We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spinola Bay with 3 kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Spinola Bay

Spinola Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
US$22.17*
and up
Malta's Panoramic North Hop On Hop Off Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Spinola Bay with 3 kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed in a self catering apartment just off Spinola Bay in St Julians end Oct/early Nov 2013. The weather was great - 25-28, clear blue skies for 5 days and then a couple of mixed days with storms. We occasionally go self catering and often have big lunches out and smaller dinners in. At Spinola Bay there was such a wide choice of restaurants that we only ate in on one evening. The bay is quite small but well serviced by dozens of restaurants and bars which were all still open and quite busy at this time of year. We almost always ate outside although you do need a light jacket as it can get a bit cool later in the evenings. There were two main areas, one is a row of restaurants facing the bay and the other is a new small port, which we stumbled upon by accident, next to the huge Hilton hotel, the tallest building in Malta. The restaurants in the newer area tended to open later, at about 7, whereas some of those overlooking the bay were open earlier. There are bus stops in Spinola Bay and from here you can get quickly and easily to Sliema, Valletta, Mosta, Golden Bay, Mellieha Bay etc. We travelled everywhere by bus as it only cost about 30 euros for all 5 of us for a week's ticket and the kids enjoyed it. Around the bay there are also more familiar names such as McDonalds and Wagamama, and there are also bars, pubs and shops. Walking around the bay you will discover the main St Julians Bay and further around there are play areas for the kids. All in all a great place to stay, 30 euros to the airport by cab (we could have got a bus), and in striking distance of the whole island.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rearcardoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    753
    622
    117
    14
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
156 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“spinola bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

A lovely harbour, lots going on and plenty to see. Very pleasant to walk around and lots of decent restaurants to eat at in the evenings

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank xorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

This is a beautiful bay. I loved admiring it on my morning runs and also from a cafe or restaurant on an evening. Great place to relax and eat out.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tortona, Italy
Level Contributor
2,492 reviews
1,977 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,270 helpful votes
“Lovely place and nice atmosphere, I really appreciated strolling through it.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

I just got there in the afternoon, I came here by bus directly from St. Paul, here in Saint Julian I found a beautiful landscape, many restaurants and bars open at all hours.
The thing that fascinated me in Spinola Bay is the beautiful panoramic view of the harbor, watching the many boats moored just by walking along the beach is an experience to be done.
Quiet but lively at the same time, in the afternoon you can see tourists and the area is very popular.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Magellano81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Gwann, Malta
Level Contributor
1 review
“OUR BEAUTY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Lovely location in the middle of cosmopolitan St Julians with a traditional heart. The bay offers a great welcome to Malta and ideal place to find a nice restaurant and relax for a few hours.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank thomasdimech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spinola Bay also viewed

Mdina, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Spinola Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing