We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very low standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in East Kilbride
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very low standard”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My first impression, when entering the hotel grounds was a busy car park, half taken up by visitors to the gym, underneath a busy flyover. Upon checking it appeared that something was wrong with my booking for my second night stay and as there was no room available for the second night I found that I had to curtail my visit to East Kilbride. The room was very large and airy but it was not very clean, particular underneath the window. The pillows on the bed looked as if someone had lain on it and there was also a pair of ladies shoes next to the sofa and some ladies hair accessories in the shower cubicle so it appeared that the room had not been cleaned properly as these things would have otherwise been found by the cleaner. The furniture in the room were scratched and below standard and the duvet was just like a thin blanket. The evening meal was cold and mediocre and the dishes and glasses were dirty. The dated hairdryer had been mended with sellotape. Overall a very bad experience and personally I will not be using this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you want a clean room with good food and clean dishes, use another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabrielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn East Kilbride, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Glasgow-East Kilbride.

I am extremely sorry to read that you experienced issues during your stay. Please be assured that your comments are taken seriously and passed to the relevant teams for immediate resolution.

Kindest Regards

Scott Drury
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    249
    169
    66
    32
See reviews for
148
200
37
187
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on business and initially you think it looks ok but realised quite quickly that things need updating and renovating- I heard the road noise most of the night- you can see where a radiator had been removed but pipe work left exposed- the worse part was the service in the restaurant which at best was slow- breakfast tasted good but I agree with other reviewers that they were slow to replenish- the breakfast cooking area looked dirty- we never even got offered any tea or coffee for the whole time we were in the restaurant - I just felt unclean the whole time and was glad I was only staying the night

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemmyjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn East Kilbride, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Glasgow-East Kilbride on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry to read that your stay did not live us to the usual standards that the Holiday Inn Glasgow-East Kilbride deliver.

Should you wish to return again in the future please don't hesitate to contact me directly on reservationsmgr@hieastkilbride.com

Kindest Regards

Scott Drury
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, UK
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Paid for an executive room (My birthday and Commonwealth Games) and specifically asked for a very quiet room away from traffic. We had been upgraded to a junior suite (nothing special just large) but then realised that it was a very noisy room from traffic and to make it worse one of the windows didn't shut. Instead had to accept a very average twin which was on a very quiet side of the hotel. Whilst changing rooms there was a massive queue at reception and the girl was on her own, looked stressed and had no help. No refund offered as we had booked via a booking side and just given a few extra IHG points (not worth very much). Had to ask for the executive extras that we had paid for but some of these were not provided the next day. The first morning we asked for the dead flies to be hoovered; one was, but the corner with another fly and thick with dust wasn't touched nor were other dusty corners. The corridor wasn't cleaned either as the same large dead moth was still on the stairs 2 days later along with a lot of bits on the carpets. Showered the 2nd morning only to realise that we had only been left 1 towel. Breakfast service was appalling, basic items such as bread, croissants, dishes, juices etc were not replenished unless customers asked. How can a hotel that knows it is busy run out of basics such as orange juice? On 2nd morning my soft poached egg was hard and when I finally found staff to mention it to there was no apology, just a stare. Supposed to be 4* but with thing like dirty shower curtain, just one bedside table, non matching 1 cup and 1 mug for tea, tiny water glasses, wi-fi not connecting etc, its hardly 2* The final straw was on checking the room on departure we found a dirty screwed up towel that wasn't ours under the bed and must have been there the whole of our stay! Don't bother staying here ! Our other two hotels for the Games were far better and not even classed as 4*.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mintey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn East Kilbride, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Glasgow-East Kilbride.

I am sorry to read that you were dissatisfied with your stay however I am aware that our general manager has been in contact to discuss the issues further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Stopped here whilst attending the Commonwealth Games for one night.
Paid £155 for B&B which seemed a bit steep at the time!
Given a warm welcome and initially pleased with the room.
Then it all started to go a bit wrong.
Temperature tap in the bath wasn't fitted properly so my partner had to have a cold shower.
We informed reception and I suggested I would have a shower in the leisure facilities in the morning.
Bedside lamp then didn't work.
Once over at the leisure facilities the jacuzzi was closed off.
The closer you look the more obvious it is that the whole place needs a makeover. The paint on the walls in the ladies toilet in reception is flaking and the toilet handle in the men's falls off.
We had to wait for a clean table at breakfast, there must have been at least 15 that needed clearing. There seemed to only be 3 waiting staff (who were all very apologetic and pleasant) who were rushed off their feet and just couldn't keep up.
All our problems were reported and the nice lady on reception credited us with a free nights stay.
We will be redeeming this elsewhere.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Annieb1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn East Kilbride, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Glasgow-East Kilbride on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry to read that you experienced several issues during your stay however I am pleased to read you were satisfied with the attempts made by our reception team to restore your faith in the Holiday Inn East Kilbride.

Please be assured your comments are taken on board and shared with our team to ensure similar issues do not occur in the future.

Kindest Regards

Scott Drury
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wythall
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have stopped at this hotel for 2 days and had to ask for the room to be cleaned as there was lots of hair and grips over the floor. the bathrooms are smelly and full of mould.
The rooms are very dated and not particularly clean

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KH1Wythall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn East Kilbride, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Glasgow-East Kilbride.

In order to investigate further please could I ask for you to email me directly on reservationsmgr@hieastkilbride.com so we can have our team investigate the issue in your particular room.

Kindest Regards

Scott Drury
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were visiting Glasgow for the Commonwealth games. East Kilbride is about 8 miles away by car and maybe 30 minutes on the train. So reasonably close, if we were to visit for a city-break then we'd pick a hotel in the centre of Glasgow.

We have used Holiday Inn and the express versions too and always been pleased. This is a Holiday Inn hotel, so should have the more traditional hotel service and facilities. I'd read a few reviews on trip advisor which suggested that the hotel was due a refresh, but that doesn't stop the service being good, the facilities being clean and tidy, the hotel did have a a gym and swimming pool.

Booking in was fine and the welcome at reception was friendly, ordered paper. We'd booked two rooms, our double room was spacious and looked clean and tidy. The bathroom was clean, except for the grouting and bath seals which needed work.

Bedding was clean and comfortable, AC unit, lighting a bit low, hot drinks, a bit lacking where were the biscuits and hot chocolate option. Struggled a bit with the TV which wouldn't switch onto a channel.

Tried the leisure facilities, which were top notch, cardio gym (rowing and running machines etc), a weights gym and a personal trainer area, plus full programme of classes, a swimming pool (too warm for swimming any distance), steam room, sauna and bubble pool.

Evening dining arrangements slightly bizarre, lounge menu which looked good, but eat at low coffee tables which were inappropriate and too few of, other furniture looked grubby or select from a limited restaurant menu at tables but looking at £100 for a meal for 4. We went to Zucco's in East Kilbride village, very good Italian.

Breakfast was chaotic on the Friday morning, food being replenished slowly, tabled not tidied, staff rushed off feet.

On the bathroom front, sink draining very very slowly, on the bedroom front the tv had to be replaced at about 11pm and a power supply socket bit loose and not working properly reported to reception and no paper had arrived as ordered!

Great day in Glasgow.

Reported faults not fixed and no update, tea/coffee not replenished. Breakfast on second day much better.

Overall very very average, not what i'd expect from holiday inn at the price we paid, badly needs a refresh which reception admitted, important service elements, room condition and cleanliness let this hotel down. Noted it was franchise style operation.

Room Tip: Give yourself time to use the leisure centre facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliveJT50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn East Kilbride, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Glasgow East Kilbride.

I am sorry to read that you experienced a few problems whilst staying with us. Please be assured your comments have been passed to the relevant departments for investigation and immediate rectifying.

Should you wish to return in the future please don't hesitate to contact me directly on reservationsmgr@hieastkilbride.com.

Kindest Regards

Scott Drury
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youlgreave, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The bedroom was spacious and clean and as a stopover for the Commonwealth Games it fitted the bill perfectly. The receptionist showed how training and a friendly personality can provide a great welcome. We were given really good advice on public transport by her and rooms were available to us just after lunchtime. The buffet breakfast was fine and again the staff were friendly and efficient. It's not the most beautiful of locations but Hampden Park was accessible by bus in 20 minutes.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank WanderingBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn East Kilbride, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your positive review of the Holiday Inn Glasgow-East Kilbride.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kindest Regards

Scott Drury
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Kilbride
2.0 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#7 of 7 in East Kilbride
384 reviews
3.8 mi away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#4 of 7 in East Kilbride
1,417 reviews
2.0 mi away
Torrance Hotel
Torrance Hotel
#3 of 7 in East Kilbride
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Busby Hotel
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
651 reviews
7.2 mi away
Dalmeny Park Country House Hotel
3.9 mi away
Parklands Hotel & Country Club
Parklands Hotel & Country Club
#2 of 2 in Newton Mearns
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn East Kilbride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn East Kilbride

Property: Holiday Inn East Kilbride
Address: Stewartfield Way, East Kilbride G74 5LA, Scotland (Formerly Hilton)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > East Kilbride
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in East Kilbride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn East Kilbride 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Glasgow-East Kilbride, with its air conditioned guestrooms, is centrally located in the bustling town of East Kilbride just 7 miles from Glasgow city centre. The motorway network is easily accessible too, as are Glasgow International & Prestwick Airports. East Kilbride has lots to do; visit East Kilbride Shopping Centre, one of Scotland s largest, stroll the cobbled streets of the old village or there s Calderglen Country Park. There s also golf, ten pin bowling, a cinema and ice rink. M&D s Theme Park and Hampden Park, Scotland s National Stadium are close by too. Why not head to Glasgow for Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Glasgow Science Centre or some of the best shopping outside London. If you re in Glasgow or East Kilbride on business, our air conditioned meeting rooms for up to 400 delegates plus high speed Internet access throughout the hotel create the perfect working space. Complimentary for guests, our impressive Health Central Leisure Club, with its indoor pool, is perfect for unwinding. Our restaurant brings casual, relaxed dining to East Kilbrides restaurant scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Inn East Kilbride reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn East Kilbride Hotel East Kilbride
East Kilbride Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn East Kilbride Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing