We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what East Kilbride Needs”
Review of Torrance Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Torrance Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in East Kilbride
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just what East Kilbride Needs”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I have visted The Torrance Hotel on several occassions on social evenings and Sunday Lunch.
I took my mum for her 60th Birthday and the staff could not have been more pleasant and attentive.
They made my mum feel special and confrimed why I think its the best place to go to in East Kilbride.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen E, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Happy birthday to your mum and we are glad that we made her birthday even more special.
We are pleased that you have had a lovely time on each of your visits. The Management and staff are very proud of the refurbishment the hotel has gone through and as most of us are local agree it is what East Kilbride needs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    121
    86
    54
    55
See reviews for
166
164
13
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Love the torrance for a drink especially on a Sunday afternoon, but staff are very slow at clearing table its a bit annoying being surrounded with your own and other people's glasses all the time. Staff very pleasant so no complaints there.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angel221166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen E, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hi Angela, Thank you for your comments about our hotel.

I am glad that you like to visit us regularily and apologise for the times the staff are not clearing up when they should be. I can only hope the tables were not cleared because they were having a busy bar trade that day.

Look forward to welcoming you on your next visit and with clear tables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed here for 1 night on business in a King Room. From the outset the staff were warm and welcoming with a wonderful "can do" attitude. Nothing was too much trouble, quite rare these days.

The hotel has obviously undergone a very extensive refurbishment programme, very Malmaisonesq. The rooms were beautifully presented, modern with quality fittings and whilst quite small the bathroom was stunning....only downside were the towels were also small!

I ordered from the pre-theatre menu and had room service with no additional cost, another plus! The chicken liver parfait was probably one if the best I have ever eaten, not sure if they make it or buy it in, but delicious, for main I had liver with mash and onion gravy, cooked beautifully and delicious.

I would not hesitate staying at The Torrance again. Well done for getting it right!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balimoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen E, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your comments on our lovely hotel we are pleased your stay was so good.
Our food is all freshly cooked inhouse and I will pass your comments to the chef and to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothwell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I visited the Torrance bar on Saturday night with my friend for a drink. It was very busy and we could not find a seat straight away. We ended joining another table as they allowed us to sit at the end of there table. A table next to them became vacant and they offered it to us. We sat there a good half hour, when a waiter approached us to state the table was reserved and has been since 7pm. It was 8.45 at this point and no reserved sign was visible. He was very obnoxious in his attitude towards us. When I asked where the reserved sign was he poked about the menu and came up with a piece of paper stating reserved and advised someone must have put it there. He then stood over us with his cleaning materials waiting for us to move. I then complained to another member of staff who advised you are able to call during the week and pay to reserve a table. I have never heard anything so crazy in all my life, its a bar. I will never frequent this establishment again and will make sure as many of my friends and family are aware of how this Hotel treats its customers.

Room Tip: Do not bother, choose somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geraldine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen E, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear guest thank you for your review.

We have investigated your comments following your visit to the Torrance Bar and would like to comment as follows; every week within the bar there are a number of guest who reserve tables for a particular time, however on various occasions we will have customers who will remove the ‘Reserved’ sign and sit at the table . However as these areas have been reserved by guests we do generally have to ask the customers sitting on the table to relocate to another area within the bar. We apologise if you feel that the attitude of the member of staff was not to your liking, however staff do usually have to wait until the customer moves so we can get the table/area cleaned as quickly as possible to ensure its ready for customers who have already prebooked the table/area.

The deposit that we take from guests is to book an area/table within the bar on a Saturday night for parties as this is the busiest night we have and can’t allow areas to be closed off all evening without the customers deciding then not to show. The deposit ensures that the area will be utilised and when the customer arrives they are refunded their deposit that they have paid prior.

We are very sorry if you feel you had a bad experience. However, should you wish to return in the future please call us and we can pre book you an area/table within our bar. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel within the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I have been to the Torrance hotel and drank in the bar on several occasions. This is the first time I have been treated in such an unpleasant manner. My friend and I decided to have a drink in the Bar on Saturday evening. When we arrived we shared a table with a group of people. Within 20 mins a couple had decided to leave and asked if we wanted the table next to where we were sitting. Fantastic!!! we thought...after sitting down for more than half an hour. A rather unpleasant waiter came up to our table and abruptly said you will need to move as this table has been reserved at 7pm. (at this point the time was 8:50pm) we advised the rather irate waiter that there was no reserve sign. He then proceeded to go to the back of the menu and produced a reserve sign. (he looked at us in disgust assuming that we had put in there). He then proceeded to stand over us with his cleaning product waiting on us to move. I have never came across such an obnoxiuos attitude within the service industry. We left the bar totally disgusted after spending our money and time!! WILL NEVER BE BACK!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen E, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear guest thank you for your review.

We have investigated your comments following your visit to the Torrance Bar and would like to comment as follows; every week within the bar there are a number of guest who reserve tables for a particular time, however on various occasions we will have customers who will remove the ‘Reserved’ sign and sit at the table . However as these areas have been reserved by guests we do generally have to ask the customers sitting on the table to relocate to another area within the bar. We apologise if you feel that the attitude of the member of staff was not to your liking, however staff do usually have to wait until the customer moves so we can get the table/area cleaned as quickly as possible to ensure its ready for customers who have already prebooked the table/area.

The deposit that we take from guests is to book an area/table within the bar on a Saturday night for parties as this is the busiest night we have and can’t allow areas to be closed off all evening without the customers deciding then not to show. The deposit ensures that the area will be utilised and when the customer arrives they are refunded their deposit that they have paid prior.

We are very sorry if you feel you had a bad experience. However, should you wish to return in the future please call us and we can pre book you an area/table within our bar. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel within the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Visited for lunch for husband,s birthday first visit and will certainly return Jordan was our waiter and he was a very pleasant young man good menu choice as my husband is on gluten free diet he had home made soup and a lovely chicken risotto two courses for 10pds 99p nice decor and a outside area would go back when weather warmer to sit out

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jinty478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen E, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your comments which I will pass on. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Went for a lunch for chas birthday, happy happy, do a great 3 courses. For 13 pounds, Very tasty well worth a visit ,food was good,service Was a bit slow or wear we in a hurry. And it seemed slow not sure, but would return overall all good,

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen E, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your comments we are glad you had a nice lunch and will return.
Our food is all freshly prepared and makes for a leisurely lunch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Kilbride
3.6 mi away
Busby Hotel
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
605 reviews
2.3 mi away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#3 of 7 in East Kilbride
1,403 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#7 of 7 in East Kilbride
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
#6 of 7 in East Kilbride
676 reviews
9.1 mi away
Dalmeny Park Country House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Crossbasket Castle
Crossbasket Castle
#1 of 1 in Blantyre
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torrance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrance Hotel

Property: Torrance Hotel
Address: 135 Main Street | The Village, East Kilbride G74 4LN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > East Kilbride
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in East Kilbride
#3 Romantic Hotel in East Kilbride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Torrance Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming traditional village hotel in walking distance to Scotland's largest undercover shopping and leisure centre in East Kilbride. East Kilbride has many local attractions including Village Theatre, Golf Courses, Ten Pin Bowling, Ice Skating, Odeon Cinema and is only 7 miles from Glasgow city centre. Built in 1773 by General Stuart of Torrance as a cotton-spinning mill and workers' houses the building in Torrance Square provided a focus for town life. In its many incarnations the popular Torrance Hotel has also housed a school, a shop and a Coaching Inn, but it has always been at the heart of East Kilbride. The building has retained all its original character and charm. We have 20 comfortable bedrooms including the newly refurbished Honeymoon Suite for 2007. Enjoy a meal in our warm and friendly restaurant or lounge bar which caters for a wide range of food from traditional meals to bar snacks. We are a 5 minute walk from the local train station which will take you straight into Glasgow's Central Station which runs every half hour. If more information is required then do not hesitate to ask our friendly receptionist staff. We would like to advise guests that there will be no bar or restaurant facilities for the next 4 months. We are undergoing a major refurbishment to improve the services to the guests in the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Torrance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrance Hotel East Kilbride, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing