We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jim and Lynda McKinlay. Excellence above and beyond.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Torrance Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Torrance Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in East Kilbride
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Jim and Lynda McKinlay. Excellence above and beyond.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

My wife and I were invited to a friends wedding and decided to book in for two nights. If we had not needed to get back we could have stayed. What can one say about a beautiful Hotel, excellent food and brilliant staff. The bar manager (Brendan I think) was first class, friendly and very attentive. Kevin, the next morning at breakfast was great craic and very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The same could be said of ALL the staff as they could not do enough for you. An answer and help was there for every question. Would we go back, you bet, at the drop of a hat. Loved it end of. Can not say enough to extol this Hotel.
P.S. We never used the fitness centre

Room Tip: Room 1 which is the one my wife and I had and would advise anybody with disability to grab it.Quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen E, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you very much for your comments we are very pleased that you found our hotel so beautiful and the staff very helpful. I will pass your comments on to the staff. p.s. We don't have a fitness centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    115
    83
    48
    50
See reviews for
155
149
12
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

I had a lovely stay at this hotel.
It was faultless.
Good food, service and very friendly.
Lovely refurbishment.
Wish I could have stayed longer.
Must mention breakfast.
It was fantastic and served by the most cheerful character I have seen in the morning.
Keep up the good work and good luck in the future.
Worth it for the every aspect
Especially the cheerful breakfast service and the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen E, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about our hotel and staff. We are so pleased you enjoyed yourself and will pass on the comments to the chef and Kevin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

First visit enjoyed food. Staff very friendly and attentive. Live music in bar area good atmosphere.Will definitely be back. Have recommended to friends for next night out.well done to all staff keep up the good work.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen E, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for your comments I will pass them on to the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterculter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Made this last minute booking a couple of days before arriving for the League cup final and what a find! The staff were so friendly and helpful. We had 2 meals during our stay and the food was amazing, our steaks were cooked to perfection and reasonably priced, we chose the surf and turf option (£25). We had a family room which was spacious and nicely designed, loved the TV in the bathroom which was also a mirror. Location wise, it took approx 20-25 mins in a taxi to reach the city centre in Glasgow, the hotel recommended a local taxi firm so cost wise it's around £15-£17.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen E, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for commenting on your stay with us it is nice to hear how a last minute decision to stay with us was as great
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

This is our second visit to the Torrance in the last few months. The room this time was just as good as last time - very comfortable bed. We had Room 1 which is the nearest one to Reception and I was concerned that the noise from the bar (just on the other side of reception) would be a problem. It was not. Didn't hear anything which was great.

I have two issues about this visit:

1. They pre-charge your credit card for £30 per person for drinks charged to your room and mini bar. We were there with our 14 year old son so they wanted to pre-charege the £119 for the room and also £90 for charges to the room. This is extreme. We didn't charge anything to our room. I complained at check in and they only pre-chareged for the room and £30 for extras.
2. Breakfast wasn't great. My wife and son ordered scrambled eggs and salmon on crumpet and were served scrambled egg on toast. We were in a rush so didn't complain. My eggs benedict was just average

The guy on Reception is a bit of a star though - one of these people that just knows how to chat.

We will be back - but a bit variable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen E, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for your comments. The charge we allocate on your arrival is company procedure and this allows you to be able to charge food and drink to your room.
Our food comes out as per spec and I have passed your comments to the chef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Great staff, attentive service. We had a visitor from China with us and they even made a special plate of Haggis, Neeps & Tatties which went down a treat. Overall, the bar staff & restaurant staff, food & setting were all very good for business & pleasure

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEWHORIZONSGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen E, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for your comments about our restaraunt.
We are pleased we were able to make your visitor as all visitors welcome and they experienced a little bit of Scotland on a plate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

As a birthday treat we stayed at the torrance what a fantastic time we had haven't stayed in a nicer room in Scotland ever totally luxurious & built for romance as well as perfect relaxation . Food delicious steak mushroom sauce tongue teaser & fantastic cocktails. staff know how to deliver warm friendly persona all where fab Fawn was a delight to deal with & the torrance stands alone for us Thankyou for the terrific experience to all staff see you again soon .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chezza75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen E, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and we are pleased your stay was so enjoyable.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Torrance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Kilbride
3.6 mi away
Busby Hotel
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
13.8 mi away
Lynnhurst Hotel
Lynnhurst Hotel
#1 of 1 in Johnstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
2.3 mi away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#3 of 7 in East Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#7 of 7 in East Kilbride
3.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
4.9 mi away
Redhurst Hotel
Redhurst Hotel
#54 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
11.9 mi away
Normandy Hotel
Normandy Hotel
#3 of 3 in Renfrew
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torrance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrance Hotel

Property: Torrance Hotel
Address: 135 Main Street | The Village, East Kilbride G74 4LN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > East Kilbride
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in East Kilbride
#3 Romantic Hotel in East Kilbride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Torrance Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming traditional village hotel in walking distance to Scotland's largest undercover shopping and leisure centre in East Kilbride. East Kilbride has many local attractions including Village Theatre, Golf Courses, Ten Pin Bowling, Ice Skating, Odeon Cinema and is only 7 miles from Glasgow city centre. Built in 1773 by General Stuart of Torrance as a cotton-spinning mill and workers' houses the building in Torrance Square provided a focus for town life. In its many incarnations the popular Torrance Hotel has also housed a school, a shop and a Coaching Inn, but it has always been at the heart of East Kilbride. The building has retained all its original character and charm. We have 20 comfortable bedrooms including the newly refurbished Honeymoon Suite for 2007. Enjoy a meal in our warm and friendly restaurant or lounge bar which caters for a wide range of food from traditional meals to bar snacks. We are a 5 minute walk from the local train station which will take you straight into Glasgow's Central Station which runs every half hour. If more information is required then do not hesitate to ask our friendly receptionist staff. We would like to advise guests that there will be no bar or restaurant facilities for the next 4 months. We are undergoing a major refurbishment to improve the services to the guests in the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Torrance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrance Hotel East Kilbride, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing