We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Getaway in a Magical Environment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Suffolk Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My partner and I came over for some business in Surfers Paradise and Byron last week. After being in hectic Surfers (not a nice place in my opinion!) It was so lovely to stay here and have a few days after to unwind and relax. The walkway walks are just beautiful - we hired the bikes and rode into town which was a lovely thing to do on one of the perfect days over there. It's understated and comfortable, gorgeous pool and heaps of cute cafe's nearby with really lovely local organic food - right up our alley! Would definitely stay here again when coming back - best sleep I've had in ages!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouisArdmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

549 - 555 of 1,153 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

A wonderful hotel, well worth a stop or short break if traveling between Brisbane and Sydney. Rooms located around the large property but all within a short walk of the main hotel facilities with pool, and restaurant. The pool is a real experience, slightly heated and facing the forest, relaxing in the extreme. Staff are helpful and the atmosphere is upmarket but friendly.

Room Tip: Acacia rooms were easy to access from the Jain hotel complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marchant K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We ended up really liking the Byron at Byron, but first impressions were a bit mixed. For a start, we were allocated a room on the first floor that closer to the tennis court and road. Traffic noise was the last thing I wanted or needed, so I asked to change rooms. This request was complied with at reception, but begrudgingly so. I was made to wait around at reception until an unseen manager approved the move. It was assumed I was asking for a room upgrade, which I wasn’t, I just wanted a quieter position. The room we were eventually allocated was just perfect – same standard, but more secluded. I was glad I persevered.

The rooms themselves are excellent. The mini kitchenette is a very welcome practical amenity and I loved the shower alcove with the stainless steel base. The attention to detail with insect screens really impressed me: you can live with windows and doors open, but without the bugs and mozzie bites – bliss. The room decor does provide a few hints that the resort is ten years old (the cobalt blue colour of the sofa perhaps, or the patina of age on the timber floors), but none of it detracts.

Regardless of which room you’re allocated, if there is a baby in the vicinity you will hear her or him. How you handle being woken by a crying baby perhaps depends on your fundamental disposition, together with any extra tolerance you’ve absorbed from the otherwise zen surroundings or the resort. Closing windows and doors does cut down noise from other guests and their children, but you do then miss the lovely way the rooms invite the gentle forest breezes and sounds from the outside in.

So why did we end up liking this place so very much? Well, the rain forest setting is completely and utterly beguiling. The pool would have to be one of the best of any hotel anywhere – long enough for laps and always inviting, especially at dusk. The breakfast buffet was irresistibly good and the restaurant service made you feel well and truly looked after at every sitting. The overall atmosphere of resort is sublime to come home to after a day at the beach or battling the crowds in downtown Byron Bay. We’d be happy to return, next time knowing what to expect and what to request in advance.

Room Tip: There is no porter service, so ask for a ground floor room to avoid hauling luggage up to the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pablomoderno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights over the busy Easter weekend and Chrissy made us feel welcome right from the start. We arrived early for check in and as the room was not ready we were offered a drink from the bar free of charge while we waited. The female manager whose name I can't recall (sorry!) was also fantastic. I am surprised about previous comments regarding the staff here as we thought they were all superb. The accommodation is great too but we will probably return as a result of the friendly and professional customer service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p0rtia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Very relaxing and unique atmosphere and suroundings, worth paying a bit extra for this experience compared to other resorts. Board walks and nearby beach fantastic for walks and jogging, pool was long enough for laps. A bit annoying having to pay extra for espresso based coffee in the morning, would have expected this to be included. The breakfast buffet did not have cheese, salmon or fresh tomatoes, but then again this is Australia and not Europe. Most staff had a quite arrogant attitude unfortunately but one of them were extremely nice, she really made our stay more pleasant.
We especially asked for a quiet room since we are quite sensitive to noise, but the hotel was fully booked and the staff said they could do nothing to move us even though we were checking in early. We were put in a corner room on the bottom floor, closest to the tennis court and restaurant, which meant a lot of people passing by outside in three out of four directions of the room. The rooms have an open design with lots of windows everywhere, even in the bathroom, but we had to keep all curtains closed in order to get privacy. Noise was not kept out so we were woken up early by other guests walking to the breakfast in the morning and constantly disturbed by the resort electric cars driving by. I'm sure the rooms on the second floor a bit further out on the board walk would have given us a way nicer and more calm experience, now it was quite stressful instead.

Room Tip: Second floor, further out on the boardwalk, facing the small river would probably be the best option...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToV_Sthlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Really disappointing stay at this resort, and was so looking forward to ending my trip to Australia on a high note. Room was average at best, very dark and dated, and we had frequent unwanted visitors at night (cockroaches). Walked down to Tallow Beach and was absolutely savaged by mosquitoes despite spraying DEET. After 3 nights of cockroaches, we were moved to another room for the final night > too late. Staff ranged from very friendly to downright rude and arrogant. Will not be returning. This hotel is not worth the $400 price tag

Room Tip: Room not on ground level so bugs can't get in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amit1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The resort itself is well maintained and facilities lovely. The staff are rude. Asking several times over our two day stay if we were actually guests at the hotel. The staff were arrogant and came across like you were helping them not the other way around. Heavily pregnant my husband and I embarked on a large (unexpected) walk to the beach following the signs. As an upmarket resort you would think they would have clearly displayed sign-age explaining to guests that the beach is a good distance from the resort and that you accessed it from a public pathway, once you have left the resort facilities. All in all this resort was disappointing and the service shocking. I have stayed in lovely resorts all over the world and was really rather shocked by my experience over the weekend. It could have been so much better and certainly has the potential.

Room Tip: Make sure you bring mosquito repellent as the whole resort is built on a swamp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nici and Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suffolk Park
3.9 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
430 reviews
2.6 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 34 in Byron Bay
193 reviews
1.7 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
3.1 mi away
Victoria's at Wategos
Victoria's at Wategos
#14 of 34 in Byron Bay
109 reviews
2.5 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 34 in Byron Bay
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa

Address: 77 - 97 Broken Head Road | Via Byron Bay, Suffolk Park, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay > Suffolk Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Suffolk Park
Price Range: £186 - £396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stylish design and architecture, the multi award winning Byron at Byron Resort and Spa is inspired by its pristine surroundings. Set within a stunning subtropical rainforest The Byron at Byron Resort provides an idyllic escape in a relaxed atmosphere whilst offering all the special touches you would expect. Relax on the wide open verandahs and admire the magnificent and unique rainforest canopy while enjoying warm and friendly service, great food and wine, all with a smile. The spacious resort comprises 92 one bedroom suites set within 45 acres so you truly have the space you need to unwind. Stroll the boardwalks to nearby Tallow Beach, enjoy daily yoga or simply retreat to the resort Spa for the ultimate indulgence. As 2018 rolls along and we enter our 14th year of operation, several important improvements are being undertaken which by year end will be completed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Byron At Byron Hotel Byron Bay
The Byron At Byron Resort And Spa
The Byron At Hotel
The Byron At Resort
The Byron At Byron Resort & Spa Suffolk Park, Byron Bay, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing