We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scratch the Surface!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stirrups Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bracknell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My husband and I booked a junior suite at this hotel for its charm and character. Their website shows a picture of a four poster bed with a separate seating area but states that not all the suites x 4 have a four poster. However when we arrived at the hotel we were given our key card and told to go out of the hotel, walk around the back and our room was in a separate building. When entering the room we were extremely disappointed. Where was the suite? We had a room with a small table and two chairs directly next to the bed. Where was the charm and character that the website promises from a country house hotel? There wasn't any, our "room" was very modern. On checking the website the room was clearly an executive room and not a suite (as it showed an image of our room on the executive room page). I rang reception where I was told that it was a suite and when I explained about the image on their website the receptionist said that they didn't have any suites available! Now on to dinner. My husband ordered scallops on the first night which had to be sent back to the kitchen as they were raw and cold in the middle. The following morning it was very icy and we had to walk round the hotel in our coats to get to breakfast. We arrived back at our room at 3.30pm to find it had not even been cleaned, the cleaner (waitress from breakfast) finally arrived at 3.55pm. Evening meal was fish and chips (which were frozen!). The lady who served us on the Saturday in the "restaurant" was very abrupt and not very pleasant at all. On our final day (thank god) we had to walk to breakfast in the pouring rain. When we checked out I explained our disappointment to the lady on reception who was rather curt and quite nonchalont about it. We had had a very difficult time prior to our visit and wanted to relax in a country house hotel not an outbuilding round the back. A very unpleasant experience and a complete waste of money. Had we been in the hotel which we assumed we had booked our experience may have been different. Why were we not notified that the room was in an outbuilding?

Room Tip: When booking ask where your room is situated i.e. main hotel or outbuilding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

A very pleasant hotel a bit off the beaten track but ideal for getting to a number of locations in the Thames valley. A great place for a short stay.
Evening meals reasonably priced but breakfast a bit expensive, 'though choice good.

Room Tip: All the rooms were quiet and had similar outlooks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This is the second year we have had lunch on Christmas Day at Stirrups. The atmosphere was lovely and the staff very welcoming and attentive. Our starters were excellent, but the main course (we both had the beef) was a little disappointing. However, the desserts certainly made up for this - outstanding. The visit by Father Christmas added to the fun and enjoyment !!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Whindboffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We held a family lunch at Stirrups yesterday. I have to compliment the staff who attended us. They were efficient without being intrusive and the young man in charge was so good with everyone and made a special effort with the children who attended. He deserves a special mention and my heartfelt thanks... You made it a special day for us.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank janeharris62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

we pre booked 2 rooms at this hotel everything was spotless dust free (i checked every where) staff were very helpful smart and polite nothing to much trouble the only downside was breakfast this was included in our tariff but if it was not it cost £12 50p we thought this was a little to high what we had was alright but not enough for the money also the coffee was not upto scratch but apart from that it was good and we would stay there again

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Went there last night and walked into a lovely room with warm glow from the fireplace and a good buzz. Had some drinks and then sat down to a great meal. Very good value and excellent service. Great selection of wines. Will happily go there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Friendly staff on arrival and looking forward to our 'Festive' Christmas lunch with friends, after hearing the very good reviews. My main meal was acceptable. BUT for those who had selected the, supposedly, Traditional Roast Turkey, the meal was very disappointing, it certainly was not up to a standard expected.The traditional roast turkey served - was three very tiny portions of white turkey meat placed on top of a slice of turkey meatroll, made up of dark bits and pieces, not nice, not enjoyable and with very limited veg. Would and could not recommend this choice. Our round of Christmas 'festive' dinner outings started a couple of weeks ago, which have been excellent and good value. All served a mince pie with coffee and mints, at end of meal. No such offer of mince pies at Stirrups. Sorry to say it was not festive and not good value. Shame.......you could have done a lot better.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank hartley09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bracknell
3.6 mi away
Hilton Bracknell
Hilton Bracknell
#5 of 7 in Bracknell
2,088 reviews
3.8 mi away
Coppid Beech Hotel
Coppid Beech Hotel
#7 of 7 in Bracknell
1,109 reviews
4.9 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,345 reviews
5.3 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
5.4 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stirrups Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stirrups Country House Hotel

Address: On the B 3022 Bracknell Road | Maidens Green Village, Bracknell RG42 6LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Bracknell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bracknell
Price Range: £78 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stirrups Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maidens Green Village ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stirrups Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stirrups Country Hotel
Stirrups Country House Hotel Bracknell, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing