We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ABSOLUTELY AMAZING”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bearded Dragon Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Tamborine B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights and we loved everything about it, the room was clean, very spacious,and it was quiet as for the pub every one was so friendly, the food is amazing some are pricey but seriously its worth it, the pubs family friendly with a play ground for the kiddies, Reptile show on Sunday,Monday and Wednesday.they have an amazing beer garden with a good breeze and live bands, its a great enviroment, Will definitely be returning.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara_and_Ash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    27
    19
    13
    28
See reviews for
35
48
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Pro's

*Great base for exploring Tamborine mountains (only a 10 minute drive or so up to the top of the mountains)

*Less expensive than some of the other places we looked at

*Staff were pretty friendly and helpful

*Food was pretty good and service was fast

*Tavern looks like a nice place to catch up with friends and have a drink at

Con's

*Not a very scenic location

*Office is rarely manned even during the day so we had to check in through the tavern which was packed when we arrived on a Sunday afternoon.

*The place had a DVD player in the rooms but had extra surcharges for them. My husband and I both found this a bit strange as most places we've stayed at don't charge for these (especially when the DVDS are a million years old).

*Rooms had little things wrong with it which management really should look at-In the room we stayed in the towel rail had come loose of its screws, the toilet seat wasn't put on properly and had to be fixed by my husband, the spa didn't look like it had been cleaned by the cleaner, the bed was really squeaky and there was a relatively big hole in the wall where someone had banged the door handle against it which should be fixed

The worst thing was the electricity saving devise they've installed in the rooms. Be aware that when you leave the room it automatically turns off all the electrical appliances in the room-including the fridge. My husband and I brought our own milk and a bit off food along with us and where shocked when we got back from a day out to find that all of it was warm. If your going to have that kind of system in place you need to warn people about it somewhere in writing.
.
Overall Comments

Good for an overnight stay but wouldn't recommend it for a romantic getaway or as a wedding venue.

Room Tip: The rooms all seem pretty similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alana8787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Bearded, Owner at The Bearded Dragon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Hello Alana8787,

Firstly let me thank you for taking the time to write your pro's and con's of our business. However we do prefer that you come and see us during your stay so that we can sort through your issues whilst you are hear at the hotel, rather than leaving unsatisfied.

Please let us now address your concerns below;

Although we may not be set on a small property on top of the mountain, we are set on have 110 acres of farm and bushland. We are siuated at the foothills of the mountain with lovely views right around the property.

As we are a small family owned business it is not always feasible to have someone in reception. As you checked in on a Sunday, it is all hands on deck, including reception staff. This does not comprimise the check in proceedure as all the required paper work and room keys are at the Tavern to ensure a speedy check in.

There is no extra charge for the use of your DVD player in the room. We provide a very reasonable rental fee for dvd's. We have a wide variety of new and older dvd's. We find that our guests enjoy watching the older movies that they havent seen for a while.

From time to time with the high occupancy levels hardware in the rooms become broken which we endevour to rectify as soon as possible. I must remind you if you had bought this to our attention during your stay we would have fixed this immediatly for you or alternativley moved you to another room. Since reading your guest comment card left in your room we have done a maintence check on the room. In relation to your comment about the spa, the water used at the Bearded Dragon Hotel is 100% spring water as there is no town water. Small amounts of sediment builds up and stains the jets area. As we run on bio cycle waste water septic system, we cannont use harsh chemicals. We have a fantastic housekeeping team and we strive to be as enviromentally friendly as possible.

In regards to the fridge, this is the first time this has been bought to our attention in the 11 years of ownership. The power supply for the fridge is seperate to that of the lights power tag. So this is not the reason why your fridge was 'warm'. Once again after reading your guest comment card we checked the fridge in your room and there was no problem in getting the water jug chilled down. Maybe someone had left the fridge door ajar?

I would also like to mention that we are a very popular wedding venue. With beautifully maicured gardens and a stunning ballroom for wedding receptions. Our function room is the largest in the Scenic Rim and we hold weddings here just about every weekend through out the year. Our Guests love our location with the old antiques and country vintage feel. It has everything a Bride and Groom could ask for ~ Accommodation, Ceremony and Reception Locations, Restaurant and Bar, Kids Playground and beautiful setting for photos.

Rooms are not all similar as we offer Queen Rooms, Twin Rooms, Family Rooms and a Bridal Suite with a four posted bed and double spa with seperate shower.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We have been a few times in the past and really enjoy the atmosphere of the place. Went today for my husbands birthday with a few friends. had a great spot outside on the deck. Enjoyed our meals. The band playing were awesome, playing a lot of our favorite songs from the past. Will be taking our visiting relatives when they come up from down south. We live in Jimboomba so the Dragon is very easy for us to get to.

Room Tip: Didnt stay over as we live close by
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidays1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Only stayed one night after purchasing an online deal voucher. It was really good value for money. The receptionist was very helpful and friendly. The room was nice and clean and had a spa bath in the bathroom.

The bed, although a little small, was clean and comfy.

We went to the adjacent bar for some wine and games of pool and that was fun, however noted that the restaurant prices were a little on the high side so decided to dine elsewhere. The meals that we did see people eat looked good though

The service at the bar was good, and the other patrons seemed well behaved. Quite well decorated with olden day stuff

We got a great night sleep and would recommend it as a quaint place to stay in a great region.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

OK it wasn't the get-away-from-it-all retreat in the heart of the mountains that I thought my local friends were taking me to - but we had more fun. And saw lots of birds when the daytrippers had gone and even more early the next morning. It was very pleasant sitting outside our rooms for a sundowner, after the live band had finished. We enjoyed the music & local "craic" too though - and the reptile show plus cane toad (not frog!!) racing even more. Staff couldn't have been more helpful - and we particularly enjoyed the beef pie.

Room Tip: I think they'd all be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Bearded, Owner at The Bearded Dragon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you SamOldfield we are delihgted to hear you enjoyed your stay! We pride ourselves on being the unique venue that we are! Thanks for letting us know how much you loved our Beef and Guiness Pie! It is one of our most popular dishes on the menu. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bearded Dragon Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Ordered the Guinness pie. It came out in a soup bowl with a piece of puff pastry on top. The reason they had to use a soup bowl is because of how runny it was. Very little meat with runny gravox. It's a good thing it came with mashed potatoes so I could soak up the watery gravy. My son ordered the ribs. Quite disappointed in the small serve. My other son ordered the burger. Overpriced, but at least it was fairly filling. My brother had been there for dinner two weeks before and said the servings were generous and his pie was good. Are lunch time serves smaller. I would not recommend anyone go there for a meal. Very overpriced for poor quality. They need to pick their act up.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tig48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeardedDragon01, Owner at The Bearded Dragon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear tig48

We are sorry you weren’t happy with your meals, we sell hundreds of guinness pies as they have been one of our signature dishes since we opened 15 years ago. We do not use gravox in this meal just to clarify. Our qualified team of chefs appreciate the courtesy of customers indicating problems with any meal whilst we are in a position to help. This is restaurant etiquette so that we can also help improve ourselves with a decent chance to resolve matters as when they arrive You should have mentioned it to staff for a replacement or so they could have dealt with your issues. Our prices are competitive and our popularity reflects that most people are very happy with our meal prices which reflect our country setting, ambience ,numerous antiques, staffing, free crocodile and reptile shows and free Live Entertainment on weekends. Most people comment on how large our portions are, often seeing 2 persons dining from 1 meal. We can’t compete with supermarket pub chains & clubs in Australia who subsidize their food prices with poker machine income & gambling ,fortunately most of our patrons appreciate our position and love pokie free venue. Feel free to contact our management team to discuss further using the appropriate old school channels that we of course prefer.

We serve over a thousand meals every week and pride ourselves in a good old fashioned service and please know we will always strive to improve our small Australian family owned business. It is of course becoming harder and harder to find hotels like ours these days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tamborine hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

for such a great location, and beautiful family pub setting its a down right shame that the owners of the bearded dragon would allow such over priced very low standard of food to be produced, would go back time and time again if the food was if a decent quality, until then, NO THANKS

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank cheffy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeardedDragon01, Owner at The Bearded Dragon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Hello cheffy79,

Thank you for your review. Obviously we might need a bit more information as your review is very general and offers no substance to what the problem was that led to said review. In order to address your comments ,did you stay in accommodation or only dine with us?

Which day did you visit us and did you mention any of your concerns to staff, as nothing was brought to our notice until this post. You don’t mention what you ordered ,and as we have a varied menu and over 1000 guests dining weekly we need to know details. Most customers are more than happy with our meals and prices ,and they understand that we are a family owned business ,who don’t have poker machines to subsidize our prices, and offer our country ambience and great antiques! Which we thank you for commenting on. Of course such attention to detail with our interiors & exteriors and such a large property with gardens and all associated costs being very high to maintain to a high level. Please feel free to contact us using the appropriate old school methods for business complaints or feedback so we can truly improve ourselves and give our staff a chance to put things right if they were involved. We do not advertise as the ritz carlton and are a country style pub that deserves normal complaint etiquette, sounds like you are a chef by your name so sure you would like the same courtesy from your dining establishments customers. We look forward to hearing from you direct to discuss this review ask to speak with someone from our management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamborine
5.2 mi away
Bungunyah Manor Resort
Bungunyah Manor Resort
#2 of 3 in North Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
3.6 mi away
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 8 in North Tamborine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
5.6 mi away
Wallaby Ridge Retreat
Wallaby Ridge Retreat
#2 of 7 in Canungra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Cedar Creek Lodges
Cedar Creek Lodges
#5 of 6 in North Tamborine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
24.2 mi away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
5.5 mi away
Lisson Grove
Lisson Grove
#1 of 3 in North Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bearded Dragon Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bearded Dragon Boutique Hotel

Property: The Bearded Dragon Boutique Hotel
Address: Lot 2 Tamborine Mountain Road, Tamborine, Queensland 4270, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Tamborine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tamborine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bearded Dragon Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bearded Dragon Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing