We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
Review of Hotel Valentina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Valentina
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Forgot to write review, but doing quick one now. We stayed in October half term. Great hotel, staff very helpful and friendly, barman was excellent and made lovely cocktails. Only minor gripe was that the "hot" food at breakfast, could have been hotter. Was luke warm most days, noticed this on other reviews also. Other than that, the hotel is well situated for everything really. Get the bus into Valetta, its cheap and easy to get to, and a fantastic place to look around. There was a good tapas bar that served lovely food. Will definitely go back to Malta again, and would stay at this hotel again, lovely, modern and clean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malibu71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,039)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,052 - 1,058 of 2,039 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

Great stay at this well located Hotel. Locally and family owned this hotel is clean, comfortable, modern and topped off with very helpful service. The breakfast is super with everything expected. About a 30 mins bus ride to valletta, but a hop skip and a jump to the restaurants and pubs in Paceville. Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The hotel is well situated, the room is very clean and the staff very helpful. Breakfast was a delight to go to in the morning . . . Yummy spread!!!! The cleaning staff was very helpful with questions regarding the bathroom operations. If there's one suggestion I can make - it's to fix the shower door so water does not spill outside the stall. They arranged for a taxi to take us to the airport - they paid for it and just charged our credit card when I mentioned we did not have enough Euro cash left . . . Now, that is excellent facilitation. Our taxi driver Tyrone was very informative and just very pleasant. I highly recommend this place

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank 920Riza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The staff of reception was very helpful, without any problems I checked in at 7 in the morning without any additional payment with free breakfast in spite regular check in time is 3 p.m. Room was not very spacious but clean and nice. Overall impression from the hotel is very good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tatiana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The Hotel and location is fantastic. The staff were great. Food very good. Cleanliness great. Room service was great too. I will definitely return to this fantastic venue. I sincerely recommend this hotel without any hesitation

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil147sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

6th to 10th December 2013, room 208
Firstly, I'd like to start by saying there are still some people around that mistakenly believe a five star hotel depicts its level of luxury, and not just the number of facilities the hotel offers. The Valentina hotel may only be a three star with respect to the facilities on offer, but if the star rating was based on luxury and customer service, this hotel would most definitely be classed as a five star.
The decor is modern and it seems no expense was spared in making sure the guests have the best of everything. As an example, the computers for the use of the guests are expensive Apple equipment.
From the moment I walked in the door I was greeted with a smile by the very helpful Alexander at the reception desk. There was a little mix-up with my booking, but Alexander sorted it out and was so apologetic even though it was the fault of the booking agent and not the hotel.
The key card is of the RFID type and is needed to operate the lift.
On to the room: You just need to hold the key near the door lock to activate. As soon as I opened the door I was immediately impressed by the cleanliness. There was ambient lighting, a large bed with memory foam mattress, a 32" Philips TV with rear ambient lighting, a safe big enough for a full size laptop. It had separate toilet and shower rooms. The shower was by far the best I've ever seen in a hotel.
The maids do a fantastic job every morning, and they are so silent. I wouldn't even have known they were doing the room next door if I hadn't gone out at the time.
Breakfast was excellent. There are only so many things you could expect at breakfast, and the Valentina provides probably all of them. So although it may appear to be repetitive, there's something for everyone. At this point I'd like to mention Kevin. He was very efficient and has an excellent customer facing manner.
If you hire a car, you'll have no problem parking as the hotel has an underground garage. You could be driving around for hours without it. One of the reasons I chose this hotel was the wifi being included in the price. I'd almost booked into a nearby 5 star hotel until I found out their exorbitant rate for wifi.

To sum up;This hotel is by far the best I've ever stayed in. The decor, the cleanliness, the customer service, are all first rate.
If I have any criticism it would be the fridge in room 208. It was totally inadequate, and barely cooled below room temperature.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank l8127425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Our couple went to Malta for sight-seeing bet 22/11 and 26/11 and stayed at this hotel. The staff of reception are polite and nice. The hotel is very convenient to bus stop and supermarket, but a little noise was emitted from the nearby pub at the night of Friday and Saturday. Overall, the hotel is very good !

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevenpaang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.1 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,971 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,596 reviews
4.5 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valentina

Address: Dobbie Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3070, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Best Value Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £53 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Valentina 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Valentina a superior boutique hotel situated in the heart of Paceville’s entertainment hub, and just minutes away from two of Malta’s top casinos, public beaches, night clubs and restaurants. The Hotel has a luxuriously finished stylish lobby, reception desk, and an innovative theme bar extending to an entrance terrace, a breakfast hall, and a dedicated marketing and promotion desk. There is also a freshwater swimming pool surrounded by an attractive open air pool deck and an open pool bar. The hotel affords a total of 94 rooms, all of which are designated non-smoking. The Valentina is a gay and lesbian friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Valentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentina Hotel Saint Julians
Hotel Valentina Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing