We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed expected better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in East Kilbride
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed expected better!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were visiting Glasgow for the Commonwealth games. East Kilbride is about 8 miles away by car and maybe 30 minutes on the train. So reasonably close, if we were to visit for a city-break then we'd pick a hotel in the centre of Glasgow.

We have used Holiday Inn and the express versions too and always been pleased. This is a Holiday Inn hotel, so should have the more traditional hotel service and facilities. I'd read a few reviews on trip advisor which suggested that the hotel was due a refresh, but that doesn't stop the service being good, the facilities being clean and tidy, the hotel did have a a gym and swimming pool.

Booking in was fine and the welcome at reception was friendly, ordered paper. We'd booked two rooms, our double room was spacious and looked clean and tidy. The bathroom was clean, except for the grouting and bath seals which needed work.

Bedding was clean and comfortable, AC unit, lighting a bit low, hot drinks, a bit lacking where were the biscuits and hot chocolate option. Struggled a bit with the TV which wouldn't switch onto a channel.

Tried the leisure facilities, which were top notch, cardio gym (rowing and running machines etc), a weights gym and a personal trainer area, plus full programme of classes, a swimming pool (too warm for swimming any distance), steam room, sauna and bubble pool.

Evening dining arrangements slightly bizarre, lounge menu which looked good, but eat at low coffee tables which were inappropriate and too few of, other furniture looked grubby or select from a limited restaurant menu at tables but looking at £100 for a meal for 4. We went to Zucco's in East Kilbride village, very good Italian.

Breakfast was chaotic on the Friday morning, food being replenished slowly, tabled not tidied, staff rushed off feet.

On the bathroom front, sink draining very very slowly, on the bedroom front the tv had to be replaced at about 11pm and a power supply socket bit loose and not working properly reported to reception and no paper had arrived as ordered!

Great day in Glasgow.

Reported faults not fixed and no update, tea/coffee not replenished. Breakfast on second day much better.

Overall very very average, not what i'd expect from holiday inn at the price we paid, badly needs a refresh which reception admitted, important service elements, room condition and cleanliness let this hotel down. Noted it was franchise style operation.

Room Tip: Give yourself time to use the leisure centre facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliveJT50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn East Kilbride, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Glasgow East Kilbride.

I am sorry to read that you experienced a few problems whilst staying with us. Please be assured your comments have been passed to the relevant departments for investigation and immediate rectifying.

Should you wish to return in the future please don't hesitate to contact me directly on reservationsmgr@hieastkilbride.com.

Kindest Regards

Scott Drury
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    241
    165
    64
    31
See reviews for
140
187
37
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Youlgreave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The bedroom was spacious and clean and as a stopover for the Commonwealth Games it fitted the bill perfectly. The receptionist showed how training and a friendly personality can provide a great welcome. We were given really good advice on public transport by her and rooms were available to us just after lunchtime. The buffet breakfast was fine and again the staff were friendly and efficient. It's not the most beautiful of locations but Hampden Park was accessible by bus in 20 minutes.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank WanderingBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn East Kilbride, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your positive review of the Holiday Inn Glasgow-East Kilbride.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kindest Regards

Scott Drury
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Very conveniently placed, as we were in the area for the Commonwealth Games and it was just 20 mins to the park & ride. Welcome was great, really friendly receptionist (Natalie) went out of her way to be welcoming. The room was a really good size, large bathroom, very comfortable bed, nice clean white bedding and towels. The room desperately needs a refurb though. Sockets were awkwardly placed, we had to plug the kettle in inside the wardrobe! The wardrobe door hinges needed some oil too, they were very squeaky. The room was reasonably clean but there were a few smudgy finger-marks on light switches etc. which is a bit off-putting. The inside of the ill-fitting shower door was black. I didn't investigate too closely so I don't know if it was mould or just age. The furniture, desk and tv cabinet, were scratched and scuffed. Outside the room, the doors between the different areas of the corridors were a bit grubby, the doorplates looked like they hadn't been cleaned for a while. Check-out was by another really pleasant receptionist (forgotten her name I'm afraid).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KABLancs_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerEastKilbride, Manager at Holiday Inn East Kilbride, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for posting your review after your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that you found our staff welcoming and enjoyed your stay. I appreciate your comments regarding the bedroom condition and we have started to refurbish our event and meeting rooms and the bedrooms will follow on next year.

I will review your comments regarding the general cleanliness of the corridor doors and shower cubicle you mention, as there are no excuses for a lapse in standards.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Bruce Robbie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyrone, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We didn't have a reservation but popped in to see if they had a room available as we were traveling through this area. The room was large, yes, but filthy! The only good thing I can say about our room is it had AC! Breakfast was good, and the staff pleasant, so maybe it was just bad service on the housekeeping, but I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone. If you do decide to stay here, check out the room first. Maybe if we had done that, we could have gotten a room that was indeed clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hansardccr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerEastKilbride, Manager at Holiday Inn East Kilbride, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for posting your review, I was pleased to read that you found our staff to be pleasant and our breakfast offering a good experience. There is no reason however for the bedroom to have been dirty, and for this I apologise. Please email me gm@hieastkilbride.com if you wish to discuss further and if you could provide the date you stayed, and room number that would be very useful so I can investigate further.

Kind regards

Bruce Robbie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these East Kilbride hotels

Inveraray
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed overnight here 21 June to attend a family event. First impressions of the building is as you would expect from a Holiday Inn. Foyer & Reception was warm and inviting and reception staff were pleasant and helpful. Our room was on the ground floor and easy to access. The room itself was spacious, clean and comfortable. Leisure facilities were uncrowded and enjoyable. Breakfast was a help yourself buffet, and there was plenty of fresh food available. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerEastKilbride, Manager at Holiday Inn East Kilbride, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive review on the hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Bruce Robbie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I would be fair to say that the staff were pleasant and helpful, however the whole place needs a good revamp. 70's wardrobes with dodgy rollers, old Tv units big enough to take a 1970 television!
As for broadband, I suspect this router is locked in the cellar and runs on ticker tape, setting up my phone on 3G gave speeds over 10 times faster. If you can find somewhere more modern, I would.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spearp1ke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerEastKilbride, Manager at Holiday Inn East Kilbride, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Many thanks for sharing your review. I was pleased to read that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful.

We are in the process of refurbishing our event and meeting rooms, and next year will begin on our bedrooms. I appreciate your comments regarding our Wi-Fi provision, it does at times struggle to cope when demand is high but we will shortly have a new fibre broadband line installed. This will eradicate any issues that our customers experience when trying to connect.

Kind regards

Bruce Robbie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanlockhead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed 2 nights on a spa break , which was excellent ,the room was roomy but needed a paint and bathroom grout needs clean ,dinner and breakfast were good just a little bit slow serving. Staff very friendy

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn East Kilbride, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing the hotel on Trip Advisor.

I am glad you enjoyed your Spa Break at the hotel; these are a popular way to relax & unwind for a few days.

Our refurbishment will continue with our bedrooms in late 2014 into 2015.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards
Scott Drury
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Kilbride
3.8 mi away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#3 of 7 in East Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#7 of 7 in East Kilbride
3.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow East Kilbride (Peel Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Busby Hotel
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
2.0 mi away
Torrance Hotel
Torrance Hotel
#4 of 7 in East Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow East Kilbride Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn East Kilbride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn East Kilbride

Property: Holiday Inn East Kilbride
Address: Stewartfield Way, East Kilbride G74 5LA, Scotland (Formerly Hilton)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > East Kilbride
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in East Kilbride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn East Kilbride 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Glasgow-East Kilbride, with its air conditioned guestrooms, is centrally located in the bustling town of East Kilbride just 7 miles from Glasgow city centre. The motorway network is easily accessible too, as are Glasgow International & Prestwick Airports. East Kilbride has lots to do; visit East Kilbride Shopping Centre, one of Scotland s largest, stroll the cobbled streets of the old village or there s Calderglen Country Park. There s also golf, ten pin bowling, a cinema and ice rink. M&D s Theme Park and Hampden Park, Scotland s National Stadium are close by too. Why not head to Glasgow for Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Glasgow Science Centre or some of the best shopping outside London. If you re in Glasgow or East Kilbride on business, our air conditioned meeting rooms for up to 400 delegates plus high speed Internet access throughout the hotel create the perfect working space. Complimentary for guests, our impressive Health Central Leisure Club, with its indoor pool, is perfect for unwinding. Our restaurant brings casual, relaxed dining to East Kilbrides restaurant scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn East Kilbride reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn East Kilbride Hotel East Kilbride
East Kilbride Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn East Kilbride Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing