We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel & Great Location”
Review of Hotel Valentina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Valentina
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Very modern and clean hotel. Extremely comfortable bed with excellent pillows.
Great size TV in bedroom which was perfect for watching the world cup after a day out in the sun.
Car park was easily accessible with spaces always available.
Feels like it should be more than 3*

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor and struggled to get wi-fi connection in our room unless standing out i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank deee_lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,068)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

963 - 969 of 2,068 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

We loved our stay at the Valentina Hotel. It has a fantastic staff, is super comfy and has a relaxing bar/lounge and very good food menu The room was a good size and had everything we needed. We will be back for sure at this hotel!

Room Tip: Try to find a room above the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel in February, Really nice, clean, modern hotel with spacious comfortable room. The rooftop swimming pool is really nice too. Great location, right around the corner from all the bars and restaurants. Staff were polite and welcoming. No complaints.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RJPoolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Hotel Valentina has become a cut above the rest of hotels in the St. Julian's area after the revamp and although very central in this 'night life packed' pocket of Malta, it still manages to take you away from the hustle and bustle if you need to rest. The bar at the entry and up top at the pool deck are amazing although the pool area and the pool itself are not huge! Very recommended and prices are generally very good compared to what you get. Breakfast may be slightly more varied but the choice is fine and good in terms of quality. The lack of a proper restaurant is a bit of a let down however it is catered and partnered by one of the best restaurants on the island just 30 meters from the hotel.

Room Tip: Top floors or internal rooms are advisable since this is a night life area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Massimo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Really nice boutique hotel close to everything you need in St. Julians. The street is nice and quiet even though it is only a short distance from the restaurants and nightlife in Paceville. Breakfast included a warm and cold buffet. The rooms are modern. And in the lobby bar you can enjoy drinks to really affordable prices. They serve good coctails at the poolbar on the roof as well. This hotel deserves 4 stars.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Kent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I recently attended at wedding in Malta with my husband and we booked into the Valentina as it was relatively close to the wedding venue and the other hotels our relatives were staying in.

It is easily one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in; the decor is fresh & modern but not so funky as to put off those suspicious of style over substance. Lighting throughout is amazing (we did however switch off the 'blue' lights in our bedroom as it felt a bit like sleeping on a sunbed!).

The staff, from the reception desk, through to breakfast attendants, pool attendant and cleaners are beyond friendly, smartly attired and to a person, know how to do their job and do it well.

Our room was spotless and well maintained and the bed.....a great week of sleep was guaranteed due to the comfy mattress and good quality linen.

Breakfasts are self service and cater for every taste - cooked (eggs, sausages, rashers etc), continental (cheeses, cold cuts) fruit, cereal and even chocolate cake (who eats chocolate cake at 8am? I did!!) All of the highest quality.
The hotel does not have it's own restaurant but they do own 'The Avenue' restaurant across the street and offer a 10% discount to guests when dining there. We did that a few times and their pizza and pasta was excellent and again, a great, friendly welcome every time we visited.

Getting back to the hotel; the roof terrace pool is small but effective (great for a sky high dip but not much more). There's wifi throughout, the radio in our room combined an iPhone docking station and the TV, flat screen, was enormous.

We didn't avail much of the bar facilities in the hotel but the Bloody Mary I had was top class - spicy with tiny plum tomatoes as garnish. A great way to soak up some Vitamin C!!

As you progress further away from the hotel, toward Paceville, the neighbourhood and bars deteriorate a little (think all night bars rammed to the rafters with teenagers), we went the other direction, down into Spinola Bay where the restaurants look over the small harbour.

If you're a very light sleeper, bring ear plugs as we did have the brief bursts of noise but with the windows closed and the AirCon on, you shouldn't have a problem.

Having visited our relatives at the other hotels (it would be unfair to name them), I can say without doubt, we picked the best place to stay.

The bus stop is less than 5 minutes walk and it takes just 20 minutes to get to Valetta and all the glories that the walled city has to offer. A 15 minute taxi ride in the other direction will take you to a choice of sandy beaches.

Our taxi driver told us that the Valentina was voted the top hotel in Malta in 2014, a well deserved award.

We will be back!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BuiBolg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Excellent hotel cannot fault it. The bar man armando really made an impression. We were a wedding party and kept him busy for the 10 days. But what a pro. Loved out stay here. Highly recommend. Colm and Noeleen

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.1 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
5,009 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,441 reviews
4.5 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
982 reviews
1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,624 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valentina

Address: Dobbie Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3070, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £62 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Valentina 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Valentina a superior boutique hotel situated in the heart of Paceville’s entertainment hub, and just minutes away from two of Malta’s top casinos, public beaches, night clubs and restaurants. The Hotel has a luxuriously finished stylish lobby, reception desk, and an innovative theme bar extending to an entrance terrace, a breakfast hall, and a dedicated marketing and promotion desk. There is also a freshwater swimming pool surrounded by an attractive open air pool deck and an open pool bar. The hotel affords a total of 94 rooms, all of which are designated non-smoking. The Valentina is a gay and lesbian friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Valentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentina Hotel Saint Julians
Hotel Valentina Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing