We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip Advisor needs a review system out of 10, not 5”
Review of Tallow Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tallow Beach Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Suffolk Park
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Trip Advisor needs a review system out of 10, not 5”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

3 is "Average" and 4 is "Very Good", but this motel is neither! It is certainly better than "Average" but is not "Very Good". I would call it "Good". The location is excellent, in particular the proximity to a fabulous beach that does not have the Byron bay hoards on it. The street is quiet and the rooms are private, with a lovely tropical garden garden to look at. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was adequate. The person we dealt with was friendly and helpful.
However, the room was dusty and the floors and curtains needed a good vacuum cleaning. Particularly irritating was an electronic beeping noise that started around 11.30 pm, or thereabouts, and went on continuously for several hours. It seemed to be coming from outside the room.
The motel is 6 kilometres from the centre of Byron Bay and this may be an issue for people who like to be closer to the action! (But, this isn't the case for us!)
As for the big question - would we stay there again? Yes, provided the negatives were fixed!

Room Tip: One room is next to the laundry and it is probably a good idea to check when booking in if this coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AussieBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    47
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
21
76
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Rosemary was phenomenal-great help and advice. She was simply the friendliest person - she saved our trip (after some lost luggage and visa confusion, her kindness helped us get back in vaca mode). The hotel is acros the street from a dog park and a beautiful beach. A bit of a walk to a restaurant and pub, and 5km south of Byron bay. Loved it!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lostlilalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYDNEY
Level Contributor
150 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Booked this after reading reviews on trip advisor and wasn't disappointed. It was just a good distance from Byron, friendly staff, we had the tallow suite which was very roomy. We have been very satisfied for the price and location. Loved the macadamia shortbread cookies in the cookie jar. Bathroom also provided shampoo and conditioner, shower gel and shower scrub. Tea and coffee supplied as well. Can highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acutlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

A great little motel 150 metres from the waters edge (at high tide) and 5kms south of the BB township. Comfortable, neat and tidy, tastefully updated accomodation for the right tariff. There's no doubt we will be back.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong whichever one you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Paradise! Well appointed tropical Balinese design and ambience, exemplary attentive staff, wonderful location, walking distance to idyllic beach, hear waves at night, walk to beach and short journey to Byron Bay hustle and bustle. Paradise! Walter (Melbourne)

Room Tip: Book the larger Tallow Suite - well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Walter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tallowbeach, Owner at Tallow Beach Motel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thanks for mentioning the sound of the surf! it is a great holiday sound i think when it is a heavy sea and you are safe in bed. Appreciate your feedback and the Suite does have a lot more room than the studio rooms. Being able to walk across the road to the beach in the morning is wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Very friendly staff. Clean and large rooms with a nice sitting room for talking that overlooks gardens. Nice pool. Incredibly close to the beach, it is literally across the street! Comfortable beds as well.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank variab1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tallowbeach, Owner at Tallow Beach Motel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thanks for your comments - the sitting area in some of the rooms is a great place to have a chat before taking a walk across the road to the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This motel has a great location, super friendly staff and their rooms are modern with a big LCD TV and very clean. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Just across the road from the not over crowded Tallow Beach and close drive to centre of town but very quiet and no noise from the usual tourist traffic. Also great value, I only wish more motels were like this.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Touringnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tallowbeach, Owner at Tallow Beach Motel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay at our Motel and thanks for the compliments on our staff. Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suffolk Park
2.1 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
2.9 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
238 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
332 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#5 of 32 in Byron Bay
182 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tallow Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallow Beach Motel

Property: Tallow Beach Motel
Address: 108 Alcorn St, Suffolk Park, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay > Suffolk Park
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Suffolk Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tallow Beach Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small friendly motel, across road from beautiful Tallow Beach. 5kms of long sandy beach Lovely tranquil garden area set around outdoor solar heated pool. Tavern,shops,chemist.post office, great bakery,restaurants, a 5 min walk away. Rooms furnished in tropical style with queen bed and sunroom area with tropical rainforest/garden outlook ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tallow Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallow Beach Motel Suffolk Park, Byron Bay, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing