We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Suffolk Beachfront Holiday Park Accommodation
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Tallow Beach Motel(Suffolk Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Park Hotel Motel(Suffolk Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Byron Retreat(Skinners Shoot)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lord Byron(Byron Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
44
31
11
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
31
11
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssafari tentpowered sitecamp kitchenbush turkeysfamily cabinclean amenitiesgreat bakeryhear the wavesshort drivethe managersbike trackgreat campsitebyron baygreat walking beachshower and toiletbeach accesssand dunes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We were packed in among about 4 campsites at the far southwest corner of the park. Management knew we had an 6mth old baby but they still put us right on top of a creek that was teeming!!! with mozzies - even though we booked weeks in advance. So bub got bitten pretty badly at one stage. The ground was gravel and dirt with no grass to speak of. Next to us, two separate couple campers were virtually camping on top of each other. Not enough BBQ's, no pool or playground so pretty useless for families. I will never go there again. And if you're looking at the safari tents, be prepared to have other campers parked a metre from your windows 'cause they don't waste no space at this place. Otherwise toilet and showers were adequate and proximity to beach is nice.

Room Tip: Make sure you find out exactly where your campsite is, how close it is to the creek and other campers and whether you're on grass or gravel. Ask heaps of questions and get the best spot you can. Otherwise you'll be wishing you stayed home.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OceanEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Manager at Suffolk Beachfront Holiday Park Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thankyou for taking time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback as well as the opportunity to respond to all the issues raised.
Suffolk Beachfront Holiday Park is relatively small and situated within a lush sub-tropical natural setting beside the beach at Byron. We've be experiencing a steady growth in popularity and occupancy since taking over management 6 years ago. We've also been continuously upgradng the Parks facilities and services to cater for increasing customer expectations as well as creating our own new innovations such as the Safari Tents.
We take pride in how we present and operate the Park, striving to ensure all our guests enjoy themselves as much as possible. Our high level of returned and referred visitors is positive proof that we get it right most of the time.
Mosquitoes: They are a naturally occurring universally annoying phenomenon found in all hot and humid regions such as the Northern NSW and Queensland Coastal areas including Byron Bay and Suffolk Park. We've been experiencing very hot, wet and humid conditions over the past month or so.
Grass: The south west corner referred to in your comments is one of the most shady and quieter areas within the Park that makes it very popular for families and children to avoid the hot sun in summer. Despite our best effords, grass cannot grow in full shade while being covered by ground sheets and tents for most of the year. After trying a number of surface treatments, our most successful solution to date is to cover the site with a mixture of sand and fine white gravel to provide the best possible surface for comfortable camping and drainage during wet weather.
Overcrowding: Due to our natural setting with many trees throughout the Park, quite a few of our sites have different shapes and sizes. When answering enquiries and taking bookings we focus on best matching a campers set up to a site that best suites their needs. All our sites are laid out and organised to accommodate the various shapes and sizes of guests camp set-ups. Our staff, our website and park map clearly indicate the usable space available. In the south west corner, as in some other areas within the Park, we've actually eliminated some sites to provide extra space for the extra gear and equipment customers bring to make their stay comfortable including - bigger tents and vans, tarps, fly's, pergolas, barbies, furniture, bikes, trailers, etc.
BBQ's: We are currently awaiting approval to increase the number of our barbeque facilities.
Pool: No other beachfront park in Byron Bay has a pool due to their idyllic and unique locations with direct access to Byron's world famous beaches.
Parking: We have a strict guideline that limits parking to one car per booking within the confines of their allocated site.
Seperation: Our park design allows for a reasonable space around all our onsite accommodation units including the Safari Tents and Cabins. We are constantly monitoring and moving vehicles/tents and vans that may overstep their site limitations onto someone else's area.
Playgrounds: Suffolk Beachfront Holiday Park is a Byron Shire Council facility. The Council already provides a popular chidlren's playground just a short distance from the parks entrance.
It is always important to remember that we are a camping, caravan holiday park that by it's very nature is a communal living environment where a little flexibility and give and take is required of all guests within the Park. To think of others and try to fit in will help us all to fully enjoy time spent at Suffolk Beachfront Holiday Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

The receptionist was quite nice and the powered site seemed clean. But do not ever use the bathrooms!!! It was full of flying, crawling, dying and sleeping bugs and spiders! The sinks were full of them, you couldn't even see the bottom of it! It was a crawling nightmare! I almost ran out screaming when the bugs started to fly right at me when I wanted to use the washing sink. It was the worst park we've ever been in. I don't understand, how hard can it be to put up some mosquito nets?!! But they owners don't seem to care. Stay away from that park!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbundanReisende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Manager at Suffolk Beachfront Holiday Park Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

We, as managers, clearly remember that large insect invasion or swarm that visited the Park over those couple of nights in November last year. It was the biggest we've experienced in our 6 years in the Park. This type of swarm occur fairly regularly, particularly in the hotter/humid areas of Australia including Byron Bay.
We swept and cleaned up the bugs every 2 - 3 hours during the days and evenings till the bugs disappeared - 2 days.
We haven't screened the amenities because normally we don't have a major bug/insect problem, more importantly we need maximum ventilation during our busy summer holiday season with over 25 showers and toilets in a confined area, catering for 2-300 people per day. We are now exploring new ways to improve ventilation and possibly insect proof the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012 via mobile

Warm, friendly and helpful managers. Exceptionally clean. Walk to Hotel, grocery store, bakery that serves the best Ice Coffee Frappes and pizza shop and chemist. Amenities are clean but a good scrub with bleach to rid the small dregs of mould in grout might help but not a big deal. There are other toilets available when the main amenities are being cleaned. Short path to beach access. Away from the hussle and bussle of Byron but close enough as a very short drive. Sites are larger than the main park in Byron. Would not look at other parks but would just come back to this one. Bush turkeys are so daring and will get into your rubbish if you are stupid enough to have it outside. There are plenty of bins so you can easily rid yourself of rubbish regularly. Excellent place!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crabshak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Manager at Suffolk Beachfront Holiday Park Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012

Thank-you for the great feedback, we all work hard at the park to maintain the best standards and atmosphere for everyone. We are constantly battling mould in our ageing Amenities with daily cleans and weekly super cleans with high powered bleach and up until now have not been able to solve the problem completely. To finally resolve it we are currently re-sealing all the grouting in the Amenities and the result so far have been very promising with feedback that they look new again. Hopefully you will be able to come back and see the results yourself.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We have just experienced a wonderful week here with our family & friends. Clean, quiet and perfectly located to a beautiful running walking surfing beach and walking distance to general store, brilliant bakery & pizza shop. Fantastic spot with helpful friendly management and staff. Sites were clean and level for caravans, the park had an overall family friendly feel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarynPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We love the idea of caravans parks because your kids can run around free without you having to worry, something you can't do at a resort. Our son met kids while we just relaxed out the front of our safari tent and watched the kids hooning on their scooters and climbing up trees. The park is on the beach. I’m not sure if it was just the time, but this beach is a bit rougher than the one in Byron Bay. We had our bikes and there is a fantastic bike track all the way to town, it makes a real difference then having to ride on the road. The tent was so much fun, it had a kitchenette, bed and bunks and was very roomy. I believe you can get safari tents with bathrooms. I guess you wouldn’t call it cheap, but caravan parks aren't these days I guess its because of the great locations most of them are in. We would definitely come again. Byron is a great place for all different travellers.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews