over washed and thin over used sheets. There was graffitti scored onto the wardrobes, dirty run marks on the walls, grime on the corners of the floor, a horrible worn out MDF toilet lid, and a very chipped bath. No plug for the sink and a very toilety smell throughout. We went staight onto the phone to the travel agents to complain and try to get out of the place. I could barely speak for the tears and I could see the obvious dissapointment and disgust on both my mum and husbands faces. Luckily we did get another hoel but not till the next day, we all sllept clothed ontop of the beds and couldnt get out quick enough. We had to pay extra. I can imagine why we had to pay a deposit, they should have paid us to enure the place.
Just as a matter of fact the pool area was very grotty and there was no sun there, it was disgusting in the reception/lounge area, the cream leather suites were filty, and the reception are dark and hot. NEVER go to this Hotel please the travel company who marked it 3 stars must be blind. The 6th floor of the Hotel I beleive was recently " Upgraded" couldnt get down graded that's for sure. So the photos that are seen n the internet are from there......the camera sometimes dow lie and I think the outside and pool shots must have been made soon after completion ................I do intend to take my complaints further.....

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lojsandison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We were sort of desperate for a place to stay in Malta and really didn't know where exactly to stay. The best thing about the hotel is it's central location in the St. Julian's area of Malta. We only stayed for 3 days, but we were able to see quite a bit!

The entire hotel looks like it got left in the 80s. The decor is old and outdated; definitely needs to be updated. It's very dark and uninviting inside but easy to see that maybe in its day the hotel was nice. Do NOT be fooled by the pictures posted as they are definitely not representative of what you get. The pool is a nasty joke that goes completely unused. It's much smaller than it looks in the photos and you'll be on display to hotel restaurant patrons. No sun arrives in this tiny enclosed area.

In our room the a/c didn't work and the toilet was initially broken. The tub had rust stains and the shower head was waist high (I have no idea why). The water from the sink was clearly marked non-potable, but I would add that even brushing your teeth left a disgusting, salty taste in your mouth. If you want to buy a bottle of water from the bar, prepare for 2.50 euros for 1 liter. Incidentally, the bar is a disgusting dive that no one congregates in. The bartender was doubling as security guard as well.

The staff are horribly rude and unhelpful. They booked a couple of tours for us but never said what time we would be picked up. We later realized this and asked another staff member who threw his hands up and exclaimed, "how should I know, I didn't book it!" Completely unprofessional and unhelpful.

As for staying in Malta, this area is where the nightlife is! Also, buses pass very frequently in the area so no need to rent anything and riding the bus is an adventure in itself! Tours pick you up from your hotel (though stay AWAY from Captain Morgan tours... they're a ripoff).

In short, this hotel should be bulldozed and replaced with something more useful, like a park, or parking lot. It's dirty, unfriendly and not cheap. The only good thing is the location, so only choose this hotel if everything else is completely booked.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fdanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Ive never wrote a review before but i decided to this time because i dont want people to be disappointed like me and my partner was. Ok were to start the good points of the hotel or should i say good point - the only good point for this hotel is that it is a good location i can honestly say i will not go to this hotel again. Bad points - the rooms are horrible and dirty especially the bathroom, there is meant to be air con but all they are is vents and because of this we did not get a good night sleep because the rooms are just to hot and it also didnt help that you have young people in the hotel shouting and slamming doors all night. i have read so peoples reviews who say try and get on the 6th floor because they are the best rooms yes the rooms are much better but personally dont bother if its not to late just move hotel. there is two pools but not one of them can you sun bath one is in the middle of the building and does not get no sunlight and the other one is on the roof but does not get sun light because it is covered with what looks like a conservatory roof and the sun loungers are at the very top of the building not that you can sunbath on them because there all broke nothing else is on the roof so if you want food or a drink you have to go all the way back down to the ground floor the lifts are very slow. we went bed and breakfast but i would advise you just go self catering the breakfasts well i would not even bother i would not even feed it to my dog. i would not rate it a 3 star hotel i have previously stayed at a 3 star hotel in malta and this one just did not compare at all if you are looking for a nice cheapish 3 star hotel i would recomend the Plaza/Plaza Regency

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HJB19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

a stayed @ the Alexandra hotel for the 3rd time and had an excellent time.
Ofcourse situated in the heart of Paceville but without the "noise" of al the bars and clubs.
I had stayed in a brand new room which was very spacious and had an very large terrace.
individual airco (very nice). every day cleaning, and the good buffet-breakfast.
and of course the very friendly staff lways ready to reply your questions and ready for a chat.
the 2 pools (one semi indoor) are very good to cool off when it's hot outsite.
and for a excellent dinner just go to the Trattoria All' Angolo.
i will certain visit the hotel again this or next year.
just book it and experiance the warm Maltese hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoogland033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
#14 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,282 reviews
0.2 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#13 of 33 in Saint Julian's
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rokna
Rokna
#17 of 33 in Saint Julian's
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cavalieri Art Hotel
Cavalieri Art Hotel
#19 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dean Hamlet Hotel
Dean Hamlet Hotel
#22 of 33 in Saint Julian's
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#18 of 33 in Saint Julian's
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel Malta

Address: Schreiber Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3081, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £45 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel Malta 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandra Hotel is a 3 star hotel which has a total of 210 units, which consist in 22 one bedroom apartment, 15 family rooms, 10 triple rooms and 6 interconnected rooms. The rest are double rooms which can be uses for single use as well. 24 Hrs reception, restaurant which serve buffet breakfast and buffet dinner, lounge bar, indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, spa, outdoor pool, pool bar and BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alexandra Hotel Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Saint Julians
Alexandra Palace Hotel Malta
Alexandra Palace Malta
Alexandra Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing