We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful bay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spinola Bay

Spinola Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
US$21.98*
and up
Malta's Panoramic North Hop On Hop Off Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

This was a magical bay that we stumbled on when we walked from our hotel the first day - an old fishing port with some fishing boats still plying their trade - this is where some of the best restaurants are to be found and we sampled most of them!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank malcolmsmith7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    729
    606
    110
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

if possible get yourself on the west side of the bay this gets the afternoon sun , many of the bars and restaurants have a upstairs , go for these and watch the world go by

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank roadsideshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Brelade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

No matter where you're staying in Malta it's well worth taking the time to visit Spinola Bay, i was staying in Sliema and just followed the lovely walk along the coast which is easy and very enjoyable also the 'hop-on hop-off, buses also stops there as well.
It's a nice little bay and just has a great relaxed feel to it and as some of the other reviewers have said there's plenty of bars and restaurants where you can sit and watch the world go by or see the local fishermen go about their work.
Also there's a quirky and fun attraction on the pavement that you walk past because there's a couple of bollards that alot of people have placed padlocks on and many of them signed or with messages on ( please see my pictures ) so if you're planning a trip to Spinola Bay why not bring a padlock with you and leave a nice momento of your visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We love it here just sitting having a drink watching the world and people going by.It does not matter during the day or the evening its just perfect.Our two favourite places for a drink are the Saddles bar and the band bar just next to the 1927 restaurant which I shall be leaving a sepperate review for.Nice friendly staff and great views of the bay.Saddles lovely half bottle of white,red or rose local wine only 6euros bargain for where you are sitting.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Magical charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Every time i visit malta i must see. I love the painted boats and sceanery. Truely inspiring! Mudt go and experience

Helpful?
Thank PRSGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spinola Bay also viewed

Mdina, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Spinola Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing