We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Paul H

Fawlty towers revisited

Review of Stirrups Hotel
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Dec 2023
Twenty one years ago , we had our wedding reception at Stirrups, and this year in the summer had the wake for a relative at Stirrups, and both went very well. So for Christmas we thought ''lets go and stay there' they have a special Christmas deal. We were looking forward to our visit.
Well on the Christmas eve when we arrived we were rushed to our room by the receptionist, who pointed to where our room was and didn't explain when we would eat or where, Which was annoying. When we discovered where to and when we were shown a table , then left until we managed to get a waitresses attention to order drinks. Then eventually a waiter came for our food order, which came very quickly, maybe in five minutes. How did they cook it so fast. The staff were rude and avoided eye contact, at no time did we feel welcomed and there was no Christmas spirit at all.
On the plus side we had a nice room on the ground floor, but it was next to some kind of plant room and had a buzzing noise which went on all night, making sleeping difficult.
Christmas day went well with friendly and happy in the function room ,with Santa paying us a visit. But when we asked the bar staff a question they looked like we were inconveniencing them , making us feel awkward.
When were checking out we knew we had a bar bill to pay of about £30, the final bill the unfriendly receptionist gave us was £75!! Which we contested and looked at to see why they had charged us for our first evening meal even though this was included in our deal. This was rectified of course but not happily, So if I was you id check my bill closely, all in the staff are rude unhelpful, many of them had no idea when things were happening. We will never come and stay at this hotel again, a pity as it was so nice before.
Date of stay: December 2023
Room Tip: Check your bill.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£157
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £157
0.4 miles from Stirrups Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£54
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
3.6 miles from Stirrups Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
£71
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
3.8 miles from Stirrups Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Travelodge
  • ZenHotels.com
    £30
  • Algotels
2.2 miles from Stirrups Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Premier Inn bedroom
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Agoda.com
2.5 miles from Stirrups Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Trip.com
2.9 miles from Stirrups Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Vio.com
3.0 miles from Stirrups Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
3.0 miles from Stirrups Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.8 miles from Stirrups Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mould
    2.8 miles from Stirrups Hotel
    View more hotels in Bracknell
    Reviews (852)
    Filter reviews
    854 results
    Traveller rating
    613
    175
    45
    19
    2
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    613
    175
    45
    19
    2
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews coach house lovely grounds country house hotel stable block ascot suite wedding venue lovely hotel main building executive room would highly recommend this hotel visiting windsor lovely room family room good size ascot races ample parking lapland uk
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    39 - 44 of 854 reviews
    Reviewed 19 December 2023

    My family stayed here to visit Legoland, Windsor. It is only a five minute drive away. This was our second stay here. There was a function on so we were put in The Stables block, which was nice and quiet. My daughter loved the activity pack and the biscuits left for us in the room.

    We had dinner and breakfast here and both were lovely. Dinner was rather expensive but was excellent quality.

    Our room was well appointed, but we did not sleep well. The reason for this was that the mattress was very hard and so were the pillows. If these were improved, then I would give it five stars.

    Date of stay: December 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank 4902tracy
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 19 December 2023

    I booked this hotel for a one night stay as we were taking our 2 young girls to Lapland uk. Wish we stayed for 2 nights now. Hotel was absolutely beautiful, food was excellent (pricey, but so worth it!) the waiting staff literally couldn’t do enough for you!
    We stayed in a family room in the stables. Room exceeded our expectations. The hotel even set out an activity pack for both the girls on arrival, which they were so happy with.
    We also booked one of the pods for our evening meal, which was so beautiful. Includes heaters, blankets and a speaker to connect to play music, which was a really lovely touch.
    Would definitely recommend and return

    Date of stay: December 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Tara W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 12 December 2023

    The service and food were great. The bedroom not so. Could feel the springs on the matress. The pillows were lumpy apart from the middle which was floppy. Only two coat hangers in the wardrobe. Room was not warm despite the heating which was noisy above a certain temperature. In the shower could not get cold water, fixed that day. Noise from road and after hours departures was disturbing.

    Date of stay: December 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Sherpa14645720148
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 11 December 2023

    Stopped in the Ascot Suite. Lovely place. Super helpful staff. Perfect location for a visit to Lapland UK. Breakfast is excellent. Couple of key things let it down a bit for us though.
    1. It was a rainy, cold night and our plans of food and Christmas movies in the room were dashed as you cannot cast to the TVs. In addition to this, the TVs own channels kept cutting out. Pretty poor in this day and age.
    2. We didn’t find the beds very comfortable. I like a firm mattress but the main bed was too much, even for me. The sofa bed was so uncomfortable our son ended up in our bed.
    Shame as it really is a lovely place with great staff and food.
    Easy fixes to get a 5 star review.

    Date of stay: December 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank miguell57
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 11 December 2023 via mobile

    Lovely hotel, staff were excellent. Breakfast was very good lots of choices, the bar is welcoming and cozy.
    We stayed as a family whilst visiting Lapland. There was a wedding going the night we stayed, we were given a quiet area of the hotel and didn’t hear a thing.
    Would highly recommend

    Room tip: Plenty of parking, close to Windsor and Lapland Lovely staff Excellent breakfast Good value
    Date of stay: December 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank sarah w
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews