We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb hotel,great location”
Review of Hotel Valentina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Valentina
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
gwent
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“superb hotel,great location”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

spent a very enjoyable week at the Valentina. The hotel is ultra-modern and spotlessly clean.Snow white towels.Room cleaned every day and bedding changed once during the week. Breakfast was lovely with a good variety. The staff were friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bigmacGwent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,423
    422
    43
    7
    4
See reviews for
251
911
123
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

The rooms were modern, clean and stylish, I usually prefer the rustic hotel experience but this was a pleasant place to relax after long days of sightseeing around Malta and Gozo.
The beds were so comfortable, and my partner and I are quite active so we enjoyed swimming in the pool which is often quite empty as people prefer to lounge around it after a quick dip. The rooftop swims as the sun burned orange and left the Maltese skyline was a memory I'll never forget.
I was slightly ill throughout my visit (a cold bug I'd had since leaving the UK) and did not feel any measure of discomfort on the trip thanks to the comfort and quality of the hotel.
The breakfasts were plentiful, full of options even for fussy eaters (I'm a vegetarian and my partner has an egg allergy)
The restaurants are so close to the hotel and you even have the option to order in from the popular restaurant 'The Avenue', plus you receive discounted meals as the hotel and restaurant are in partnership.
Pick Valentina and you will have buses linking to the whole island close by, bars, wonderful restaurants and picturesque coast line to walk along barely minutes from your doorstep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up, with a balcony but with one side of its own appose to both left and right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosta, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Went for 1 night for Valentines and we had the package deal which also included a 3 course meal at the Avenue restaurant which was super. The hotel is decorated very very nicely and obviously it is very modern and not quite ready yet from refurbishment, once ready it will be the Hotel to be at in St Julians.

The room was very beautiful and spacious, we had a 42" TV and big double bed which was decorated with rose petals for Valentines, very comfortable and nothing to fault about the room. Even hallways are decorated very modern and staff were very kind we also had drinks on arrival and also a cocktail each before dinner. Lobby is beautiful and also you can use 2 MAC Computers freely. WIFI in room was very hard to connect and keep a stable connection. Breakfast in the morning was the best thing, lots of choices and everything looks delicious and very comfortable area.

Happy to go again, one of our favourites in Malta.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian-Mixa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

This hotel is so well situated. 5 mins walk to the nightlife and restaurants, though on a very quiet side street, and just a few minutes walk to bus stops where you can get buses to most parts of the island. The hotel itself is stunning when you walk in, very boutique style and we couldn't believe our luck! The hotel could not find our reservation but gave us our room regardless, and we had a note left in the room the next day to say they had sorted the problem with our travel agent, and that our reservation had now been fully paid for. It was nice that they sorted all of this out without us having to get involved at all, very impressed.
The room was by the lift, which raised eyebrows at first as we find that the sound of the lift at night can be loud. Not in this room, though, it was very quiet. The room had a kingsize bed with a table either side, one with a phone on. Facing the bed was a large wardrobe with plenty of hangers and hanging space, plus lots of shelves. There was a safe and an iron and ironing board in there too, plus a blanket and two extra pillows. Also there was a large wall mounted TV and a large desk area with a kettle, cups, glasses, and tea and coffee. Plenty of space for me to clutter up with all my stuff. There were 2 comfy stools under the desk area, so you could sit and write/read/eat here. Against another wall were two armchairs.
There was a bathroom with a large walk in shower and a large washbasin with shelves either side and underneath. Also, a large mirror which cleared quickly after a shower, and a pull out shave mirror. Also, a haridryer which was strong enough to dry my hair properly. There was a separate toilet.
Breakfast was great, and served until 10.30. It was buffet, and there was so much choice. Hot food was scrambled eggs, sausages, and occasional bacon. Also there were boiled eggs, pastries, breads... There was a toastmaker, a selection of sliced cheeses, and lots of different meats. There was always fresh fruit and yoghurt. There were apple or choclate flans, and one day some amazing marble cake! Drinks were fresh orange or multivitamin juice, water, tea, a variety of coffees including espresso, and hot chocolate. Really enjoyed the food.
In the lobby of the hotel is a fancy bar, which we didn't get round to trying but it looked great. There was a variety of seating, and there were complimentary newspapers to read in a variety of languages, though mostly English or Italian. TVs showed news and music channels. There were 2 computers with complimentary use, and free wifi throughout the hotel.
Staff were lovely, friendly and helpful. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat. Would love to be here in the hot weather to take advantage of the rooftop pool and bar!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bramhall, Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We've stayed at this hotel many times although not recently and its always fulfilled our expectations but this time it exceeded them! It's been refurbished to a boutique standard and is ultra modern and very accommodating.
It's set on a quiet back street in the entertainment district of Malta - Paceville and therefore offers a fantastic location for party people. But don't let this mislead you - the hotel is uber quiet for those of you who are looking for a little R&R!
We stayed in room 606 which was fab as it had a lovely south facing terrace with sun loungers and table and chairs - ideal for sun worshippers like us!
The bathroom had twin basins and a lovely hot and powerful shower! Take a shower cap though - the hotel does not offer an amenity kit but does offer shower gel (in a dispenser in the shower) and also handwash!
The breakfasts are buffet style and there is plenty to choose from - cold meat and cheese selection, fresh fruit & yoghurt, pastries, various types of breads, cereals and a hot food selection. The only thing I would say was that the hot food was the same every day - scrambled eggs, boiled eggs and sausages but they were tasty and fresh nontheless! For the coffee addicts there is an Italian espresso machine as well as another machine which makes delicious lattes, cappuccino's and hot chocolates! And for the tea drinkers like myself a selection of Twining's finest!
The lobby has a lovely trendy bar as well as large TV screens for listening to the news!
Choose this hotel if you're looking for excellent value for money, modern decor and a great location in the area of St Julians.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the entrance side if you're looking for a sunny room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our recent visit to Malta over the New Year.The hotel was full and proved to be excellent value at 80 Euros for bed and breakfast. As it is a new hotel everything is in top condition.The ultra modern room was bright with everything you could need, TV with BBC and ITV, SKY News etc. Fridge, comfortable beds. Unfortunately not much of a view. The breakfast was good, particularly the pastries and hot chocolate. The bar is again very modern and not very cosy, but served free bits of food and had good service.The staff were all helpful and efficient. St Julians can be a bit noisy around new year but we slept very well.
The Hotel is not finished yet but in our experience this was not an issue.
All things considered - Great value.

Room Tip: I think all rooms will be ok as they are all new. We had rooms on the fifth floor which were excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JOHN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed in this hotel mid November, A beautiful time to visit Malta with a milder climate to explore this enchanting island. Activities which tend to be more difficult in the hot summer months. It is also a perfect time to take in Malta's culture as the villages and monuments are quieter allowing us to fully appreciate the Maltese Archipelago.

Malta's remarkable history is rich in myth and the contrast between new and old can be seen everywhere. The Hotel Valentina has a beautiful modern design and the futuristic feel of this hotel is in stark contrast to the other treasured sites of Malta. The bedroom was beautifully decorated and contained all amenities for comfortable modern living, including a very large flat screen TV.

The Hotel Valentina is located in St. Julian's, a fantastic area of Malta, we paid €2.20 and hopped on a bus from the airport which dropped us 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The next day we paid €2.60 for a day ticket for the bus which brought us to Sliema (twenty minutes away) where we went shopping and out on the harbour. We then went to Valletta, the capital, then to Mdina, the walled medieval city. That night we stayed in St. Julians for dinner and went to Portomasso harbour, a short walk from the hotel, which had the most amazing restaurants set in a stunning location. The weather was still warm but there were also some heaters and we ate outside. St. Julian's also boasts a fantastic nightlife in Paceville where the streets are lined with bars and clubs.

The staff of the hotel were lovely, we had a very nice buffet breakfast there and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelValentina, Director of Sales at Hotel Valentina, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Thank you for the excellent comments you are posting - we all appreciate your views. We are now in the final stages of finishing the other section of the Valentina and welcome all views and comments. In the meantime, we are also working to improve the offer to our guests. May I take this opportunity to wish all of you out there a successful and peaceful 2013!

Jeffrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.1 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#4 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,674 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,373 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valentina

Property: Hotel Valentina
Address: Dobbie Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3070, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#1 Best Value Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Valentina 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Valentina a superior boutique hotel situated in the heart of Paceville’s entertainment hub, and just minutes away from two of Malta’s top casinos, public beaches, night clubs and restaurants. The Hotel has a luxuriously finished stylish lobby, reception desk, and an innovative theme bar extending to an entrance terrace, a breakfast hall, and a dedicated marketing and promotion desk. There is also a freshwater swimming pool surrounded by an attractive open air pool deck and an open pool bar. The hotel affords a total of 94 rooms, all of which are designated non-smoking. The Valentina is a gay and lesbian friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Otel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Valentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentina Hotel Saint Julians
Hotel Valentina Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing