We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Torrance Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Torrance Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in East Kilbride
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

First visit enjoyed food. Staff very friendly and attentive. Live music in bar area good atmosphere.Will definitely be back. Have recommended to friends for next night out.well done to all staff keep up the good work.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen E, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for your comments I will pass them on to the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    126
    93
    58
    58
See reviews for
179
182
13
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peterculter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Made this last minute booking a couple of days before arriving for the League cup final and what a find! The staff were so friendly and helpful. We had 2 meals during our stay and the food was amazing, our steaks were cooked to perfection and reasonably priced, we chose the surf and turf option (£25). We had a family room which was spacious and nicely designed, loved the TV in the bathroom which was also a mirror. Location wise, it took approx 20-25 mins in a taxi to reach the city centre in Glasgow, the hotel recommended a local taxi firm so cost wise it's around £15-£17.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen E, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for commenting on your stay with us it is nice to hear how a last minute decision to stay with us was as great
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This is our second visit to the Torrance in the last few months. The room this time was just as good as last time - very comfortable bed. We had Room 1 which is the nearest one to Reception and I was concerned that the noise from the bar (just on the other side of reception) would be a problem. It was not. Didn't hear anything which was great.

I have two issues about this visit:

1. They pre-charge your credit card for £30 per person for drinks charged to your room and mini bar. We were there with our 14 year old son so they wanted to pre-charege the £119 for the room and also £90 for charges to the room. This is extreme. We didn't charge anything to our room. I complained at check in and they only pre-chareged for the room and £30 for extras.
2. Breakfast wasn't great. My wife and son ordered scrambled eggs and salmon on crumpet and were served scrambled egg on toast. We were in a rush so didn't complain. My eggs benedict was just average

The guy on Reception is a bit of a star though - one of these people that just knows how to chat.

We will be back - but a bit variable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen E, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for your comments. The charge we allocate on your arrival is company procedure and this allows you to be able to charge food and drink to your room.
Our food comes out as per spec and I have passed your comments to the chef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLASGOW
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Great staff, attentive service. We had a visitor from China with us and they even made a special plate of Haggis, Neeps & Tatties which went down a treat. Overall, the bar staff & restaurant staff, food & setting were all very good for business & pleasure

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEWHORIZONSGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen E, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for your comments about our restaraunt.
We are pleased we were able to make your visitor as all visitors welcome and they experienced a little bit of Scotland on a plate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2014

As a birthday treat we stayed at the torrance what a fantastic time we had haven't stayed in a nicer room in Scotland ever totally luxurious & built for romance as well as perfect relaxation . Food delicious steak mushroom sauce tongue teaser & fantastic cocktails. staff know how to deliver warm friendly persona all where fab Fawn was a delight to deal with & the torrance stands alone for us Thankyou for the terrific experience to all staff see you again soon .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chezza75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen E, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and we are pleased your stay was so enjoyable.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Torrance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I posted this review initially under the Torrance restaurant but feel it is more suited to the Torrance Hotel reviews .....
We arranged a surprise 70th birthday/golden wedding anniversary party for my parents. Just want to thank the staff at the Torrance hotel for making the evening go without a hitch. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We had April running our event on the night and she was fabulous. She ensured all our requests were dealt with and made my parents feel very special. She is a credit to the hotel and I hope they recognise/appreciate her professionalism.

If there was any criticism it would be in relation to some of the food. Some guests mentioned the beef was a little tough and the veg was a bit undercooked. However, this was a minor issue and did not spoil our evening at all.

I would definitely recommend this venue for a celebration.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen E, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you for your comments about our venue. We are glad April made your parents evening go smoothly along with the other staff on duty and hope if you visit us again your experience will be as memorable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

It is a long time since I stayed here and I was extremely surprised at how much the place has changed. My room was fabulous even including a Bose dock. Decoration was nice and reception staff were pleasant. None of this was the case on my previous visit when it was just above a hovel. I have a friend who lives locally who suggested I tried it again and I'm glad I did. I didn't eat her on this occasion but will definitely stay here when I'm next in the area

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen E, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are proud of the quality of the refurbishment that has been done to this hotel and hope your next visit will be as pleasant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Kilbride
3.6 mi away
Busby Hotel
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
654 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#7 of 7 in East Kilbride
384 reviews
2.3 mi away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#4 of 7 in East Kilbride
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
#6 of 7 in East Kilbride
692 reviews
9.1 mi away
Dalmeny Park Country House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Crossbasket Castle
Crossbasket Castle
#1 of 1 in Blantyre
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torrance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrance Hotel

Property: Torrance Hotel
Address: 135 Main Street | The Village, East Kilbride G74 4LN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > East Kilbride
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in East Kilbride
#3 Romantic Hotel in East Kilbride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Torrance Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming traditional village hotel in walking distance to Scotland's largest undercover shopping and leisure centre in East Kilbride. East Kilbride has many local attractions including Village Theatre, Golf Courses, Ten Pin Bowling, Ice Skating, Odeon Cinema and is only 7 miles from Glasgow city centre. Built in 1773 by General Stuart of Torrance as a cotton-spinning mill and workers' houses the building in Torrance Square provided a focus for town life. In its many incarnations the popular Torrance Hotel has also housed a school, a shop and a Coaching Inn, but it has always been at the heart of East Kilbride. The building has retained all its original character and charm. We have 20 comfortable bedrooms including the newly refurbished Honeymoon Suite for 2007. Enjoy a meal in our warm and friendly restaurant or lounge bar which caters for a wide range of food from traditional meals to bar snacks. We are a 5 minute walk from the local train station which will take you straight into Glasgow's Central Station which runs every half hour. If more information is required then do not hesitate to ask our friendly receptionist staff. We would like to advise guests that there will be no bar or restaurant facilities for the next 4 months. We are undergoing a major refurbishment to improve the services to the guests in the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Torrance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrance Hotel East Kilbride, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing