We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service & not for romance or couples”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Suffolk Park
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Bad service & not for romance or couples”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The rooms are dated and noisy. We could clearly hear our neighbours conversation in the next door room and could hear them walking and going to the toilet. Definitely not for a couples or romantic get away. Here is a video here http://youtu.be/iEjG-vZAuk4 of our room air-conditioner. It was freezing cold at night and this is what we endured! It was so loud it sounded like a diesel truck. We found the staff rude & arrogant, they do not accept any complaints and has a them and us mentality. We couldn't relax while cleaning staff would regularly have loud extended conversations with each other from one room balcony to another. The general manager signs his name without integrity in a note in the front of a promotional book about the resort that says "we can make the impossible possible" however, when we asked for a simple hot breakfast it was apparently not possible. Condescending arguments from the manager of the restaurant and we had to eat the virtually cold inedible food in the buffet that had been sitting there so long it was wet, soggy, over cooked and at dangerously low temperatures. The manager told us it was our fault for coming too late for breakfast, even though we were there at 9:30 & it finished at 10:45. My wife suffers from Asperger's Syndrome and has social fears and anxiety. Certainly this resort made it so intolerable for her after the staff were gossiping, she felt harassed and we pretty much had to stay in our room or catch a taxi to the town ($30 return as it is a LONG way from town) as we couldn't even take the 'courtesy bus' after the driver also had opinions and wanted to let us know, further embarrassing us and making my wife more anxious (something people with Asperger's should never be subjected to as it is debilitating). In our view, the staff are not able to handle people with social problems such as Asperger's which was clear from the restaurant managers comments and lecture to us. We were offered a complimentary breakfast but why would we eat there again? There was no way my wife, with her disability, was going to be able to go again as she now felt harassed by the staff. Her anxiety levels got so high from the staffs behaviors that it ruined the stay and we just couldn't wait to leave. She now has to recover from the ordeal with another week off work. It is our view that the staff need training with dealing with vulnerable people who may have disabilities. The resort is more like cabins in a caravan park than a 5 star resort in our view. We note that every time someone puts a real and honest review on this site the general manager comes on and undermines the person - pay attention to the negative comments they are the only real ones. It clearly shows how the resort is unable to take any criticism and prefers to discredit the guest that was treated badly by the staff. If you want to know more just contact us. We are now seeking legal advice for compensation.

Room Tip: The rooms are noisy and open, not sure if there are any better rooms. we paid extra for a top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    775
    232
    60
    16
    14
See reviews for
182
597
29
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Byron at Byron provided the perfect conference and accommodation space for our bi-annual company retreat.

The process of planning to execution was seamless and our team enjoyed a two night, three day event in the tranquil surrounds.

The team at the resort provided excellent service both before and during our stay and attended to all our requirements professionally and with ease.

The food was exceptional and included a variety of options to cater to different team requirements, whilst still delivering a beautiful product.

I would highly recommend the retreat and we will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: The resort has two accommodation locations, one close to the resort reception and restaurant or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Byron is lovely, but frequently chock-full-o-nuts. Northern NSW is lovely but isn't on the beach. Hotels are lovely but they are hotels. Beach houses are lovely but they don't have fine dining, bar staff, heated pools, spas and people to make your bed and fluff your pillows. Byron on Byron is lovely because it has all the good stuff, clever, private, elegant but flexible and fully equipped townhouse-style accomodation, encompassing bush being slowly but steadily rehabilitated all around you and the length of Tallows Beach an 8 minute bush path stroll away. Some people won't want or need to leave the resort to explore the region - which is worth every minute you choose to spend cruising about - and some people will just savour having a blissful day or a great evening staying "home" after checking out NNSW's other attractions. What may surprise you is the wine list, the happy hour, the rugs and heaters when the temp drops, how quiet and calm it can be in winter and the attention to the simple but key details like service and cleanliness. Did I mention the free yoga lessons in the morning? No? Well it is Byron Bay after all . . . Not cheap, but unhesitatingly recommended if what you want is the beach and bush feel, a quality head chef and a whole lot more class and quiet than staying in town or looking after yourself.

Room Tip: One set of townhouses is close to the pool, reception, restaurant and facilities, so good for access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

As the title says, was simply superb.
From the moment you arrive and they show you to your room.
To the magnificent breakfast after complimentary yoga. (partner did the yoga)
Bicycling into town, to local tips about where to eat and where to go sight seeing.

Everything was organized for us, from paddle boarding to drinks in the pool.

Didnt want to leave. Even spoke with the resort managers as they wandered around the park who gave great tips.

You really should consider taking the bikes and riding into town. Its a great way to get around.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Managed to sneak away from the kids for a night away with a friend at the beginning of July. We took the renovation special at $249 a night and it was so worth it. There was no sign of any works being done. The staff were extremely accommodating and friendly and we were made to feel very welcome. The facilities are great and the grounds are quiet, tranquil and extensive. It is also only a short taxi ride from the centre of town. We enjoyed the complimentary yoga session on the deck at 8am although it was a little chilly in winter. The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious.I would highly recommend The Byron at Byron.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaBWin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I can't rate this amazing property highly enough. The service was exceptional. The resort and it's facilities fantastic. We were lucky enough to have a special Renovation Deal in winter. We barely noticed any work happening! And the weather was incredible, so given it was winter, who knew! The restaurant is exceptional at night, we went for the Market to Table night, but opted for the menu as it was too tempting! Breakfasts every morning were an amazing array of fresh buffet items, with a very long flexible time. The pool is incredible, and the deck, so relaxing. My spa date with Francisco transported me to another world. My hubby loved the gym, and our 10 year old couldn't keep out of the heated pool. The service at the pool and deck felt overly indulgent and luxurious. Extra little touches like towels and sunscreen at the poor bar, with complementary iced water dispensers! It was just what our family needed after a tough year. So closely located to the centre of Byron but feels like you're in the hinterland! The cabins are beautifully appointed and perfect. The only thing I could fault is a couple of the pads on the pool lounges are a little worn and could use replacing, but I'm sure they're on top of that! Luxurious property! Can't wait to go back! Well done to the team, a magnificent resort! :)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We decided to stay at the Byron at Byron after a friends recommendation.

We stayed one night with the option of staying a second. After paying $330 we were shoved in a room at the far back of the resort. Although this might be nice in summer, it's freezing in winter as u have to walk aprox. 10 min to the restaurant. The room was nice but was not heated on arrival and therefore took 1 hour for the room to warm up. In addition, our deluxe spa bath tub looked nice but was made out of plastic and was missing the plug. After contacting reception and asking for one, housekeeping came and gave me an old mouldy plug. 5 star? I decided not to have a bath. In addition, the bedroom TV remote control was missing. We were told to just do it manually until they find one. 5 star? The bed kept moving, the blanket provided was insufficient. It was too cold and a proper doona needed.

For dinner we booked a table in the hotels restaurant. Again shoved in a corner near the glass doors, it was freezing and too dark. Paying $180 for dinner, the waiters were rude, forgot our orders, we were cold and could hardly see our meals.

Extremely disappointed with hardly any sleep we couldn't wait to check out of the Byron at Byron. Cancelled the second night and the breakfast that we originally wanted to include.

We have stayed in many of 5 star hotels paying less. We know what value for money is and the Byron at Byron certainly didn't justify the money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, General Manager at The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Anna P,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. I certainly am disappointed to receive comments such as yours. It does however deserve a balanced response.

Firstly, you made your reservation on our busiest day of the week and your arrival did not leave sufficient time for your room's preparation. We allocated you a Deluxe Spa Suite representing a double complimentary upgrade in the quieter section of the resort which is most sought after by the majority of our guests. As a standard practice we are generally advised of arrival times and our housekeeping team turn on lights and heating prior to arrival. All rooms are fully equipped with integrated heating and cooling systems and as a backup, oil heaters have also been installed in these suites. We certainly did not "shove you down the back" as you have stated.

Secondly, television remotes are a hotelier's nightmare and are often packed by guests departing in a hurry, only to be returned days later with an apology. However, once we were advised your remote was missing, it was replaced. Similarly the issue with your bath plug, whilst not to your satisfaction, was replaced expeditiously. Needless to say, I share your disappointment as this certainly does not comply with our high standards.

Thirdly, your visit to the restaurant could well have been resolved by requesting a different table. Again, we do not "shove" our guests in corners or down the back and I think to suggest we do, is a little over the top. The poor/rude service you received has been investigated. Our staff all wear name badges and we had many long term team members working. Good service levels form the basis of our operation and it would be helpful to know the identity of your table server so that we are able to address your concern directly with the staff member in question.

Whilst I take your comments in the right spirit, it is important that we reply. The friend who recommended that you stay with us presumably would not have done so if he/ she had not had a good experience with us.

We endeavor to satisfy all of our guests, all of the time. However, it is difficult to satisfy 100%, 100% of the time, no matter how hard we try.

Thank you for your comments
John Parche - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suffolk Park
3.9 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
2.6 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.7 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
2.3 mi away
Atlantic Byron Bay
Atlantic Byron Bay
#3 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
2.4 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa

Property: The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Address: 77 - 97 Broken Head Road | Via Byron Bay, Suffolk Park, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay > Suffolk Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Suffolk Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stylish design and architecture, the multi award winning Byron at Byron Resort and Spa is inspired by its pristine surroundings. Set within a stunning subtropical rainforest The Byron at Byron Resort provides an idyllic escape in a relaxed atmosphere whilst offering all the special touches you would expect. Relax on the wide open verandahs and admire the magnificent and unique rainforest canopy while enjoying warm and friendly service, great food and wine, all with a smile. The spacious resort comprises 92 one bedroom suites set within 45 acres so you truly have the space you need to unwind. Stroll the boardwalks to nearby Tallow Beach, enjoy daily yoga or simply retreat to the resort Spa for the ultimate indulgence. As 2015 rolls along and we enter our 11th year of operation, several important improvements are being undertaken which by year end will be completed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Byron At Byron Hotel Byron Bay
The Byron At Byron Resort And Spa
The Byron At Hotel
The Byron At Resort
The Byron At Byron Resort & Spa Suffolk Park, Byron Bay, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing