We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the Forest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Suffolk Park
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Luxury in the Forest”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

A great two day break at this very superior hotel. Our room one of a group of eight located well away from everything else and surrounded by sub tropical rain forest had all we needed. An ingenious set of sliding doors allowed us to configure the space in different ways and the QUIET air con (not something we have found universal in Australian hotels) allowed a good night's sleep in the very comfortable bed.

We also had a small kitchen, laundry facilities and a good selection of in-house movies($16 a pop).

Pre dinner cocktails by the pool were very good and dinner at the hotel's restaurant was excellent, tho service was a little slow.

Walks thru the forest on the boardwalks were interesting with wildlife, particularly bird life, constantly close by. We spent one day wandering Bryon Bay itself (worth visiting but as 60 year olds we were not quite the right demographic - it's very youth oriented!). The second we spent totally on site, lounging beside the beautiful pool - and treated ourselves later to a "quiet night in" with a glass of wine, some dips and a movie which made for a very relaxing break. My wife felt the spa was very good with a truly fantastic massage.

Highly recommended for a short break

Room Tip: We stayed in the Gumtree complex which is far from the centre and feels very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    235
    60
    16
    15
See reviews for
183
610
30
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We attended Byron at Byron for a conference with my husbands work last weekend. We stayed for 2 nights over the weekend. The hotel is fantastic the set up of the resort and rooms is just stunning. The rooms were more like a self contained unit. Beautiful large bath and great living area for relaxing. Also the rooms were extremely quiet which made for good sleep ins. The pool was amazing. I also had a massage at the day spa which I would highly recommend. If you are looking for somewhere to recharge the batteries this is the place

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We will be coming back ....we hope quarterly! This was the best short break for us and the service, staff, amenities, food, wine are all brilliant. Loved the yoga class...beautiful walks and relax by the pool, stunning apartment with everything you need. We really felt at home and relaxed the entire time....exceptional staff!.
Simply the BEST!

Room Tip: I did not have children with me so cannot rate but would expect it to be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vmmo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is fantastic, with each guest accommodation essentially being a self contained flat. The rooms are cleverly split by sliding doors, and the balconies are bug free due to well designed mesh covers.

The walk to the beach is a must, as is spending time on the beach. The location is fantastic, and only a short drive from Byron Bay.

The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was excellent.

The onky issue I had was with the other guests. Just because it is expensive to stay at Byron, it does not entitle people staying to their to think they are above everybody. I dod not appreciate the delusions of grandeur, and the attitude towards staff that other guests demonstrated.

Other than that, if you can afford to stay here, then do not miss it. But please, remain humble and welcoming!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LiHiHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This was a lovely resort, 5 star facilities, rooms are lovely and comfortable. We stayed for Valentine's Day and enjoyed the set menu on the Friday night (as though would be hard to get in anywhere else) with complimentary chocolate and rose… Food was very good..

Buffet breakfast was amazing and we also enjoyed cocktail by the pool….did get a little busy and stuff were run off their feet but still cheerful.

One small gripe is that when we sat at the lounge seats along near spa for pre dinner cocktails it took a long time to get served, both times. Would have been nice to get some nibbles to go with the cocktail.

Other than that couldn't fault it….

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SB2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

The staff were very attentive, without being overbearing. Everything went very smoothly with the conference, which is all you can ask for.
I stayed in the rooms near the tennis court. For such open rooms, it was surprisingly quiet. I liked the crime safe security around the veranda's, meant you can keep it all open, without worry.
The room had a decent sized lounge room, with small kitchenette & even a washing machine, which if you had been travelling a while, or had kids would be good.
The pool was stunning, and Brendan from the spa gave a fabulous massage. Having a spa and time in the steam room before the massage made the experience all the better.
The setting with all the boardwalks through an amazing garden planted by previous owners was relaxing and gave the conference a very relaxed feel. I didn't go to the nearby beach, as we were told the rips were very dangerous and waves big due to cyclones further out to sea. That was fine, as the pool is so good.

The entire atmosphere is one that gives you no choice but to slow down a bit and relax. I would happily go back!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Christinebrissygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is a beautiful property set in the rain forest but walkable to the beach. Heading to breakfast the first morning spotted a Wallaby less than 3 feet away. That was special. Rooms were very nice and spacious as well as clean.
You can walk the property on a boarded pathway or choose to walk the beach. I did both and enjoyed each one.
You do have to hire a car to get to the town but well worth it. Hike to the 'Eastern Most Point in Australia Mainland". Views are Spectacular!!

Room Tip: Walking around the property I did not see any rooms that were not well situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suffolk Park
3.9 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
370 reviews
2.6 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
186 reviews
1.7 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Atlantic Byron Bay
Atlantic Byron Bay
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
274 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
3.1 mi away
Victoria's at Wategos
Victoria's at Wategos
#18 of 32 in Byron Bay
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa

Property: The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Address: 77 - 97 Broken Head Road | Via Byron Bay, Suffolk Park, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay > Suffolk Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Suffolk Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stylish design and architecture, the multi award winning Byron at Byron Resort and Spa is inspired by its pristine surroundings. Set within a stunning subtropical rainforest The Byron at Byron Resort provides an idyllic escape in a relaxed atmosphere whilst offering all the special touches you would expect. Relax on the wide open verandahs and admire the magnificent and unique rainforest canopy while enjoying warm and friendly service, great food and wine, all with a smile. The spacious resort comprises 92 one bedroom suites set within 45 acres so you truly have the space you need to unwind. Stroll the boardwalks to nearby Tallow Beach, enjoy daily yoga or simply retreat to the resort Spa for the ultimate indulgence. As 2018 rolls along and we enter our 14th year of operation, several important improvements are being undertaken which by year end will be completed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Byron At Byron Hotel Byron Bay
The Byron At Byron Resort And Spa
The Byron At Hotel
The Byron At Resort
The Byron At Byron Resort & Spa Suffolk Park, Byron Bay, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing