We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Tallow Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tallow Beach Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Suffolk Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We have been coming here for holidays for years, both before and after children. Susie, the owner, has created a garden oasis with a relaxed natural atmosphere only 50m from the beach. The rooms are carefully and tastefully fitted out with everything you need without unnecessary frills. Susie is a delight and unfailingly helpful. There are multiple walks along the extensive beach and nature reserve with interesting birds. Moonlight walks on the beach with Byron Lighthouse flashing in the distance are highly recommended. The hinterland as well as Byron Bay itself is worth exploring.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidandRia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

Tallow Beach Motel is a lovely place to stay when visiting Byron. Only 10 minutes drive away it is a world away from the traffic and noise of central Byron. The motel is located just across from a long open beach perfect for long walks, along with all the locals who live in the residential area around the motel. I also enjoyed wandering up to the bakery for morning coffee - again it felt very local with few tourists around. The motel is quiet and restful, with lovely gardens and a private, peaceful and well tended pool area. The rooms are very well appointed with everything you need, and more. I liked having a room with a kitchenette and a small living area. This is a traditional motel, drive up to the door style, and my only non positive comment might be that the rooms are a little dark as they do not have any outside area. (There is however a view through the windows to Bali style tropical gardens.) However the charm and relaxed nature of the place, along with the friendly service provided by the owner makes this a great place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tallowbeach, Owner at Tallow Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

thank you for staying with us - and taking the time to write down the details that you think would be helpful for other guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Suffolk Park,quiet,peaceful close and yet away from the heart of Byron,beautiful serene surrounds,welcoming,freindly,lovely ambiance and so very relaxing,Tallows beach just across the road beckoning long beach walks,whispering palms surround the private and pretty pool area.casurinas gently rustling in the sea breeze,a true northern coastal escape...so,cosy and quiet,just the ticket to unwind,then up to great food and fun at the famous suffolk park eateries,all within a short stroll....so affordable,no wonder we keep coming back to...Tallows Beach Motel...,highly recommend it for a low key ""break"" ,an iconic position as ""Australias most easterley motel"" ,the owner,,Susie Gilham makes your stay so welcoming... cant wait to go back again

Room Tip: I usually choose to stay out of school holidays,for an escape from Sydney,so freindly,peaceful and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandaM384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in November. The location is fantastic - right across a small street from the most beautiful beach!!! (There is no view, FYI) Suffolk Park is a nice, quiet area so if you want to relax it's the perfect place but still just a short drive to Byron Bay if you want more action. The motel is a short walk to some restaurants, a bakery and grocery. My only complaint would be the rooms could have been cleaner. The important parts were clean - bathroom, beds, floor. But the desk and nightstands hadn't been dusted in a while and there were ants in the kitchen. Also when staying here I recommend keeping the door shut no matter how badly you may want a breeze. We kept our door open and only the iron outside gate locked and we had some unwelcome cockroach visitors in the middle of the night. Perhaps they would have gotten in anyway, but I think having the door wide open didn't help. I don't fault the motel for having cockroaches because those little buggers seem to be everywhere (saw them in some really nice restaurants too), but it wasn't pleasant. Still, there's no other motel in the area that's nice and quiet with such a great location, so I would stay here again. (I'd just keep the door shut!)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Very nice small motel. Great position just a stroll across the road to the beach . Very accommodating owner. Well looked after over the xmas period we were there. Nice room with a small kitchen and annex room to make plenty of room to move around. Would recommend this motel for a nice quite stay. The swimming pool was heated and well looked after with Bali type appearance with seating etc.

Room Tip: Room 7 next to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrmell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We have just spent 4 nights at this excellent motel which is located opposite the beautiful Tallow's beach and only a 10 minute drive into the town of Byron Bay Yes it is an older style motel and maybe not 5 stars, however we give it 5 stars for attention to detail, the owner Susie made us welcome the moment we arrived until the moment we left. We were very suprised to find on our bed a beautiful box of chocolates for our wedding anniversary. Our accommodation comprised of a self contained room with a bathroom, kitchenette which was very well equipped and included a microwave and fridge, our bedroom was large with a very comfortable queen size bed. The pool and surrounding area is private and fantastic with lovely palms and shrubs. We give Tallow Beach Motel the thumbs up and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tallowbeach, Owner at Tallow Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

thank you for taking the time to write your comments about my motel. we try to keep the gardens pleasant to create the quietness and energy that seems to attract people who prefer to be out of town and yet participate in the attractions that Byron has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Keeping in mind this is a "M"otel - we were thrilled at the experience. While the rooms are older - they are done up very nicely and the attention to detail and amenities are more than I have experienced at much pricier hotels/holiday homes in Australia. The pool area was well appointed and very quiet. Additionally, the rooms offered much more space (kitchenette, sitting area) compared to a traditional hotel room.

The motel is right across the street from an empty, beautiful beach - which allows dogs! We had a great time getting thrown around in the giant waves. I would highly recommend the Suffolk Park area for those who enjoy the amenities that Byron offers (restaurants, shops etc.) but hate the crowds and traffic. That being said, there is a great bakery, grocery store, indian restaurant, and high quality pub a five to ten minute walk from the motel.

All in all - the goldilocks solution. A great, affordable little spot within driving distance of the Byron "scene" - yet with its own charms and in our opinion, a better beach. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here on my next trip to the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajk1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susie971, Owner at Tallow Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

Thank you for writing your comments in such detail. as we are tucked away it is most helpful for guests to have some idea of this area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suffolk Park
4.4 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
516 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cape Byron Retreat
Cape Byron Retreat
#2 of 2 in Skinners Shoot
9 reviews
2.1 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
0.5 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tallow Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallow Beach Motel

Address: 108 Alcorn St, Suffolk Park, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay > Suffolk Park
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Suffolk Park
Price Range: £85 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tallow Beach Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small friendly motel, across road from beautiful Tallow Beach. 5kms of long sandy beach Lovely tranquil garden area set around outdoor solar heated pool. Tavern,shops,chemist.post office, great bakery,restaurants, a 5 min walk away. Rooms furnished in tropical style with queen bed and sunroom area with tropical rainforest/garden outlook ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tallow Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallow Beach Motel Suffolk Park, Byron Bay, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing