We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing wrong about that place”
Review of Il Borro Tuscan Bistro - Malta - CLOSED

Il Borro Tuscan Bistro - Malta
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nantes, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nothing wrong about that place”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

As other reviewers already said before:
- very quiet place (we were only 2 ...)
- you get offered a glass of sparkling wine (and quite good that is)
- the bread is delicious (specially the focaccia)
- the "pasta" section of the menu doesn't feature any pastas...

Then, we had the daily dish, that was grilled salmon. It was quite good, maybe a little pricey (20€), but the side vegetables with it had really nothing so good about them (nothing so bad neither).

I suppose we would recommend other places as long as they don't up the level or lower a bit the prices. Still, there's nothing wrong about that restaurant :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LawrenceTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Il Borow”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Not a busy place at all and easily missed on the hill out of the St.Julian's towards Valetta but if you want a quiet meal while you work your way through the chef's various courses , we found a really carefully constructed menu with great personal service( possibly because we were its only customers) in this small restaurant above the ground floor bar. Odd opening hours . Not the cheapest but excelleant value with the food was one of the best eaten in Malta and would be highly rated in any food guide

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibragg
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A definite let down”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

A small restaurant near the zebra crossing on the Spinola Bay hill, easy to miss. The seating area is on the first floor, requiring passage up stairs without any hand-rails – could be rather dangerous coming down.. The room is a little over-lit and chairs are new and hard. Upon seating the cheerful waiter arrived quickly with complimentary sparkling wine (marked ‘Champagne’), and a spoon of mixed Tuscan appetizers, which was a nice way to start.

When it came to ordering, the task was rather difficult as the waiter did not speak English, I suppose we are spoilt in Malta! Their wine-list and menu seems very limited, and 3 dishes of Tuna were not available, which didn’t leave much. The two of us shared a meat appetizer, which was tasty and came with delicious bread (with toasted herbs). Although there was only one white wine available by the glass, we enjoyed it nevertheless.

The main courses were disappointing. One of us had a ‘tonno’ of pork with beans: Mashed up pork with cold bits in it on tasteless hard beans and bits of fine raw onion which was unnecessary to taint the breath. The other dish was cartilaginous pork rib on same beans.
We wouldn’t recommend this place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Cuisine, vines are fantastic. Grilled meat is excelent. And try white vine. Natural Toscana restorant. Cuisine like you in Italy. A good quality and only natural organic ingredients.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Damir R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“True Italian restaurant”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We chose to have dinner there because of the Italian cuisine. We were not disappointed, on the contrary, it was a very agreeable experience. Nice decor, friendly staff. They brought us sparkling wine with some appetizers to start with. We took a typical Tuscan ham plate as starters, very good. Then we chose to have fresh tuna fish as main course, which was a good choise because the fish was perfectly cooked. Then a piece of warm chocolate cake with a mascarpone sauce - that was heaven! I can highly recommend this restaurant!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Borro Tuscan Bistro - Malta also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing