We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a nice experience.”
Review of Westlands Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunblane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Westlands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Dunblane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Room clean but dated and very small. Uncomfortable bed. Noisey. Stuffed animals and artec from walls to ceiling. I'm trying to think of something positive but struggling. Not a nice experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lt777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2011

Nice friendly staff. We had a twin room that was airy, spacious and spotlessly clean. Ample parking and a very generous cooked breakfast.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted to make this area a base to tour around.
We will be going back.

Room Tip: Twin room at the front was very spacious and roomy, there is a little light intrusion from outside l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robamy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. Great food served by friendly, attentive staff.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthernPlank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Poor choice of beer, nitchy staff, tartan, stuffed animals and artec from Walls to ceiling. Food was ok

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yermanonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed here for several nights while travelling round the UK. First impressions count here and we were warmly welcomed by both bar staff and Eve the owner. They were very accommodating and Eve was full of information about things to see and do in the area. As stated by the previous reviewer some of the fittings were a little bit old in the room we were in but were were certainly adequate, clean and comfortable. In some respects this added to the charm of the place.
It was certainly good value for money as compared to some of the other places we have stayed in. We didn't feel cooped up as in some other bed and breakfasts due to the spacious lounge and dining areas.
Breakfast and evening meals were very nice. Generally this is a very welcoming place to stay with lots of character and friendly staff. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whittakerNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We arrived early evening and were greeted by an incredibly strong smell of chip fat, although this was accompanied by a very friendly barman / receptionist who was helpful and very polite. We stayed in Room1 and were pleased with the effort made with the coordinating furnishings but the fixtures are very old and in desperate need of replacement. The metal windows were mouldy and draughty. The Bathroom was more like a student flat and the shower pressure and temperature werent good. The towels were old and grey. The toileteries were nice and the bath sink and loo were clean. The view from the rooms three aspects were poor, one of the washing line, one of the flat roof extension and one of the beer kegs. The humming of the boiler eventually lured me into a deep sleep in the very comfortable bed. The other furniture in the bedroom was dated and a bit broken as was the socket for the hairdryer. Breakfast was good and was served promptly. Unfortunately the cooking smell was still strong in the morning only this time it was a smell of bacon - perhaps an extractor inthe kitchen would sort this? Checkout was smooth although the prices displayed on the wall were cheaper than the price we paid! We wouldnt go back or recommend this to anyone wanting any more than a nights sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I was booked in here after a business meeting in Edinburgh and seeing as the Festival was on there was no-where (within the business budget!) to stay locally.
The building is lovely and grand looking, viewed from the road, it appeals as a very homely place to stay.
some areas of the Hotel have been modernised but I think they should stay with the traditional style of decor due to the age of the building. It's a nice place though.

The Owner, Eve, was very welcoming on arrival and showed me straight up to the room checking it was ok and then suggesting I have a drink in the bar to chat to some locals (as I was travelling alone).
The heating hadn't been on so there was a chill in the room but when I finally managed to turn the tap on the old radiator it let out some welcomed heat.

I dined in the bar, the food was good and reliable and other people staying there we friendly and chatty to me.

The bed was very comfortable (single bed in a twin room) and other than hearing a few doors close during the night the place is very peaceful.
The shower was good enough even though it took a while to figure out.
A few things were a bit lacking though-
No hairdryer, Hotel info (breakfast times/menu, Bar times/tariff, entertainment info) booklet and the kettle wasn't very close to the nearest plug meaning a bit of a dangerous manoeuvre!

Breakfast was very substantial- fruit/cereal if required & then a full cooked brekki after with toast (missed the Haggis though!).

The bill was prepared promptly for me when requested and some general info provided on the local area by the owner.

The service from the Owner,Eve , Louise the bar girl and the rest of the staff in general was very attentive and welcoming- I would stay here again if I was ever in the area as the price was good for the room also.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fussy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunblane hotels
0.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
0.6 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Village Inn Apartment
The Village Inn Apartment
#1 of 2 in Dunblane
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westlands Hotel

Address: Doune Road, Dunblane FK15 9HT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dunblane
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Westlands Hotel Dunblane, Stirling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing