We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice when travelling through Zurich Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Opfikon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Returning from Lugano, to catch an early morning flight from Zurich Airport, we decided to try the Radisson Blu. We had enjoyed a previous stay at the Radisson Blu in Marseilles. Easy access from Zurich Airport railway station. After picking up our luggage from the railway station which we had shipped from Lugano earlier that morning, it was a relatively easy walk through the airport to the hotel - about 5-10 minutes. Just follow the signs to the hotel.

Check in was fast and efficient, even though there was a tour group checking in at the same time. We were impressed with the reception area - an atrium-style design with a colourful wine tower in the middle. The tower changes colour regularly.

Stayed in two standard rooms with Queen Beds. We were given connecting rooms - a nice touch. The rooms were good size and attractively decorated with modern decor, and huge bathrooms. Our view was over a rooftop. Except for the view, the rooms more than met our expectations.

We happened to be there on a Friday night which is when the hotel has a show with a male and female doing acrobatics in the wine tower - retrieving bottles of wine. Actually, a pretty good show.

Close enough to Zurich that we took the train downtown to grab dinner at the Zeughauskeller (that will be another review).

Checking out early the next morning was a breeze. They had airport luggage carts near the reception area - very handy for hauling our humongous pile of luggage to the airport. Access to the airport check-in was easy from the hotel.

Although the decor might not suit everyone's taste, the Radisson Blu is a convenient option when travelling to and from Zurich Airport, adjacent to the intercity railway station, and close to downtown Zurich. For Switzerland, we found the hotel to be good value at 161 Swiss Francs per room per night (for a Standard Room).

Room Tip: Some rooms are quite far from the elevators, so you might want to check on your room locations. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DodoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson-Blu-Zurich, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear DodoTraveller

A big thank you for your very detailed comment. Reviews like this make it all worthwhile. We’re so pleased you had a great stay and really hope to see you again in the near future.

Until then, all the best.

Warm regards from Zurich,

Werner Knechtli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,011 - 1,017 of 2,397 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

They certainly tried hard to create a hip design. The flying wine angels and the flashy colorful wine tower are certainly clever and make an impression. As soon as that wears off, the emptiness sets in. There is something sad and soulless about the entire space; not just the spacious, airy lobby, but everywhere.

The employees seem friendly. But the friendliness comes through more as "I am under strict orders to be friendly. Therefore I am friendly." They have a strange credit card deposit policy upon check in. It's not a big deal once they explain it. It's just strange and annoying.

The room was clean and except for the nozzle holder in the shower, functional. All 3 of us (2 adults & 1 child) got 8 hours' sleep, yet we woke up completely exhausted. We were zombies all day plus part of the next day. And it wasn't because we drank a lot during dinner. It felt like the hotel sucked all the life out of us.

Then there is the price. They suck a lot of money out of you too. After staying at this hotel, one can calculate exactly the value of a minute of extra sleep. There are many hotels within a 10 minute walk from Zürich Hauptbahnhof. The trip from Hbf to the airport is 9 minutes. Let's round it up to 20 minutes for the sake of simplicity. It is easy to find a hotel near Hbf which is CHF 150 less expensive than the Radisson Blu. That puts the price of an extra minute of sleep at CHF 7.50.
That's CHF 450 / hour.

It is not worth it. Especially when the sleep is more like inverse sleep.

I will never stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Ravenshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson-Blu-Zurich, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Ravenshaw

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. It’s disappointing to hear that whilst we
strive to offer our guests the very best service; you were not happy with your stay here. It is a pity you did not enjoy our modern design as much as we itended you do.

We nevertheless hope to welcome you back again in the future and prove to you that one can indeed enjoy the stay with us.

Thanks once again and best wishes from Zurich

Werner Knechtli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were arriving from US and needed a convenient hotel. Instead of staying one day, we extended to 3 days because it very convenient for seeing sights in the area, rooms were extremely quiet, no plane noise, lounge was busy and tres chic. The Angel Wine Bar is very unique and invites you to stop and have a drink. Staff was very helpful. Hotels is connected to airport which avoids having to go outside, also connected to all trains and buses.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson-Blu-Zurich, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Dennis I

Thank you so much for your detailed feedback. It is great you enjoyed your stay with us and that you took the chance to look at some sights.

We hope you had a safe and enjoyable onward journey.

Best regards and thanks once again,

Werner Knechtli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I have been there about 4-5 times, and I go back because it is excellent, and convenient. Whenever I have an early flight I go there in order to have a pleasant evening and a good night. Once I suggested something, and they always remember.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank CharlesCH61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson-Blu-Zurich, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear CharlesCH61

Thank you so much for your positive review. We could not ask for more than satisfied guests. We are so happy you have stayed with us on numerous occasions, something we are very proud of. I have happily forwarded your comment onto my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future and until then, wish you all the best.

Kind regards,

Werner Knechtli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We loved the fact you can walk to check in and access the airport shopping.
Rooms are starting to show wear and tear already but functional.
We found restaurant staff at the Italian style option to be rude.
Chain hotels like this need to personalize their service- reception staff robotically ask each guest the same questions.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson-Blu-Zurich, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Charles L

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We regret to hear you did not enjoy your stay as much as anticipated. Regarding the rooms; we are currently refurbishing all rooms. This is however an ongoing process. I will nevertheless forward your comment onto my team and discuss it internally.

We nevertheless hope to welcome you back again in the near future and until then, wish you well.

Best regards,

Werner Knechtli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This hotel is in the airport and train station complex. We found it very convenient. Cafes, restaurants, small shops, supermarket are open early in the morning till 9pm. The room is adequate, nothing great, but quite spacious. Wifi is also good and free.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ferliana21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson-Blu-Zurich, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Ferliana21

A big thank you for your comment. We are glad you enjoyed our facilities and took advantage of our free highspeed WIFI.

We would be delighted to welcome you back again in the near future.

With the best regards and thanks again,

Werner Knechtli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed just one night on short business trip into Switzerland, in order to meet up with people flying in from elsewhere. The location served the purpose well, and the direct connection to the airport terminal is extremely convenient. Room not unpleasant, quite spacious (it was a 'Business Class' room with view of the carpark and taxi queue...which about sums up the whole place, really) but fairly ordinary, carpet/upholstery a bit grubby, everything rather tired. Next time I'd rather make the effort and get into the city proper.....well, it's an airport hotel, what do you expect? The trapeze artist wine 'obelisk' is quite amusing (for about 5 minutes) . . . . .oh, and the place is VERY expensive for what it offers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chamonixasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson-Blu-Zurich, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear chamonixasia

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We regret to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us as much as we would have hoped. Regarding your comment on our sleeping facilities, we are in the midst of refurbishing our rooms. It is good to see you enjoyed our Wine Angel show.

We nevertheless hope to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Werner Knechtli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opfikon
0.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Zurich-Airport
1.2 mi away
Hilton Zurich Airport
Hilton Zurich Airport
#4 of 10 in Opfikon
2,206 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Zurich Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Swissotel Zurich
Swissotel Zurich
#35 of 137 in Zurich
2,257 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport
5.0 mi away
Zurich Marriott Hotel
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#22 of 137 in Zurich
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport

Address: Zurich Airport, Opfikon, Zurich 8058, Switzerland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Opfikon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Opfikon
#1 Green Hotel in Opfikon
#1 Business Hotel in Opfikon
#1 Family Hotel in Opfikon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Opfikon
Price Range: £126 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport is located just a few steps away from the arrival and departure areas of Zurich Airport. This enables the guest to be at the check-in area within minutes. Guests can also benefit from 69 parking spaces with direct access to the 8th floor. The Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport provides its guests 4018m2 of meeting and event space consisting of 52 Meeting and Board Rooms spread over three floors. The hotel offers Switzerland's most comprehensive range of services for multi-day conventions and conferences, as well as for smaller meetings lasting from a few hours up to a whole day. The hotel's largest room - ballroom - 'Zurich', located on the first floor with an area of 800m2, can be divided into four sections and can host up to 600 people. The spacious foyer has a spectacular view overlooking the Wine Tower.Modern hotel design in a class of its own, in the styles 'Chic', 'Fresh' and 'At Home' offered by the 330 hotel guest rooms which include the six one-bedroom 'Charme' suites and the spacious presidential suite.A spectacular highlight in the atrium lobby is the 16-meter high Wine Tower itself, which can be stocked with up to 4000 bottles of wine and champagne. All meeting delegates and hotel residents enjoy free high speed internet access in the whole hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport Hotel Opfikon
zürich Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport Canton Of Zurich, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing