We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty”
Review of Bruce Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bruce Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in East Kilbride
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The room was In a terrible state, and smelt odd the desk was sticky to the touch, when checking in I was handed the key fob which was falling apart and I asked if this reflected the state of the room, the receptionist went evasive to say the least. Once I was in the toilet/room I asked about an upgrade to a refurbished room, apparently they were all in use.

If you have no other choice I suppose its an option but its the worst room I have had since I Stayed at a cheap hotel near Heathrow, and that was bad.

Room Tip: Try a refurbished room they should be ok I think?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali1234I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas D, Manager at Bruce Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Ali 12341,

We are working our way through all the bedrooms and as you can imagine it does take time.

I hope you will stay again when next in the area and ask that you contact myself when I will ensure you receive an upgraded room.

Jim McCann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Bedrooms need refurbished but the beds were ok to sleep in. Staff friendly and rooms are clean enough lifts very old. Not the best but not the worst either. Hotel is ok for a short stay. My sisters upgrade looked more like a standard.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank CLARK F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas D, Manager at Bruce Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear CLARK F,

We are very much a 'work in progress' but as you have seen by the public areas we are getting there !

I thank you for your comments regarding the staff and will ensure that they are passed on.

Jim McCann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed in the hotel around 8 years ago and stayed last weekend it was all the same! Rooms were terrible, with headboard missing, cracked toilet bowel, just awful. Gaffer tape on the stairs, water stains everywhere. Never again.

Room Tip: Stay at the Premier Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas D, Manager at Bruce Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Shane G,

I apologise for your recent disappointment. The hotel is undergoing refurbishment at present and it is work in progress. I hope however that you were impressed by the public areas refurbishment which you will have experienced during your visit.

Jim McCann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I had a great night with a group of 16 friends for a three course meal and tribute act.The meal was excellent and great value for money. The location was easy to get to using public transport which stopped just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas D, Manager at Bruce Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Maureen C,

I am delighted that you enjoyed the tribute night, they have become really popular !

Don't forget to keep an eye on our website for all the forthcoming events.

I look forward to welcoming you to the Bruce again in the near future.

Jim McCann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Skye Lounge is part of the hotel. For those, like myself, who must follow a gluten free diet, this place has an extensive GF menu, without compromising on taste. Wonderful
I will be back, and often.
From wonderful indian Curries, Chilli Con Carne.. Meals i cannot always eat, in Restaurants.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank billymcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas D, Manager at Bruce Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Billymcc,

I am delighted that you had such a positive experience during your recent visit to the hotel. I can only imagine how restricted it can be when you dine out having dietary requirements.

Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Jim McCann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

stayed here on the 24/05/14.we were allocated 202.This was supposed to be a double room .The bed was a small double,there was only one bedside table and the bathroom was tiny with no bath and tiles broken.The room was shabby with old worn furniture and was only left one bathtowel.
next morning the maid woke us up at 9am by vacuuming and tryed to get into our room and was also knocking other doors even though checkout is at 11am.I sent an email to the hotel to complain and I have heard nothing back as yet.

1  Thank char271
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Douglas D, Manager at Bruce Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Char271,

I am extremely disappointed that I did not receive your e-mail as I make a point of personally answering any e-mails sent to the hotel, I will certainly investigate this matter.

I apologise for your experience and have taken steps to ensure that there should be no reoccurrence of these housekeeping problems in the future.

In the meantime could I please ask if you could re send your original e mail.

Jim McCann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Ok, max 3 stars, (Overall). We have been there with a Group.
It is clean, but the rooms are shabby. Inside it is a little better than it looks from the outside.
It is clean, but the rooms are shabby.
The TV is, because of the size, hardly worth mentioning. The number of programs is limited. They only offer national programs.
However, the mattresses are Ok
The staff is friendly but understaffed. During the dinner, it is quite difficult to get drinks from the bar. So you should absolutely take sufficient drinks in the dining room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pittivomdorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas D, Manager at Bruce Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Many thanks for taking time to review the hotel.

The hotel is in the process of a refurbishment programme and unfortunately you did not get the opportunity to experience one of our refurbished rooms. I am delighted that you found our standard of cleanliness to be of a high standard and would hope that you will visit the hotel in the future when I will ensure that you receive a refurbished bedroom.

Jin McCann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Kilbride
2 mi away
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
#6 of 7 in East Kilbride
729 reviews
0.5 mi away
Torrance Hotel
Torrance Hotel
#3 of 7 in East Kilbride
735 reviews
1.9 mi away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#5 of 7 in East Kilbride
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow East Kilbride (Peel Park) Hotel
9.1 mi away
Dalmeny Park Country House Hotel
4.3 mi away
Kings Park Hotel
Kings Park Hotel
#84 of 93 in Glasgow
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bruce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruce Hotel

Address: 35 Cornwall Street, East Kilbride G74 1BU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > East Kilbride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in East Kilbride
Price Range: £31 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bruce Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please allow us some time to bring the old lady back to its Halcyon days. We are making our way round the hotel & night club and re furbishing as we go .Reception has been totaly changes. We have re instated a new restaurant GUY`s on the first floor with some amazing house specials. Our Grand ball room has also had a face lift as is the conference suites.Please try our new SKYE Lounge & Club perfect to party thr night away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bruce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bruce Hotel East Kilbride, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing