We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very dissapointing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very, very dissapointing!”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Unfortunatley the wonderful website of the hotel doesnt truley reflect the hotel at all. It is very tired however if you are just wanting an average bed for the night and happy to eat alongside bus loads for breakfast then this hotel may be fine. However for a couple or family that want a bit more I am certain that there are wonderful guesthouses in the area or close by at Sterling for the same price (perhasp cheaper) that would be 4-5 star that will give you wonderful hospitaltiy with good size rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 07continents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
The DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane Hydro is a large hotel with more than 200 rooms and attracts many different categories of visitors. We strive to offer excellent customer service to all our guests and do not discriminate through the type of transport they have chosen to use to reach us. The hotel was built in 1878 and, despite the recent major refurbishment of the hotel; it was not possible to change the sizes or configurations of the rooms within the building, giving us a range of rooms of different sizes and styles. I am sorry to read that we were not what you were looking for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,180
    1,314
    843
    405
    190
See reviews for
773
2,105
63
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (841)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

A good hotel, but doesn't live up to reputation. The public areas are very good and look recently updated. However, the standard double rooms are rather small with furniture that has seen slightly better days. The view was out of the corner looking across part of the car park. There was also no clock in the room, but a cable sitting on the bedside table that presumably was supposed to be connected to one. I would imagine the more expensive rooms are fine, but a standard room here is definately just 'standard' so as long as you don't go expecting anything special you will be fine.

Breakfast in the morning was fine but get there early - by the time I had left there was a long queue out of the door.

I didn't use the pool but saw it - looked ok but it does require a walk which in the cold could be off putting!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amack1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
It sounds like the clock has gone missing from that room - please do get in touch with and let us know which room you were staying in so we can rectify this. Breakfasts, especially at the weekends can prove to be a challenging part of the service and we are always looking at ways to improve this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,024 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 641 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed here for a relaxing weekend away and were particularly drawn by the hotel's reputation for food and its spa facilities. Upon arrival, we were directed to the lift up to the lobby, but we might as well have walked up the stairs with our luggage as we must have been waiting at least 10mins for the lift. The check-in was bizarre as they did not seem particularly efficient and there was the added peculiarity of being presented with a hot biscuit each.
The room was surprisingly small, situated at the rear with no view - in fact, the window was frosted, covered in bird droppings and did not open far due to prongs on the sill. We struggled to work out how to use the plug in the bathroom sink, as one actually has to put one's hand into the water to push the plug to release it - perhaps not the smartest of designs. The bed was, however, rather comfortable, albeit a little small. The selection of teas was good. We had trouble getting off to sleep the second night due to loud music coming from some sort of party. Our room was not made after the first night and it took a phone call down to reception at 3 in the afternoon (which was to no avail) and a visit to reception later on to arrange for this to be righted.
Breakfast was okay but we had to wait until we were almost finished our cooked course on the first morning for our pot of tea to arrive (our order had only been taken shortly before this). The cooked buffet was quite extensive, although there were no scrambled eggs on both mornings. The quality of the sausages did not particularly meet our expectations and the bacon was fatty. The choice of fresh fruit was limited and the yoghurts were at room temperature.
Dinner, on the other hand, was fantastic. We were delighted with our meals at the Kailyard Restaurant on both nights. The service was attentive, but perhaps not as professional as could be and it could be said that some staff require further training. The wines available were excellent. We enjoyed going through to the bar-lounge area for drinks after our meal as there was a really nice ambience.
The pool was quite nice, although it was an inconvenience for it to be located in an outbuilding, particularly in the rain. Upon checking out of the hotel, the queue was not dealt with efficiently and the receptionist failed both to comprehend our name and find our booking details.
If we were to be swayed to return to this hotel in the near future, it would most definitely be on the merit of the evening dining experience. There is a great deal more potential for the establishment.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Your very extensive feedback has been shared with our team, so we can review and improve our service in the areas you have mentioned. In the room allocated to you, the window is frosted because it overlooks the roof area of the hotel and the designers agreed that frosted glass in these rooms would be preferable to looking across the rather angular slate roofs to the rear of the building. We will work on our potential and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosyth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012 via mobile

This was our second stay at the doubletree and as before, we had a fantastic time. Room was perfect. Nick Nairn dining is a must when staying here. Bar staff are absolutely brilliant, so friendly. Great atmosphere all round. This is by far my favourite place to escape to!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
We love the Nick Nairn dining experience too; it is great to read you feel it is a must. Your compliments have been passed on to the team, who in their turn, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Its a standard hilton hotel, friendly and helpful staff, good food, comfy beds- just a shame about the generator that went off outside our room all night!! I spoke to the night staff and it was turned off at 10.30pm only to be restarted at 5.30am - not very condusive to a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Not on the side of Room 326 - ask to avoid the outside generator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnySideUp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
I’m so sorry to hear you didn’t have a good night’s sleep – the noise can’t have come from a generator as the hotel doesn’t have one. I will pass your comments on to our maintenance team to look into this so future guests do not have the same experience. Once again, please accept our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Fantastic stay recently with my husband and twin babies. The staff are amazing, so friendly, helpful and their aim is to ensure you have a comfortable, relaxing stay. We were on D,B&B basis,definately the best deal in Scotland. Food is devine in the Nick Nairn restaurant. Faultless. Breakfast superb. We are already booked to go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank an0n19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
And in our turn, we are ready to welcome you back! I am pleased you and your family had a delightful time. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Just Stayed here as part of my birthday weekend and have had a brilliant time!!!!! Arrived at the hotel to find a birthday card and some scrummy chocolates! The room was very spacious and lovely decor. Went to the kaliyard for dinner and the food was fantastic!! Again we were greeted with 2 glasses of birthday bubbley :) Mistakenly thought that the portion sizes would be small but they weren't we were absolutely stuffed to the point that I couldn't even eat the birthday cake my mum had arranged to be brought out. We have since eaten said cake and a huge thank you should go to your chef that made it as it was absolutely scrumptious!!
We went to the pool on our last morning and had a treatment to finish off the weekend and the girls were so friendly.
All in all we have had a wonderfull weekend and would like to thank you for making it so special

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachyel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
I’ve relayed your effusions to our Chef and the Livingwell staff – all of which were very much appreciated. Thank you for your feedback, it is lovely to read you had such a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunblane
2.8 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
13.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
750 reviews
3.5 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Property: Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Address: Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Hotel Dunblane
Hilton International Dunblane
Dunblane Hydro
Hydro Dunblane
Dunblane Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Stirling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing