We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely chatty owner”
Review of Chimes House

Chimes House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunblane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chimes House
Ranked #3 of 4 Dunblane B&B and Inns
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely chatty owner”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed here for one night to attend daughters party, good location, room clean, bed comfortable, lovely breakfast.
It is above a pub in which we had a drink and snack, friendly place, parking was at the door

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianinayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Owner at Chimes House, responded to this review, 15 February 2017
Thanks for your review - we are now under new ownership and now completed a £50,000 refurbishment to Chimes House and re-launched on 3rd NOVEMBER 2016... maybe we can welcome you back next time you travel
Best Wishes
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    8
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
18
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

we stayed at chimes and had a great time. the room we stayed in was excellent and the breakfast to start the day was fantastic. moira is a wonderful hostess and very knowledgeable,
suggesting some great places to visit in the surrounding area which we really enjoyed.an excellent place to stay and we will definately return again. once again thanks for a lovely time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazeljones1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Owner at Chimes House, responded to this review, 15 February 2017
Thanks for your review - we are now under new ownership and now completed a £50,000 refurbishment to Chimes House and re-launched on 3rd NOVEMBER 2016... maybe we can welcome you back next time you travel
Best Wishes
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed here whilst attending a wedding at the nearby Doubletree Hydro hotel.

Firstly I'll mention the excellent customer service from the lady (I didn't meet her husband). She was very friendly and welcoming throughout. When I originally booked it, she allowed me an early check-in time of 12.00 to help me out. The day before I arrived I mentioned that I would arrive in Dunblane at 9am, and asked if I could leave my suitcase there, and they agreed. However, when I did arrive, she let me check-in straight away, as the previous guests had to leave early. That was incredibly helpful, as I had just arrived from the sleeper train, and it meant I could take a shower!

The following morning, the lady asked what my plans were for the day. When I mentioned that I was planning on going for a walk nearby, she immediately suggested that I leave my suitcase with them, which again was very helpful.

The room was very spacious, clean, comfortable, and well equipped. Not only that, there was an amazing view of the cathedral right outside my window, which I've attached with this review. It's incredibly quiet in the room, and I slept like a log.

The cooked breakfast was done to perfection. She offered me some porridge, which I declined, because I didn't think I could manage the cook breakfast afterwards! If I go back I might try it next time.

All in all, I thought this was great value for money, and I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank neilsolaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Owner at Chimes House, responded to this review, 15 February 2017
Thanks for your review - we are now under new ownership and now completed a £50,000 refurbishment to Chimes House and re-launched on 3rd NOVEMBER 2016... maybe we can welcome you back next time you travel
Best Wishes
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We spent 2 nights at this lovely b&b as our base for touring other parts of Scotland. Moira and David were excellent hosts, had loads of interesting information and were very friendly, we felt like we'd known them for years! Breakfast was excellent, cooked to perfection! Lovely view of the cathedral from our en-suite room which was very clean and fresh with tea/coffee making facilities, tv and Wi-Fi. The pub below was great, we spent an enjoyable night in there with live entertainment. Excellent value for money, we were made very welcome and will definitely be back to visit Dunblane again!

Room Tip: View of the cathedral is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Owner at Chimes House, responded to this review, 15 February 2017
Thanks for your review - we are now under new ownership and now completed a £50,000 refurbishment to Chimes House and re-launched on 3rd NOVEMBER 2016... maybe we can welcome you back next time you travel
Best Wishes
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalbeattie, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My fiance & i stayed at chimes house for one night,it was a nice house with a lovely warm welcome from Moira,she was very helpful & accommodating. Parking on street but a car park about a minutes walk away which we used. Very central,only about a 30sec walk til you were on the high street. Breakfast was good,neither of us eat dairy but Moira went out of her way & made us a lovely breakfast. The only surprise was that after breakfast we went back to our room to find it was being cleaned out for the next guests arriving while our belongings were still in the room.....this is all before 9am!!! Was an enjoyable stay,just felt we were being rushed out the door a bit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisamacpooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Owner at Chimes House, responded to this review, 15 February 2017
Thanks for your review - we are now under new ownership and now completed a £50,000 refurbishment to Chimes House and re-launched on 3rd NOVEMBER 2016... maybe we can welcome you back next time you travel
Best Wishes
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strood kent
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Nice pleasant room in a victorian building,overlooking the cathedral would stay again as both the owners of the house were charming.
Moria is a mine of information so worth asking for tips on where to go etc.
The room was well presented with tea an coffee laid out for you.
Rooms are spotless as is the rest of the house.
Breakfast was prompty served when i went in to the dining room no waiting around.
Food.was tasty well cooked.
Tea and coffee was served an i was offered more without even having to ask.

Will mention the pub use it the locals are really freindly it has no bearing on the chimes as its quite you cannot hear any noise.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acebiker800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Owner at Chimes House, responded to this review, 15 February 2017
Thanks for your review - we are now under new ownership and now completed a £50,000 refurbishment to Chimes House and re-launched on 3rd NOVEMBER 2016... maybe we can welcome you back next time you travel
Best Wishes
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

we stayed at the chimes and had a great time. moira and her partner made us so welcome,
moira is a great hostess and does a fantastic breakfast. they both went out of there way to help, letting us know about events taking place and many other things.the room we stayed was great. we enjoyed staying at the chimes and their company so much that we are definately returning again thank you both for a wonderful time. hazel

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazeljones1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Owner at Chimes House, responded to this review, 15 February 2017
Thanks for your review - we are now under new ownership and now completed at £50,000 refurbishment to Chimes House and re-launched on 3rd NOVEMBER 2016... maybe we can welcome you back next time you travel
Best Wishes
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunblane
0.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
0.0 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
2.9 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
750 reviews
3.6 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
551 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Village Inn Apartment
The Village Inn Apartment
#1 of 2 in Dunblane
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimes House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimes House

Property: Chimes House
Address: Cathedral Square, Dunblane FK15 0AL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Dunblane
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dunblane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Chimes House, bed and breakfast guest house accommodation, Dunblane, Perthshire, Scotland...overlooking the magnificent 12th-century cathedral in the centre of Scotland's smallest city of Dunblane (pop.7200), Chimes House is a light, spacious Victorian town house retaining many original features combined with modern comforts, where guests will enjoy traditional Scottish hospitality and excellent home cooking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chimes House Dunblane, Stirling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing