We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clifftop Boutique Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 1 Smiths Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Rachel and (?her mum) greeted us and were super warm and lovely. We stayed on a freezing cold day I think if you got an upstairs room with a beach beiw it would be spectacular. We were on the bottom floor whilst it wasn't a terrible outlook it was nothing special. The bed was comfy and the room was very clean. Only thing was it was a bit cold even with the heater on all night to be fair it was a freezing day/night anyway. Overall we were really happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chools15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

This accommodation may be small with 8 keys but it packs a punch and does the term "B&B / Boutique Accommodation" justice.

The family running the place (Rachel & Helen) are extremely helpful and thoughtful - from helping us settle into the rooms, warming up the rooms (very cold winter's day), food recommendations, island activities and making sure we bring blankets and ponchos along for the penguin parade. They may not have gone to some posh hotel management school but they certainly have made me feel like i checked into one of the Australia Luxury Lodges.

The rooms are well sized - we took Rooms 3 and 4 with fabulous ocean views. Period. Although it was freezing, we took time to sit outside to take in the views.

The property is well located - close to Penguin Parade, The Noobies, Cowes / Rhyll to grab food or supermarket Coles & Woolies

Thanks for the wonderful time

Room Tip: Rooms 3 and 4 for great views Look out for the wildlife on the premises and go to the "spot&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gweyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had our wedding at Clifftop Boutique and we can honestly say there is not one thing we would change about our whole experience. From the friendliness of staff, to their professionalism and attention to detail, their understanding of how you'd like your special day to feel and flow, their cooperation and willingness to make everything as perfect as possible, not to mention 8 fantastic rooms to house guests in which all have their own special touches. Clifftop, not only did you play a big part in the facilitating of our day but you truly did contribute towards making it everything that we could have ever wanted and more and you are now a part of memories we will have for life. This accommodation is great both as a summer visit to the island with the outdoor space, proximity to the beach and light and airy feel to it but also as somewhere to stay in winter when you can sit outside with blankets to keep you warm or in the beautiful lounge area with the fire going. We would highly recommend Clifftop to any visitors but especially if you are considering a wedding in the area. We plan to visit each year on our anniversary. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JayRachHolmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

The views far surpassed Sydney and Darwin but the best memories were made through the flawless service we received. This B&B managed to out-do any 5-star hotel we've stayed at. Upon check-in we had warm banana bread, cappuccino and tea. Shortly followed by another complimentary treat of a bottle of wine of our choice. The 180 degree ocean and greenery views from our bed were almost outdone by the pristine rooms/decor and best breakfast we've had in 12 days in Australia. If this boutique was the only place on Phillips Island it would be worth the visit. The recommendations and service provided was so polite and gracious it was as if we'd known the owners our entire lives. Beyond worth every penny. Will find a way to get back there!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racheydb, Owner at Clifftop Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a lovely review. We enjoyed meeting you both a great deal. As a mother/daughter team it was so nice to meet another mother/daughter team and we hope that the rest of your Australian trip was wonderful. We will look forward to welcoming you back any time you are on this side of the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

A wonderful weekend away at clifftop accommodation.
Staying at clifftop made our weekend getaway perfect. The room was charming, with beautiful furnishings and a breathtaking view of the ocean. Helen was kind and very hospitable and went out of her way to make our stay extra special.
Will recommend clifftop accommodation to all my family and friends!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annabelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed here with friends and found that we were constantly banging our head against the wall. I was expecting luxury for the price and the way it was portrayed online but everything from the room finishings in the room to the service provided was slapdash. Everything was an extra charge or not included in the package and it left us all with a bad taste in our mouths. Rooms weren't made up appropriately, adequate towels weren't provided, there were rules for everything and check out is early and you best be prompt about it! (maybe pack your bags the night before??)
Would have loved to visit under the old owners, they sound a lot more professional and accommodating. Guess we should have listened to the locals who had warned us against staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank megantravels_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We were unsure where to stay on Philip Island and wanted somewhere quiet and comfortable and not oppressive. Cliff Top could not have been better. Our hosts were remarkable, helpful, thoughtful, cheerful and really good company. The location is breath-taking with walks on the headlands and on the beaches. Marvelous wildlife including (relatively) tame wallabies.. The room was spacious and comfortable and the balcony gorgeous. Rather sorry to leave and will make a beeline for the place next time we are in Australia. Go on, treat yourself: you won't regret it.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smiths Beach
4 mi away
North Pier Hotel
North Pier Hotel
#10 of 11 in Cowes
38 reviews
4 mi away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#4 of 11 in Cowes
232 reviews
4 mi away
The Castle Villa by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Island Accommodation
2.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
7.3 mi away
Silverwater Resort
Silverwater Resort
#1 of 3 in San Remo
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifftop Boutique Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifftop Boutique Accommodation

Address: 1 Marlin St, Smiths Beach, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Smiths Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Smiths Beach
Price Range: £131 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clifftop Boutique Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clifftop is perched between the sea and the sky above Smith's Beach and Express point. Individual character filled rooms overlooking one of the worlds great views. An open bar and mini cafe in the main room. Easy access to the Phillip Island Grand Prix Track and to the Penguin Parade in addition to all the dining and natural beauty that Phillip Island has to offer. A perfect place for a romantic get away, a weekend with friends, family reunion, retreat or elegant wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Clifftop Boutique Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Top Boutique Hotel Phillip Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing