We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern but missing character”
Review of Hotel Valentina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Valentina
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Located in the bustling Paceville neighborhood, surrounded by bars and restaurants and 2 minutes walking from Portomaso.
The hotel has been recently expanded, so we found some signs of construction (cables, smell of paint, rubble) and things still undone. The hotel staff is careless but doing the job. The rooms are spacious, clean and still smell like new. The design is modern, with interesting and clever functional details. The rate is acceptable for what it offers.
Breakfast consists of the basics and doesn't change. Coffee is worth mentioning, since they have a Lavazza espresso machine.
The hotel has a free parking area for guests on a first come first served basis. You can park in the reserved places.
There's a swimming pool on the 6th floor.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hazinheira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelValentina, General Manager at Hotel Valentina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

I would like to thank the reviewer for his views and comments. As the review was written and based in May, we were at the time, busy with touching up some minor scratches and general upkeep, as well as installing newly arrived light fittings - hence the cables and smell of paint especially behind the bar area.

About the comment regarding careless staff, I can assure you that I did a thorough follow-up, and have demanded that all staff be vigilant and alert at all times to customers wishes and demands. Sometimes, it seems that staff forget that it costs absolutely nothing to smile!

Thank you once again for your comments.

Regards

Jeffrey Cutajar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,998)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,121 - 1,127 of 1,998 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2013

Myself, my wife and our 4 (yes 4, aged 4 - 11) children were in Malta recently for a wedding and were given a range of recommended hotels in which to stay. Hotel Valentina had been highly recommended by many previous visitors and we decided to make it our base for the week. I cannot compliment the hotel / staff highly enough. This is a family run hotel in every sense of the word where the previously small hotel is now a much larger operation but run along the same lines. Staff could not do enough, everywhere was spot-less (with exception of a few areas where ongoing upgrade works continue), breakfast was fresh, ample and delicious and the location of the Hotel was super - we didn't hear any of the disco-beats from the nearby strip and were on that side of the building but perhaps our own partying at the wedding made us too tired for that. A mix-up in room bookings meant we arrived with no bed available for one of the children - but no problem to this hotel - they simply gave us another room until they could sort it out and sort it out they did - with the hotel manager going out the next day and buying a brand new and robust camp-bed which was placed into our family room and all was sorted. What service. There was nothing that we asked for that the staff did not try their utmost to satisfy. Pool is small but you will know that from the picture on the website and kids got enough refreshment from it in any regard. Any continuing works are carried out mid-day and afternoon to minimise disruption. The attached restaurant up the street (the Avenue - 10% discount for hotel occupants) is excellent and well worth repeat visits. Watch out at weekends though as it gets very busy from early and people queue for seats.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paddy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

very central, helpful staff, very clean rooms and delicious breakfast...
It's located in the only live at night district. Has a tour guide who can direct you yacht tours to sightseeing and diving. but beginning of may is not a good choice If you wan to dive or go to see

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yigit3587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

A clean, modern hotel in the centre of St. Julians. Gorgeous rooms and totally comfortable. A walk away from all the hustle and bustle of Paceville or the lovely St. Julians & Portomaso! Right near all the restaurants and bars. The staff are nice and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Really and truly wonderful location and value for money! Will definitely be staying there again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corrine74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We found this hotel in Tripadvisor and was not dissapointed. The room was small, but the room was very smart organised. One thing however was missing, a reading light by the bed. We also missed some general information in the room concerning breakfast hours, internal telephone numbers etc.
The breakfast was included and had everything we needed. Staff was nice and the pool at the top was also nice.
One advice: Use the aiport transfer service that the hotel offer. Regular taxi service at the aiport is very inefficient. We used the hotel service from the hotel, and had a ride with a very nice man.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Arne_Ryppen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We booked this hotel on the back of reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. Located on a quiet street but with all the great nightlife just around the corner, the location is ideal. On arrival the staff were very polite and helpful. Our room was spotless and perfectly maintained each day. Breakfast was great with lots of choices. I especialy liked how the staff in the breakfast area were constantly checking the levels to make sure everything was well stocked. Free wifi was such an excellent bonus. All in all we thoruoghly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel. Only slight drawback was that the bar by the pool was not complete but this was not a problem as the rest of the pool area is fantastic.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulmmcevoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed in the Valentina for four nights this April and were both really impressed. The hotel has recently undergone a refurbishment and while there is still some work going on we didnt notice it. It had everything we would expect from a great hotel and would definately class it an excellent 4 star at great value for the service and comfort. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, particularily the bar staff. The rooms were cleaned every day, and the large flat screen was the right size for a modern hotel without being imposing. The bed was as comfortable if not more so than what you would get in a very good 5 star. We slept so well! The pool area was very cool. There was a great selection for breakfast but it was a little busy, I would recommend not leaving it until 10am at weekends and perhaps try to aim for 9...

Valentina is ideally located if you want to be near the bars and restaurants in Spinola Bay and Paceville, but in a quiet street where you can get some peace and quiet. We ate at the Avenue restaurant one night just over the road, 10% discount for hotel guests and with good honest grub, well worth it as it also has a great atmosphere. Check out the Smooth Jazz bar on the street parallel to Paceville, its really great.

Everything about our 4 days was really great, topped off especially by the hotel. Our top tip woukd be to avoid the City sight seeing bus tour (the international one rather than the local one). Its overpriced and the recorded guide had more adverts than local information. Malta has a cheap and reliable bus service with easy to follow time tables, all you need is a guidebook and you can achieve more than the bus tour at a fraction of the cost and hassle.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.1 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,880 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,409 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
945 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,735 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valentina

Address: Dobbie Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3070, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Best Value Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £64 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Valentina 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Valentina a superior boutique hotel situated in the heart of Paceville’s entertainment hub, and just minutes away from two of Malta’s top casinos, public beaches, night clubs and restaurants. The Hotel has a luxuriously finished stylish lobby, reception desk, and an innovative theme bar extending to an entrance terrace, a breakfast hall, and a dedicated marketing and promotion desk. There is also a freshwater swimming pool surrounded by an attractive open air pool deck and an open pool bar. The hotel affords a total of 94 rooms, all of which are designated non-smoking. The Valentina is a gay and lesbian friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Valentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentina Hotel Saint Julians
Hotel Valentina Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing