We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very doggy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highlander Guest House
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very doggy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

I booked the hotel, and when I arrived at the bar.. he bartender told me that I would stay in a bullock s place, "a nut case but a nice guy", I asked to see the place first but the guy told me that I had to pay first .. everything about this place looked very doggy.. the credit card connection was at the end of the bar in a very doggy press full of cable, it looked like a pirate connection. The place that I stayed was about 10 m driving in a residential area away from the center, and in a basement with terrible moldy smell. I very unpleasant experience and I dont heard any sorry for all of that.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nelydublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    5
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
1
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

This hotel is in a very handy location, St Julians is a great area & this hotel is just out of the noisy area so you can still sleep.
The room was fine, spacious with a fridge & decent ensuite. Very budget but good.
The biggest problem was the lack of staff, other than checking in, there was nobody to be seen at reception for our entire stay. We couldn't ask about local info or recommendations & couldn't store bags anywhere when checked out so had to take them with us for the day.
The saving grace for this place is the free wifi, at least you can do your own research! Would definitely not recommend staying here alone, not enough people around.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

I arrived at the highlander guest house greeted by an English welcome who had lots of information on where to eat, where to go out at night and what sights to visit. I was told that they were under new management and that the whole hotel/bar downstairs have had a full rejuvenation!

Me and two of my friends, aged 18, 19, and 24 all had an excellent stay. The rooms were full of space and came with a fridge and cooker, table and enough comfy beds for us all. They were kept clean and tidy although they were clean upon entering.

The hotel is situated above a lounge bar and a Thai cuisine, which isn't too loud at night but offers a friendly face and cheap drinks and snacks before the night out in Paceville as it is situated in the paceville centre, just a 2 minute walk into the centre so it isn't too loud at night but it's easy to start the night in this bar and go out in paceville after.

Overall excellent stay, 10/10 5 stars!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

the location of this hotel is excellent and one couldn't ask for a better one. you are literally 1 minute from all the action. The rooms are equipped well with fridges / microwaves etc. The staff were very helpful and the bar downstairs is a great place to kick off your night out as the drinks are very cheap and the food is great. Also wifi which was a pleasant surprise!! Me and my friend will def be returning as we had a great time.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler_123Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2009

the highlander is in the perfect postition as it is near a beach and all the night life is very close but far away enough not to hear noise!
we did have some problems as the manager was not that friendly towards us as she presumed we would be drunk and unruly as we were just 18. we kept our room tidy and kept the noise down however experienced her being rude to us.
we also had items going missing.

amazing holiday overal however would not return to the highlander.

  • Liked — Location to beach and night life
  • Disliked — staff - manager
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NightLife12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Julian's hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
deepest essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2008

Honest reveiw ,right where to start,with the good i think,the rooms are very clean, large,very accomedating,self catering (small cooker /kettle/fridge/table ,chairs)in a 6 night stay sheets were changed once ,room basic clean done i think daily, but not always noticable owners very friendly and helpful if given notice would supply english breccy ,own key to front door so can come and go as you please .
now the down side. Veiw from the front of the guesthouse is a builders yard(but not everyone is bothered about views)it says bistro If notice is given something in the way of food can be arranged ,but in general prepac sandwiches are the norm (so meals are only available if asked for in advance)no enterainment is offered in the bar at night so if it`s pure drinking your after then fine but if it`s entertainment then you need to look elsewhere at night(And remember the KIDS in malta and i do mean KIDS are allowed to drink at 16 and you will somtimes find a few of them freqwenting the bar ...All in All you get what you pay for if your looking for 2/3/4 star accomadation, then this is not for you but if you want basic and cheap but value for your money then i recommend the highlander and just a note of caution double check the price on booking and the price on paying there was a 50 euro differance when i stayed there due it was said to an error on on ryanairs/hotel/hostal site. which i was unhappy to pay but did for fear i may not be given the room.

  • Liked — the owners
  • Disliked — lack of evening entertainment
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DeepestEssexCompo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rokna
Rokna
#15 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.1 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#16 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,787 reviews
0.1 mi away
PV Hostel
PV Hostel
#14 of 30 in Saint Julian's
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Guest House

Property: Highlander Guest House
Address: Triq Elia Zammit | Paceville, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Hotel Class:1 star — Highlander Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HostelWorld so you can book your Highlander Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Guest House Hotel Saint Julian`s
Highlander Guest House Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing