We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home - amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clifftop Boutique Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 1 Smiths Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Had the privilege of experiencing Cliff Top in August 14'. Helen and Rachel are extremely warm and welcoming, it truly felt like a home away home.

Literally perched on a cliff, Cliff Top has the most magnificent view, the nicest hosts and tastiest breakfast in Phillip Island! Highly recommend this place for a getaway. Will definitely be back, given the opportunity to!

P.S. Get Helen to bring you guys to the "magic" spot! It is magical, indeed.

Love,
Kelson & Dirk

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohkelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racheydb, Owner at Clifftop Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you Kelson and Dirk for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Clifftop and although not much work got done that day it was fantastic to spend the first sunny morning of the season chatting to you. We hope the rest of your trip was wonderful and wish you the very best with the club and the studies. We will be thrilled to welcome back our new old friends on your next visit to Australia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for Clifftop Boutique Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Received a warm welcome from Rachel, the hosts, who promptly checked us in. She helped us arrange for taxi services around Phillip Island and suggested good places for dinner - Rusty Waters - after learning that we did not drive. The views from the room was perfect - sea view with strong rolling waves crashing into the beach. We were the only guests for the evening, and basically had the hotel to ourselves. There were also DVDs and kid games provided for guests' enjoyment through the long quiet night. We ordered breakfast and Rachel prepared bread, yogurt, milk and home-made cereals and fruits for us in the spacious dining room (Continental breakfast was only available during weekends). While we enjoy the breakfast with a view, we were more excited for Rachel to walk us to the cliff to get a closer look at the roaring waves. Before we waved goodbye to the place, Rachel kindly brought us to the nearest bus stop to catch our bus. Thanks Rachel for the hosting us.

The good -
a) Quiet and peaceful
b) Great seaview
c) Large and clean room
d) Excellent and caring hosts

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are worth the money.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eugene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I took my partner to cliff top for a romantic and relaxing weekend and we walked out of there wanting to stay longer. Views are amazing, beach is just around the corner and the staff are very welcoming. We were talking about getting married at cliff top and they were more than happy to show us all the rooms and facilities. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dameo1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

What an absolutely fantastic place to stay. We had a couples only weekend away without the kids (although next.time we will take the kids). We were looking for a relaxing place to stay and boy did we get it. Cliff top was absolutely fantastic to say the least. Gorgeous views, luxious rooms and next to none the best hospitality you could get. I highly recommend you try cliff top. You will want to go back as soon as you drive out the driveway. I know we did. We will definitely be back there very soon

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Rachel and (?her mum) greeted us and were super warm and lovely. We stayed on a freezing cold day I think if you got an upstairs room with a beach beiw it would be spectacular. We were on the bottom floor whilst it wasn't a terrible outlook it was nothing special. The bed was comfy and the room was very clean. Only thing was it was a bit cold even with the heater on all night to be fair it was a freezing day/night anyway. Overall we were really happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chools15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This accommodation may be small with 8 keys but it packs a punch and does the term "B&B / Boutique Accommodation" justice.

The family running the place (Rachel & Helen) are extremely helpful and thoughtful - from helping us settle into the rooms, warming up the rooms (very cold winter's day), food recommendations, island activities and making sure we bring blankets and ponchos along for the penguin parade. They may not have gone to some posh hotel management school but they certainly have made me feel like i checked into one of the Australia Luxury Lodges.

The rooms are well sized - we took Rooms 3 and 4 with fabulous ocean views. Period. Although it was freezing, we took time to sit outside to take in the views.

The property is well located - close to Penguin Parade, The Noobies, Cowes / Rhyll to grab food or supermarket Coles & Woolies

Thanks for the wonderful time

Room Tip: Rooms 3 and 4 for great views Look out for the wildlife on the premises and go to the "spot&qu...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gweyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had our wedding at Clifftop Boutique and we can honestly say there is not one thing we would change about our whole experience. From the friendliness of staff, to their professionalism and attention to detail, their understanding of how you'd like your special day to feel and flow, their cooperation and willingness to make everything as perfect as possible, not to mention 8 fantastic rooms to house guests in which all have their own special touches. Clifftop, not only did you play a big part in the facilitating of our day but you truly did contribute towards making it everything that we could have ever wanted and more and you are now a part of memories we will have for life. This accommodation is great both as a summer visit to the island with the outdoor space, proximity to the beach and light and airy feel to it but also as somewhere to stay in winter when you can sit outside with blankets to keep you warm or in the beautiful lounge area with the fire going. We would highly recommend Clifftop to any visitors but especially if you are considering a wedding in the area. We plan to visit each year on our anniversary. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JayRachHolmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smiths Beach
4.0 mi away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#4 of 11 in Cowes
229 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Continental Hotel Phillip Island
2.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
3.6 mi away
Oak Tree Lodge Luxury B&B
4.8 mi away
Seas The Day B&B
Seas The Day B&B
#1 of 4 in Ventnor
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifftop Boutique Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifftop Boutique Accommodation

Address: 1 Marlin St, Smiths Beach, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Smiths Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Smiths Beach
Price Range: £137 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clifftop Boutique Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clifftop is perched between the sea and the sky above Smith's Beach and Express point. Individual character filled rooms overlooking one of the worlds great views. An open bar and mini cafe in the main room. Easy access to the Phillip Island Grand Prix Track and to the Penguin Parade in addition to all the dining and natural beauty that Phillip Island has to offer. A perfect place for a romantic get away, a weekend with friends, family reunion, retreat or elegant wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Clifftop Boutique Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Top Boutique Hotel Phillip Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing