We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish base to discover Malta”
Review of Hotel Valentina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Valentina
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stylish base to discover Malta”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We chose this hotel as it seemed to be stylish, well located and positively reviewed. It did not disappoint. Our 7-day stay was relaxing as the superking-sized bed is very comfy (memory foam style mattress), the room is quiet (on 2nd floor, looking inside, thick door that muffles sounds from the corridor), cool (programmable low frequency AC + floor tiles), and different in its design: no drawers on bed side tables, very long narrow table along the wall (to put lots of junk after a day travelling), cool Philips HDTV Ambilight screen (not Smart TV though, which would have good to stream movies or browse the Internet), and walk-in shower.
Service is efficient: the on/off button of our AC stopped working on a Sunday evening, we mentioned it to reception at 10pm and it was repaired the next morning by 10am!
Wifi works well on all floors but disconnects after a while, so you tend to log in many times during a day, esp. if you change floors.
The pool is more a stylish bathtub from a billionnaire's house than a pool where you can train for the Olympics, but that's the point: it is meant to look cool and it is, with glass edges and infiniti treatment. It is actually longer than it looks on the hotel photos. For fun, make a photo of your partner standing in it at a distance, you'll see the special FX. For those who like their water warm, you'll just watch it, as it is not heated, pity they didn't use some of the numerous PV solar tubes on their roof to bring a couple more degrees to it.
Breakfast buffet is the same every day, but with a vast choice of proteins, vitamins, and carbohydrates, you can swap what's on your plate every day and never taste the same breakfast over a week. They offer pasticci (ricotta or pea paste) but you'll taste better ones at a real pastizzeria in town. Their scrambled eggs are worthy of that name if it suits your diet. And they have banana, fig, or peach yogurth (made in Gozo), try the different tastes while you help their local economy and don't make Malta depend on imports.
The location is good as Dobbie Street is a 2-minute walk from major bus routes (at Spinola Garden), a 2-minute walk from all bars and clubs you can wish for, yet you don't hear any of them! And a 5-minute walk from many Italian restaurants in Spinola Bay (avoid overrated San Giuliani, we were so disappointed and overcharged). Try out Gululu restaurant, offering authentic maltese cuisine (e.g. rabbit pie), or The Avenue one street away from Valentina, where you get 10% off and the best pizza in Paceville (as our Maltese friend told us)!
All in all, we recommend Valentina highly if you want to have your evening entertainment within walking distance, do bus tours in Valetta/Malta/Gozo, don't mind not having a sandy beach nearby nor a decent gelateria (they are closer to Sliema and Valetta: try Camillieri there) and want to stay in Malta in style without breaking the bank and have a rest.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank choosytrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,427
    423
    43
    7
    4
See reviews for
253
913
123
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level 6 Contributor
637 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Located in the bustling Paceville neighborhood, surrounded by bars and restaurants and 2 minutes walking from Portomaso.
The hotel has been recently expanded, so we found some signs of construction (cables, smell of paint, rubble) and things still undone. The hotel staff is careless but doing the job. The rooms are spacious, clean and still smell like new. The design is modern, with interesting and clever functional details. The rate is acceptable for what it offers.
Breakfast consists of the basics and doesn't change. Coffee is worth mentioning, since they have a Lavazza espresso machine.
The hotel has a free parking area for guests on a first come first served basis. You can park in the reserved places.
There's a swimming pool on the 6th floor.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazinheira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelValentina, General Manager at Hotel Valentina, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
I would like to thank the reviewer for his views and comments. As the review was written and based in May, we were at the time, busy with touching up some minor scratches and general upkeep, as well as installing newly arrived light fittings - hence the cables and smell of paint especially behind the bar area.

About the comment regarding careless staff, I can assure you that I did a thorough follow-up, and have demanded that all staff be vigilant and alert at all times to customers wishes and demands. Sometimes, it seems that staff forget that it costs absolutely nothing to smile!

Thank you once again for your comments.

Regards

Jeffrey Cutajar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Myself, my wife and our 4 (yes 4, aged 4 - 11) children were in Malta recently for a wedding and were given a range of recommended hotels in which to stay. Hotel Valentina had been highly recommended by many previous visitors and we decided to make it our base for the week. I cannot compliment the hotel / staff highly enough. This is a family run hotel in every sense of the word where the previously small hotel is now a much larger operation but run along the same lines. Staff could not do enough, everywhere was spot-less (with exception of a few areas where ongoing upgrade works continue), breakfast was fresh, ample and delicious and the location of the Hotel was super - we didn't hear any of the disco-beats from the nearby strip and were on that side of the building but perhaps our own partying at the wedding made us too tired for that. A mix-up in room bookings meant we arrived with no bed available for one of the children - but no problem to this hotel - they simply gave us another room until they could sort it out and sort it out they did - with the hotel manager going out the next day and buying a brand new and robust camp-bed which was placed into our family room and all was sorted. What service. There was nothing that we asked for that the staff did not try their utmost to satisfy. Pool is small but you will know that from the picture on the website and kids got enough refreshment from it in any regard. Any continuing works are carried out mid-day and afternoon to minimise disruption. The attached restaurant up the street (the Avenue - 10% discount for hotel occupants) is excellent and well worth repeat visits. Watch out at weekends though as it gets very busy from early and people queue for seats.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

very central, helpful staff, very clean rooms and delicious breakfast...
It's located in the only live at night district. Has a tour guide who can direct you yacht tours to sightseeing and diving. but beginning of may is not a good choice If you wan to dive or go to see

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yigit3587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Gozo, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

A clean, modern hotel in the centre of St. Julians. Gorgeous rooms and totally comfortable. A walk away from all the hustle and bustle of Paceville or the lovely St. Julians & Portomaso! Right near all the restaurants and bars. The staff are nice and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Really and truly wonderful location and value for money! Will definitely be staying there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corrine74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

We found this hotel in Tripadvisor and was not dissapointed. The room was small, but the room was very smart organised. One thing however was missing, a reading light by the bed. We also missed some general information in the room concerning breakfast hours, internal telephone numbers etc.
The breakfast was included and had everything we needed. Staff was nice and the pool at the top was also nice.
One advice: Use the aiport transfer service that the hotel offer. Regular taxi service at the aiport is very inefficient. We used the hotel service from the hotel, and had a ride with a very nice man.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Arne_Ryppen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We booked this hotel on the back of reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. Located on a quiet street but with all the great nightlife just around the corner, the location is ideal. On arrival the staff were very polite and helpful. Our room was spotless and perfectly maintained each day. Breakfast was great with lots of choices. I especialy liked how the staff in the breakfast area were constantly checking the levels to make sure everything was well stocked. Free wifi was such an excellent bonus. All in all we thoruoghly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel. Only slight drawback was that the bar by the pool was not complete but this was not a problem as the rest of the pool area is fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulmmcevoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.1 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#4 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,680 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,375 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valentina

Property: Hotel Valentina
Address: Dobbie Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3070, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#1 Best Value Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Valentina 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Valentina a superior boutique hotel situated in the heart of Paceville’s entertainment hub, and just minutes away from two of Malta’s top casinos, public beaches, night clubs and restaurants. The Hotel has a luxuriously finished stylish lobby, reception desk, and an innovative theme bar extending to an entrance terrace, a breakfast hall, and a dedicated marketing and promotion desk. There is also a freshwater swimming pool surrounded by an attractive open air pool deck and an open pool bar. The hotel affords a total of 94 rooms, all of which are designated non-smoking. The Valentina is a gay and lesbian friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Valentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentina Hotel Saint Julians
Hotel Valentina Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing