We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food and great fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great food and great fun”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Stayed in October with a group of friends. Food was amazing of the highest quality. Staff were great and couldn't do enough to make sure we had a great stay. The spa facilities are superb and the staff are very friendly. Make sure you sample the amazing afternoon tea its worth a trip on its own. Enjoying this hotel will be no problem and you will want to return again and again

Room Tip: room 416 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggiesstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
I am so glad you had a great time, and enjoyed our facilities and afternoon tea…..see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,180
    1,314
    843
    405
    190
See reviews for
773
2,105
63
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (841)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Had a lovely weekend at this hotel staff very helpful, and a warm cookie on arrival. Had our dinner in the kailyard by nick nairn which was expensive but a must just so to say we'd tried it. Dunblaine a lovely little place with some nice shops, and not far from Stirling , Glasgow or loch lomand.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you for your feedback, really appreciate your feedback and will forward to our helpful team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2012

No Better way to celebrate with close family. Service first class. Food presentation could not have better and the attention of the waiting staff equalled this. Young staff who are clearly enjoying their work and learning the trade. My wife was blown away with the mackerel starter and the night just got better and better. keep up the good work and the smiles.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
We agree with you, our young staff are really eager and are enjoying learning the hospitality trade. Your compliments will be passed on the restaurant team, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed 2 nights on the Prosecco special offer at the hotel. We were give a huge chocolate cookie at reception and had a lovely bottle of chilled Prosecco waiting in our room . The room was very clean but far too warm. Even keeping the heating off and the window open we did not get much sleep. Staff very helpful and friendly throughout the hotel. The Kailyard restaurant has fabulous food. Being a vegetarian with an allergy to mushrooms it was a delight to find the hotel has a seperate vegetarian menu as well as the normal menu. Breakfast was a bit dissapointing but overall an adequate selection.The staff at breakfast time seemed very overworked and our tea/coffee took some time to arrive and we had to remind the staff we were still waiting. The health club is seperate from the hotel so although I would have liked to use the pool it was just above freezing when we stayed and the prospect of leaving the warmth of the hotel to go outside to get to the pool and the same to return meant that I was a bit put off. Overall very good and will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gorgiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
I will certainly pass on your feedback to the restaurant for review so they may focus on the breakfast selections, thank you for letting us know. We hope, next time you visit; you will notice the improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Arrived at the hotel with friends at 3pm only to be told our rooms weren't ready. This wasn't a problem as we knew check in was 4pm so we went to the bar for a drink whilst we waited, the bar men were very attentive although busy. About 30 minutes later a very pretty blond receptionist informed us our rooms were ready and gave us our keys. The room was lovely although we missing some towels but this was sorted right away, although the food was lovely in the kailyard the staff were very slow and seemed disinterested. On my way to my room the same girl who had given us our keys asked how we were enjoying our evening. I said I was disappointed with the service which she apologised for. Imagine my surprise when 5 minutes later there was a knock at the door and the receptionist had sent up a complimentary bottle of wine. Very impressed with the reception staff (especially the blond girl, I think her name was astrid) and the hotel itself. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Our pretty receptionist recognised herself in your feedback, and was so pleased to see that she contributed to you having a great time, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed mid week on a two night stay on Diner,Bed and Breakfast special rate. Room was clean, quiet and well maintained. Food was of a high standard in both lounge and restraurant, hotel staff were polite and helpful with all aspects of stay.Will stay there again

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happymarjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback; we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed here on business and so had a twin room due to the hotel being very full of meeting delegates. It was small but well appointed but the way the room was set up I felt that every time someone walked down the corridor they were walking right past my head on the pillow! I used the small gym but had to use the swimming pool changing rooms to get changed which were soaking wet (obviously as they are for the swimming pool). It didn't have the feel of a pleasant spa hotel changing room, rather that of your local swimming pool. I wasn't inspired to get up for my early morning swim and opted for a lie in instead the next morning! The restaurant was fantastic, attentive staff (even bordering on too attentive!). Food was delicious and the wine good. Most definitely eat here if you're staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateM76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Thank for your comments, we strive to avoid the word “spa” because of the connotations attached; we realise that our Health Club does not have the same feel. It is nice to know that you had a great time here and you found the staff, food and atmosphere in the Kailyard fantastic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunblane
2.8 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
13.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
750 reviews
3.5 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Property: Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Address: Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Hotel Dunblane
Hilton International Dunblane
Dunblane Hydro
Hydro Dunblane
Dunblane Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Stirling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing