We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations”
Review of Hotel Valentina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Valentina
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We booked this hotel for 2 nights based on their very good reviews; the hotel exceeded our expectations! Service was particularly good. Reception staff were friendly and welcoming - we were given a complimentary drink on arrival and offered to sit in their comfortable reception area to watch the England World Cup game, whilst they dealt with our check-in. Décor is modern, rooms clean and comfortable (particularly the beds) and, despite being in St. Julians, it was remarkably quiet - we slept soundly both nights. Breakfast was equally impressive - an extensive range of hot and cold food (including fresh fruit, which is often lacking in many hotels). The rooftop pool area is small, but a nice place to relax, particularly early evening. The only thing the hotel lacks is a restaurant; we were offered a discount at their partner restaurant "The Avenue", which we tried. The food here was very good but we were not particularly impressed with the environment - more of a café than a restaurant. The most outstanding element of the hotel is their cocktail bar! Armando made THE best Mojito I have ever tasted and he prepared each cocktail with such care - a real craft! We enjoyed this so much that we returned to the cocktail bar on a further 2 evenings, despite having checked out of the hotel! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSWWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,000)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

938 - 944 of 2,000 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just returned from a lovely holiday with my girlfriend in Malta at this great!! hotel. The hotel, facilities, food & staff were all amazing, helpful and brilliant, and in agreement with the previous tripadvisor reviews that This hotel is so worthy of more than a 3 star status and definately deserves the number 1 spot on tripadvisor for hotels in st julians. This hotel is a modern gem that puts to shame all the so called 5 star hotels in the area. Roof top pool area that was spotless, as was every area we were in the hotel. Location is central to everything yet quiet enough for you to sleep. The breakfast was great and part of the stay. We have rarely stayed in such an excellent hotel, with such friendly, helpful staff even the people of Malta were all helpful and friendly to us. I am one hard critic and person to please and I have to say I am finding it hard to think of any negatives of this hotel. If am to be picky I would probably say all it needed (anyway for me) is some spa/gym facility but that is just me trying find However on reflection, the hotel was excellent in every way and I sure will be staying there if I am in Malta again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I travel all around Europe on business and can honestly say this is one of if not the nicest hotel I have stayed in and considering it is in a tourist area makes it even more unique. I would have rated the hotel in the excellent but the actions of one member of staff on the final night ruined that rating. The rest of the staff are attentive, pleasant and the most willing persons. The hotel is clean and extremely well designed with excellent rooms, I could go on and on about it but eventually I would bore you. My only problem was the staff member serving us at the bar on the final evening who had an attitude to sink a ship and it was so bad I had to ask "are you upset in some way" "No, I am tired" she replied. Not my problem I had been working out in the heat all day and had to get up early for the long journey home.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

If you're thinking of a quiet, clean, friendly place to stay in Malta, Paceville probably wouldn't be high up on your list. It's a noisy, unkempt little place, full of p1ssed-up teens, grotty little street taverns and t1tty bars. However, tucked away in the morass of debauchery is this place - an oasis of calm in a desert of yellow raybans, orange football shirts and pink Englishmen.

My wife and I stayed for three nights and were impressed by the cleanliness of the room and hotel, the decor (very tastefully modern), prompt and friendly service and great selection at the buffet breakfast. There is no in-house restaurant, but they provide a discount at one of the popular places nearby (The Avenue, literally two minutes' walk away).

The rooftop pool is a highlight (though 'pool' is stretching it - if you fancy a swim in it you'll need the attention span of a goldfish as it's only about 50 feet long) and even though you are literally slap-bang in the middle of party-town, it's still pretty quiet if you get a room facing the courtyard rather than the street.

All in all, a bargain - don't overlook it in favour of poncier-looking places.

Room Tip: Higher the better, and facing the courtyard, not the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart_n_Crawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

When you find a place like this you sometimes do not want to share in fear of the masses arriving and the prices rising----but wanted to write this review as we had such a enjoyable stay. This hotel is so worthy of more than a 3 star status. The rooms are great with the most comfy bed we have slept in in a long time, excellent service---especially Adam at the rooftop pool----breakfast was plentiful and open for 3 1/2 hrs each morning ( if you needed a sleep in )--spotlessly clean, central to everything yet quiet enough for you to sleep.George and Tyrone who collected and took us back to the airport were fantastic also. I recommend several restaurants in the area but especially---peppinos, u bistro, sale and pepe, maltese mama and the one associated with the hotel--the avenue. We also spent several restful days at the reef club at the Westin Dragonara which provided a very welcome sea breeze. Trip advisor is my first come to for hotel recommendations and it did not let us down this time.

Room Tip: we stayed in 609--at the pool but no balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gillian483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

This was highly recommended on tripadvisor and it certainly did not disappoint! We stayed in a double room on the 5th floor with balcony facing away from the street (we requested a higher room based on user recommendations). The decor is modern and new, breakfast buffet had an excellent array of fresh and tasty choices. The roofside pool was fantastic with a pool bar as well. Very close to buses going to Valetta/Mdina/ferry to Gozo and lots of excellent restaurants nearby. Location was near Paceville close to clubs but location was on a quiet street that you would never had thought they were so close. Well worth a stay, staff were friendly and good value for money!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the penthouse for our honeymoon and this was the perfect hotel - modern, clean, centrally located and great, helpful staff. It's only a couple of years old and has everything you need for a comfortable stay in Malta. Highly recommend.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank annabel_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.1 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,886 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,411 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
947 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,735 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valentina

Address: Dobbie Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3070, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Best Value Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £63 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Valentina 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Valentina a superior boutique hotel situated in the heart of Paceville’s entertainment hub, and just minutes away from two of Malta’s top casinos, public beaches, night clubs and restaurants. The Hotel has a luxuriously finished stylish lobby, reception desk, and an innovative theme bar extending to an entrance terrace, a breakfast hall, and a dedicated marketing and promotion desk. There is also a freshwater swimming pool surrounded by an attractive open air pool deck and an open pool bar. The hotel affords a total of 94 rooms, all of which are designated non-smoking. The Valentina is a gay and lesbian friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Valentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentina Hotel Saint Julians
Hotel Valentina Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing