We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Best Airport Hotels” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Opfikon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One of the Best Airport Hotels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed one day at the Radisson Blu hotel in the Zurich Airport. There is a Coop store and other different stores near the hotel. The front desk staff was nice and check in was easy. The room was a about the same size of an american hotel. The room was clean and had all modern furniture and fixtures. There was an wide variety of teas and coffees, no microwave though. The queen size bed was comfortable and had plenty of pillows. The bathroom was also modern with a good size shower stall. the shower stall had a fixed glass for only half of the stall, so there is going to be water splashing out in the bathroom. Just make sure you put a towel there so you don't slip. There is free WiFi. Ate at the one of the hotel's restaurant, Filini. It's Italian food and was good. Had a dinner salad and pasta.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtallyca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson-Blu-Zurich, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear mtallyca

Thank you so much for your feedback. Reviews like this make it all worthwhile. We’re so pleased you had a great stay and really hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards from Zurich,

Werner Knechtli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    906
    901
    239
    73
    36
See reviews for
300
560
239
915
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We had an early, international flight the next morning and decided to stay at the Radisson. That was during the world cup and a giant screen had been installed in the main bar, the one famous for its transparent wine tower, in which circus artists called "wine angels" soar up and down to get the wine bottle you ordered. Our room was artfully decorated, squeaky clean, quiet, and the personnel very efficient. One should not expect any more than simple, cold, emotionless Swiss perfection there, but it's really ideal for the airport.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Swisscheese_Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson-Blu-Zurich, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Swisscheese_Zurich

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your review. We are glad you chose our hotel to stay before your holiday and that you had the chance to enjoy our Wine Angels.

We hope you had a safe onward journey and that you will be back again.

Yours,

Werner Knechtli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We missed our connection in Zurich Airport (family traveling with 3 kids) and got two rooms in the Radisson Blu. The hotel staff were extremely nice, the rooms were great, comfortable, spacious and very well designed. We got a great night sleep followed by a really good and rich breakfast.
The only drawback is that coming in late (approx . 23:00) the only food the hotel had to offer was a sandwich bar with a very limited offering.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yarivz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson-Blu-Zurich, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear yarivz

Thank you for your comment and taking the time to write about your stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time here.

We hope to welcome you back again and unil then, wish you all the best.

Yours,

Werner Knechtli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

we wanted to stay at airport night before flight and expected usual 3 star airport hotel .We booked cheapest room and was surprised to find a good sized room with nice bathroom and great facilities.The train station,airport ,and hotel all connect without going outside.Staff was helpful and equal to that in a 5 star hotel.Great bar/lounge and restaurant

Room Tip: Actually at airport and train station
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louis8160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson-Blu-Zurich, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear louis8160

It means a lot to the team and I to know our hard works pays off! Thanks so much for the great
feedback, which is much appreciated.

We hope to welcome you back again soon and until then, wish you all the best.

Yours,

Werner Knechtli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Returning from Lugano, to catch an early morning flight from Zurich Airport, we decided to try the Radisson Blu. We had enjoyed a previous stay at the Radisson Blu in Marseilles. Easy access from Zurich Airport railway station. After picking up our luggage from the railway station which we had shipped from Lugano earlier that morning, it was a relatively easy walk through the airport to the hotel - about 5-10 minutes. Just follow the signs to the hotel.

Check in was fast and efficient, even though there was a tour group checking in at the same time. We were impressed with the reception area - an atrium-style design with a colourful wine tower in the middle. The tower changes colour regularly.

Stayed in two standard rooms with Queen Beds. We were given connecting rooms - a nice touch. The rooms were good size and attractively decorated with modern decor, and huge bathrooms. Our view was over a rooftop. Except for the view, the rooms more than met our expectations.

We happened to be there on a Friday night which is when the hotel has a show with a male and female doing acrobatics in the wine tower - retrieving bottles of wine. Actually, a pretty good show.

Close enough to Zurich that we took the train downtown to grab dinner at the Zeughauskeller (that will be another review).

Checking out early the next morning was a breeze. They had airport luggage carts near the reception area - very handy for hauling our humongous pile of luggage to the airport. Access to the airport check-in was easy from the hotel.

Although the decor might not suit everyone's taste, the Radisson Blu is a convenient option when travelling to and from Zurich Airport, adjacent to the intercity railway station, and close to downtown Zurich. For Switzerland, we found the hotel to be good value at 161 Swiss Francs per room per night (for a Standard Room).

Room Tip: Some rooms are quite far from the elevators, so you might want to check on your room locations. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DodoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson-Blu-Zurich, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear DodoTraveller

A big thank you for your very detailed comment. Reviews like this make it all worthwhile. We’re so pleased you had a great stay and really hope to see you again in the near future.

Until then, all the best.

Warm regards from Zurich,

Werner Knechtli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langenthal, Schweiz
Level Contributor
160 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

They certainly tried hard to create a hip design. The flying wine angels and the flashy colorful wine tower are certainly clever and make an impression. As soon as that wears off, the emptiness sets in. There is something sad and soulless about the entire space; not just the spacious, airy lobby, but everywhere.

The employees seem friendly. But the friendliness comes through more as "I am under strict orders to be friendly. Therefore I am friendly." They have a strange credit card deposit policy upon check in. It's not a big deal once they explain it. It's just strange and annoying.

The room was clean and except for the nozzle holder in the shower, functional. All 3 of us (2 adults & 1 child) got 8 hours' sleep, yet we woke up completely exhausted. We were zombies all day plus part of the next day. And it wasn't because we drank a lot during dinner. It felt like the hotel sucked all the life out of us.

Then there is the price. They suck a lot of money out of you too. After staying at this hotel, one can calculate exactly the value of a minute of extra sleep. There are many hotels within a 10 minute walk from Zürich Hauptbahnhof. The trip from Hbf to the airport is 9 minutes. Let's round it up to 20 minutes for the sake of simplicity. It is easy to find a hotel near Hbf which is CHF 150 less expensive than the Radisson Blu. That puts the price of an extra minute of sleep at CHF 7.50.
That's CHF 450 / hour.

It is not worth it. Especially when the sleep is more like inverse sleep.

I will never stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravenshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson-Blu-Zurich, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Ravenshaw

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. It’s disappointing to hear that whilst we
strive to offer our guests the very best service; you were not happy with your stay here. It is a pity you did not enjoy our modern design as much as we itended you do.

We nevertheless hope to welcome you back again in the future and prove to you that one can indeed enjoy the stay with us.

Thanks once again and best wishes from Zurich

Werner Knechtli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were arriving from US and needed a convenient hotel. Instead of staying one day, we extended to 3 days because it very convenient for seeing sights in the area, rooms were extremely quiet, no plane noise, lounge was busy and tres chic. The Angel Wine Bar is very unique and invites you to stop and have a drink. Staff was very helpful. Hotels is connected to airport which avoids having to go outside, also connected to all trains and buses.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson-Blu-Zurich, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Dennis I

Thank you so much for your detailed feedback. It is great you enjoyed your stay with us and that you took the chance to look at some sights.

We hope you had a safe and enjoyable onward journey.

Best regards and thanks once again,

Werner Knechtli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opfikon
1.1 mi away
Hilton Zurich Airport
Hilton Zurich Airport
#4 of 10 in Opfikon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
0.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Zurich-Airport
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Zurich Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Kameha Grand Zurich, Autograph Collection
3.1 mi away
Swissotel Zurich
Swissotel Zurich
#36 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,110 reviews
5.0 mi away
Zurich Marriott Hotel
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#18 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport
Address: Zurich Airport, Opfikon, Zurich 8058, Switzerland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Opfikon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Opfikon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Opfikon
#1 Business Hotel in Opfikon
#2 Green Hotel in Opfikon
#3 Luxury Hotel in Opfikon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport is located just a few steps away from the arrival and departure areas of Zurich Airport. This enables the guest to be at the check-in area within minutes. Guests can also benefit from 69 parking spaces with direct access to the 8th floor. The Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport provides its guests 4018m2 of meeting and event space consisting of 52 Meeting and Board Rooms spread over three floors. The hotel offers Switzerland's most comprehensive range of services for multi-day conventions and conferences, as well as for smaller meetings lasting from a few hours up to a whole day. The hotel's largest room - ballroom - 'Zurich', located on the first floor with an area of 800m2, can be divided into four sections and can host up to 600 people. The spacious foyer has a spectacular view overlooking the Wine Tower.Modern hotel design in a class of its own, in the styles 'Chic', 'Fresh' and 'At Home' offered by the 330 hotel guest rooms which include the six one-bedroom 'Charme' suites and the spacious presidential suite.A spectacular highlight in the atrium lobby is the 16-meter high Wine Tower itself, which can be stocked with up to 4000 bottles of wine and champagne. All meeting delegates and hotel residents enjoy free high speed internet access in the whole hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport Hotel Opfikon
zürich Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport Canton Of Zurich, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing