We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Boutique Hotel”
Review of Hotel Valentina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Valentina
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2013

This is my second visit to the hotel. They have had a significant injection of funds which has allowed them to complete a total overhaul and renovation to the hotel to a standard that would be hard to match in many capital cities. Without doubt, this is a "Boutique" style hotel. However, this does not mean a lack of comfort or some minimalist styling. Far from it; comfortable beds, wet room showers, in room services (not room service), TV, Wifi, Bar and Breakfast Service. Located over 6 floors, they have an "infinity" pool on the top/roof (with views over other roof-tops!) and were in the process of finishing a pool-side bar.

As a diver, it was no more than 10 minutes to the local dive centre (DiveWise) and as a tourist, you are about 2 roads back from the main restaurant and bar area. They offer a 24hr desk service and with a small terrace out the front, you can sit, drink wine, have some snacks and watch the world go by.

I will be returning to Malta next year; I won't be staying anywhere else. There's no need - it has all I want.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DavidB_GB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelValentina, General Manager at Hotel Valentina, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Good day all!

I am not writing to answer specifically this review, but to let you know that thanks to all of you out there, we have just been awarded with the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for the Hotel Valentina for 2013! All our staff join me in thanking you all for your votes. Such a prestigious award encourages us to work even harder to make your stay with us memorable.

As we always say, we know you have a choice - thanks you for choosing to stay at the Valentina and we hope to welcome you back soon!

With best wishes

Jeffrey Cutajar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,998)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,117 - 1,123 of 1,999 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2013

Everything was nice. Only one thing that wasn't great was poor internet connection in my room...everything else was great-Great breakfast, nice and modern rooms, helpfull staff, near bus station, clean rooms (looks like you are the first guest in the room), cute swiming pool on the roof...really nice! Great value for money

Room Tip: Sreet side can be noisy during the weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neretvanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stayed for 1 night in Hotel Valentina. The place itself is awesome, modern and has lots of interesting design features and innovations. It has free parking for hotel occupants, which is great as Paceville is quite a busy place. We enjoyed our stay.

Our room was perfect, not small at all and with a balcony. Bathroom and shower were equipped with body and hand wash. On the whole we enjoyed our stay and the room was very comfortable. The buffet breakfast was delicious and had a wide variety of food. The rooms are soundproof which is great as it is very close to nightclubs in St. Julians. They are very clean and include a large flat screen . The big double bed was comfortable.

The pool is situated on the roof of the hotel and is very glamorous. The water was a bit too cold during our stay but it would have been brilliant in July. There was free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel but we had low connection.

Staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel on the whole is very welcoming. It's a budget friendly hotel. I highly recommend it. You get a 10% discount when you eat at The Avenue.

Room Tip: Superior suites are more worth it then comfort rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CharleneBugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed here for four nights in May 2012 and we had a great stay. I can't really fault this hotel at all. Its a very modern affair with lots of interesting design features and innovations. However it stall manages to feel homely and is clearly a family-run enterprise.

Our room was quite small but we knew that this would be the case before arrival and, as we didn't spend much time in it anyway, we found it to be perfectly acceptable. The bathroom was on the small side but it was well equipped and met our needs. Overall we were very comfortable and it was nice to have balcony overlooking the busy street below.

Breakfast was a continental buffet which we found to be very tasty and set us up for the day but I could see how you might tire of this for a longer stay.

There is a small pool (and bar) on the roof which adds a glamorous touch. The water was a bit too cold to be enjoyable during our stay but I can see how this would be brilliant in the summer. There was free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel which was excellent but you did have to log-in again every time you left the hotel and returned which was a bit of a pain.

Hotel Valentina is in a great location, in the Paceville area of St. Julians (very close to the nightclubs which make this area famous but not so close that its noisy) and close to Spinosa Bay. The surrounding streets were full of restaurants, small bars and cafes and we found that there was lots to do both day and night. The bus stop for buses to Valletta and elsewhere is just one block away.

We found the staff to be very helpful and knowledgeable and were always very efficient when we needed things. The lobby has a bar and lots of comfy places to sit and relax and the whole atmosphere of the place is calm and welcoming.

I'd certainly recommend a stay here. Its a budget friendly choice and makes an excellent base for exploring this interesting and beautiful island.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We chose this hotel as it seemed to be stylish, well located and positively reviewed. It did not disappoint. Our 7-day stay was relaxing as the superking-sized bed is very comfy (memory foam style mattress), the room is quiet (on 2nd floor, looking inside, thick door that muffles sounds from the corridor), cool (programmable low frequency AC + floor tiles), and different in its design: no drawers on bed side tables, very long narrow table along the wall (to put lots of junk after a day travelling), cool Philips HDTV Ambilight screen (not Smart TV though, which would have good to stream movies or browse the Internet), and walk-in shower.
Service is efficient: the on/off button of our AC stopped working on a Sunday evening, we mentioned it to reception at 10pm and it was repaired the next morning by 10am!
Wifi works well on all floors but disconnects after a while, so you tend to log in many times during a day, esp. if you change floors.
The pool is more a stylish bathtub from a billionnaire's house than a pool where you can train for the Olympics, but that's the point: it is meant to look cool and it is, with glass edges and infiniti treatment. It is actually longer than it looks on the hotel photos. For fun, make a photo of your partner standing in it at a distance, you'll see the special FX. For those who like their water warm, you'll just watch it, as it is not heated, pity they didn't use some of the numerous PV solar tubes on their roof to bring a couple more degrees to it.
Breakfast buffet is the same every day, but with a vast choice of proteins, vitamins, and carbohydrates, you can swap what's on your plate every day and never taste the same breakfast over a week. They offer pasticci (ricotta or pea paste) but you'll taste better ones at a real pastizzeria in town. Their scrambled eggs are worthy of that name if it suits your diet. And they have banana, fig, or peach yogurth (made in Gozo), try the different tastes while you help their local economy and don't make Malta depend on imports.
The location is good as Dobbie Street is a 2-minute walk from major bus routes (at Spinola Garden), a 2-minute walk from all bars and clubs you can wish for, yet you don't hear any of them! And a 5-minute walk from many Italian restaurants in Spinola Bay (avoid overrated San Giuliani, we were so disappointed and overcharged). Try out Gululu restaurant, offering authentic maltese cuisine (e.g. rabbit pie), or The Avenue one street away from Valentina, where you get 10% off and the best pizza in Paceville (as our Maltese friend told us)!
All in all, we recommend Valentina highly if you want to have your evening entertainment within walking distance, do bus tours in Valetta/Malta/Gozo, don't mind not having a sandy beach nearby nor a decent gelateria (they are closer to Sliema and Valetta: try Camillieri there) and want to stay in Malta in style without breaking the bank and have a rest.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank choosytrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Located in the bustling Paceville neighborhood, surrounded by bars and restaurants and 2 minutes walking from Portomaso.
The hotel has been recently expanded, so we found some signs of construction (cables, smell of paint, rubble) and things still undone. The hotel staff is careless but doing the job. The rooms are spacious, clean and still smell like new. The design is modern, with interesting and clever functional details. The rate is acceptable for what it offers.
Breakfast consists of the basics and doesn't change. Coffee is worth mentioning, since they have a Lavazza espresso machine.
The hotel has a free parking area for guests on a first come first served basis. You can park in the reserved places.
There's a swimming pool on the 6th floor.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hazinheira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelValentina, General Manager at Hotel Valentina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

I would like to thank the reviewer for his views and comments. As the review was written and based in May, we were at the time, busy with touching up some minor scratches and general upkeep, as well as installing newly arrived light fittings - hence the cables and smell of paint especially behind the bar area.

About the comment regarding careless staff, I can assure you that I did a thorough follow-up, and have demanded that all staff be vigilant and alert at all times to customers wishes and demands. Sometimes, it seems that staff forget that it costs absolutely nothing to smile!

Thank you once again for your comments.

Regards

Jeffrey Cutajar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Myself, my wife and our 4 (yes 4, aged 4 - 11) children were in Malta recently for a wedding and were given a range of recommended hotels in which to stay. Hotel Valentina had been highly recommended by many previous visitors and we decided to make it our base for the week. I cannot compliment the hotel / staff highly enough. This is a family run hotel in every sense of the word where the previously small hotel is now a much larger operation but run along the same lines. Staff could not do enough, everywhere was spot-less (with exception of a few areas where ongoing upgrade works continue), breakfast was fresh, ample and delicious and the location of the Hotel was super - we didn't hear any of the disco-beats from the nearby strip and were on that side of the building but perhaps our own partying at the wedding made us too tired for that. A mix-up in room bookings meant we arrived with no bed available for one of the children - but no problem to this hotel - they simply gave us another room until they could sort it out and sort it out they did - with the hotel manager going out the next day and buying a brand new and robust camp-bed which was placed into our family room and all was sorted. What service. There was nothing that we asked for that the staff did not try their utmost to satisfy. Pool is small but you will know that from the picture on the website and kids got enough refreshment from it in any regard. Any continuing works are carried out mid-day and afternoon to minimise disruption. The attached restaurant up the street (the Avenue - 10% discount for hotel occupants) is excellent and well worth repeat visits. Watch out at weekends though as it gets very busy from early and people queue for seats.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paddy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.1 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,886 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,409 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
945 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,735 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valentina

Address: Dobbie Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3070, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Best Value Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £63 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Valentina 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Valentina a superior boutique hotel situated in the heart of Paceville’s entertainment hub, and just minutes away from two of Malta’s top casinos, public beaches, night clubs and restaurants. The Hotel has a luxuriously finished stylish lobby, reception desk, and an innovative theme bar extending to an entrance terrace, a breakfast hall, and a dedicated marketing and promotion desk. There is also a freshwater swimming pool surrounded by an attractive open air pool deck and an open pool bar. The hotel affords a total of 94 rooms, all of which are designated non-smoking. The Valentina is a gay and lesbian friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Valentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentina Hotel Saint Julians
Hotel Valentina Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing