We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay”
Review of Torrance Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Torrance Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in East Kilbride
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Normally I'm a "hotel is just place to sleep" kind of person, so tend to go for cheap, cheerful & safe. I chose The Torrance due to the location to a friend I was visiting & the train station, and was not disappointed in having to spend more than I normally would. My room was amazing and the staff were really friendly. They didn't even mind me asking for changes to the breakfast selection. What would I change? I ate in the bar rather than in the restaurant so perhaps a couple more vegetarian options on the bar menu wouldn't go amiss but other than that I loved it & would definitely stay here again. I stayed a week, and my last night was a bit noisy until 3am but there were 2 hen parties that night & so not really the hotel's fault. It definitely would not put me off staying here again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 20oodanaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fawn F, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review,
I am delighted to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us and the staff met your needs.
We always appreciate our customers feedback as it helps us to improve our service within the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Torrance hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

Decided to go back after our original "teething problems" review, only to find some of them have not been ironed out. We opted for just main courses and the helpful waitress informed us that as we were having steak and a burger this could take around 20 / 30 mins, this was okay with us as we were happy catching up. However, the 20 / 30 mins soon became 45/50 mins then another member to the waiting staff came and explained the kitchen had a problem with the ticket machine and were not receiving orders, it took approx another 10/15 mins for food to arrive at our table, once it arrived it was okay, the burger was a tad on the dry side, the fish and chips had too much batter on the fish, but perhaps I am just being picky. All in all for a local hotel restaurant it was okay, as our meals arrived late however the wedding in the function had started their festivities and all we could hear was the loud bass from the band/DJ and people stamping their feet dancing, could be a little off putting if you were having a romantic dinner, we headed to the bar for a night cap and found that the weekly quiz was taking place. Overall, we would go back again and give it another try and hopefully there would be no problems with ticket machines

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank anjip_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fawn F, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write your review below, following your recent visit to the Torrance Hotel.

Firstly we would like to apologise regarding the waiting time that you incurred on your visit. The waiting staff were correct to inform you of the waiting time for your order which included a steak and homemade burger, however as explained on the night, we confirmed that we encountered some technical difficulties with the printer in the kitchen. The waiting staff did not pick up that the orders were not going through to the kitchen printer until they realised tables were waiting longer than normal for their order. Once this issue was noticed, the staff and chefs acted in a quick and efficient manner to try reduce the waiting time as much as practicable. Our Restaurant Manager, at the time also visited each and every table to explain the issue that we encountered.

Following review of this issue, we have now implemented measures to ensure that the same issue doesn’t happen again. We hope that this doesn’t deter you from visiting us again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for our anniversary and the room was beautiful. Spacious, well decorated and had a spa bath which was awesome. Tv in the bathroom which looked like a mirror was pretty cool as well. Reception staff were all really nice and friendly.
Had dinner in the restaurant which was really nice. There was a hair on my plate but when I said to Will who was our waiter, it was took away and a full new dinner made really quickly. The manager came over and apologised which was nice and we ended up with two free drinks. All the restaurant staff were again very nice and helpful. We went into the bar for drinks after dinner and it was really busy. Wasn't too much problem getting served though and the staff seemed to handle the queues well. Properly mixed cocktails were a nice bonus. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fawn F, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your review and your kind words. I'm pleased to hear that Will managed to sort the issue out quickly and that you were able to enjoy your evening.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Torrance Hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Lovely rooms, very high spec. Slept really well until we could hear everyone's door banging shut in the morning who were either leaving or going for breakfast, then another door that squeaked all the way until it banged shut too. That was the only down side as all the staff in the hotel were lovely and friendly, great atmosphere in the bar / restaurant and the food was great too. Something needs to be done about the banging and squeaky doors though. I meant to tell the staff upon checking out but it slipped my mind at the time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahnSc0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fawn F, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review and thank you for your kind words. With regards to the doors, we will certainly have our maintenance team look into this and rectify the problem.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Torrance soon.

Kind Regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We held my daughter's wedding at The Torrance. The' Wedding Package' included Marriage ceremony and wedding reception with a number of guests in booked rooms. The organisation by the event management team was First Class and the service by Dining and Bar Staff was way beyond expectation. Staff were always on hand to deal with any situation that arose and always with a smile.
I would suggest that the competence must be a massive boost to the 'Torrance's' reputation. The Bridal Suite with its spa was awesome and many guests wanted a tour of its facilities, gratefully granted by the bride.
I would highly recommend this venue to couples searching a quality location for their wedding day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fawn F, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your kind words and we are delighted that you had such a fantastic day.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Torrance very soon.

Kind Regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Had a fantastic meal to start our holiday on 5th May. Was served by Mark and it was a great experience. Mark very attentive and great hosting skills. Food fantastic and delicious.wine fab also. Great value for money and will be back soon to sample more of the menu. Thanks Mark and chefs.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheekytraveller67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen E, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for your comments and hope you are enjoying your holiday.
We are pleased Mark made your evening so enjoyable and will pass your lovely comments onto the chefs and Mark.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Went to the restaurant last night with 2 friends for dinner. All ordered from the 2 Course Menu for £10.95 - lovely choice - expected ok hotel food but was delighted with quality of food. We all had different starters which were all lovely but all had the same main course, salmon with noodles - quite delicious - worth returning again for very soon. Also the staff are extremely friendly but also professional and you can tell they care about what they are doing. Best meal I have had in ages and at a fantastic price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen E, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for your comments about our food and staff.
We are pleased that we exceeded your expectations of hotel food and our staff ensured you had a lovely evening.
I will pass your comments on to both the chefs and restaraunt staff.
Thank you once again for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Kilbride
3.6 mi away
Busby Hotel
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
782 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#7 of 7 in East Kilbride
420 reviews
2.3 mi away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#5 of 7 in East Kilbride
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
#6 of 7 in East Kilbride
718 reviews
9.1 mi away
Dalmeny Park Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow East Kilbride (Nerston Toll) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torrance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrance Hotel

Address: 135 Main Street | The Village, East Kilbride G74 4LN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > East Kilbride
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in East Kilbride
#3 Romantic Hotel in East Kilbride
Price Range: £79 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Torrance Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming traditional village hotel in walking distance to Scotland's largest undercover shopping and leisure centre in East Kilbride. East Kilbride has many local attractions including Village Theatre, Golf Courses, Ten Pin Bowling, Ice Skating, Odeon Cinema and is only 7 miles from Glasgow city centre. Built in 1773 by General Stuart of Torrance as a cotton-spinning mill and workers' houses the building in Torrance Square provided a focus for town life. In its many incarnations the popular Torrance Hotel has also housed a school, a shop and a Coaching Inn, but it has always been at the heart of East Kilbride. The building has retained all its original character and charm. We have 20 comfortable bedrooms including the newly refurbished Honeymoon Suite for 2007. Enjoy a meal in our warm and friendly restaurant or lounge bar which caters for a wide range of food from traditional meals to bar snacks. We are a 5 minute walk from the local train station which will take you straight into Glasgow's Central Station which runs every half hour. If more information is required then do not hesitate to ask our friendly receptionist staff. We would like to advise guests that there will be no bar or restaurant facilities for the next 4 months. We are undergoing a major refurbishment to improve the services to the guests in the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Torrance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrance Hotel East Kilbride, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing