We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average room, good breakfast, could do so much better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
dunadry
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Average room, good breakfast, could do so much better”
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Stayed with my wife at the beginning of September when leaving our daughter at university. It was my third stay and will probably be the last. Room was at the back of the hotel on the ground floor and adjacent to the car park. We are not light sleepers and don't mind a bit of noise but if you want a reasonable nights sleep avoid these rooms as they are very noisy. The rooms are adequate, not four star by any means. The hotel was very busy with a wedding and I reckon most rooms were booked. Due to what seemed an inadequate level of staffing, room service trays and dirty laundry were left in corridors all day. I thought this was perhaps a one off, but it happened both days we were there and my mother and father who stayed later in the month said they experienced the same thing. Not at all what you would expect of this class of hotel.
The location is lovely and the breakfast was great. Staff were very friendly, something which seems to come as second nature to the Scots!
We had a pleasant enough stay but for the cost it's not value for money. I stayed in the management centre at Stirling university a couple of months later and would go back there instead of the Hilton Dunblane next time.

Room Tip: Avoid any rooms adjacent to the car park at rear of the hotel, can be very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevengallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 24 December 2012
I’m sorry the removal of room service trays seemed to be slow during your visit; this has been addressed by our staff; and corridors are checked on a regular basis to ensure removal of the items. Admittedly the management centre is closer to the university for you; however if you do decide to come back to visit, we are confident you will notice the improvement. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,178
    1,314
    843
    405
    190
See reviews for
773
2,103
63
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (840)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Stayed here last night for the Xmas Party Night, what an amazing night, staff where fabulous, rooms where so modern & beds really really comfy......complimentary Wine on the Tables was an added bonus that we didn't even expect, food mmmm.....just a brilliant place....will defo be back xxx

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiesmartprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 24 December 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback; we have worked hard preparing and delivering this year’s party nights so are delighted to hear our hard work has paid off. See you again this time next year – if not before!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Had a fantastic mid-week break in Dunblane. We couldn't get over the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. We were moved to a room with a bath on request when we arrived and were very impressed with the space and cleanliness of the room. The food was great and although the hotel wasn't particularly people there were enough to creatate a nice ambience in the restaurant. We also used the spa facilities on one day whilst the weather wasn't brilliant, very good.
We're looking forward to going back and taking some of our friends with us. There is so much to see and do in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thorntonpipers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Thank you for leaving such positive feedback; we’re so pleased to read that you found our staff friendly and helpful, as well as enjoying the ambience in the restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon – with your friends this time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

I have just returned from a Christmas dinner,dance with overnight stay, with breakfast at this hotel where everything was great. From the long driveway leading up to the hotel that stands on the top of the hill with magnificent views from our second floor bedroom that faced north to the very friendly staff at the reception desk on arrival. The room was ideal for a one night stay although a bit on the small size compared with other hydro that I have stayed in at Christmas time for a similar dinner dance. There was a pre drink at 19.00 pm before the 19.30pm start to the evenings festivities. The function hall was set out really nice for the meal that was very good, with the usual choice of starters and main meal, although no selection for the dessert. The drinks waiters were not very quick at serving and the prices averaged about 4.50 pence a go . The disco was very good but live groups sound equipment was a bit fuzzy throughout, pity because the singer was very good but not very loud if you we're at the back of the hall. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice for everybody but would you believe it there was no beans, all the guests seated in our area were looking for them - disappointing. There a distinct lack of Christmas decorations everywhere although there were a few trees dotted around. All in all a great night out.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel on the higher floors have fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacktoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Thank you for your feedback; we are pleased to read that everything was just great for you. We will use your feedback to look at how we can improve the areas you noted requiring a little adjustment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

After reading reviews about noisy parties we were dubious about sleeping during a December week-end break. However, we were lucky enough to hear no loud music, and very little noise during both Friday and Saturday nights. Our room was faultless, and all staff friendly and helpful. Having travelled by coach we were delighted not to be treated as second-class citizens, especially in the dining room where we rarely enjoy the pleasure of separate tables. Being on a package our menu was table d'hote but excellent, with enough choices and delicious food served by a delightful young team. We've visited Hilton hotels in the UK and Europe including five-star, and would put Dunblane Hydro top of the list. Many thanks.

Room Tip: We were on 3rd floor towards the end of the wing. No noise from party rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank copy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
We do aim to keep our non party guests separate from the festive revellers to avoid noise complaints; and are so pleased to read that we reached our goal and you had such a fantastic time. Thank you for your feedback, your praise has been shared with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

just had a good party night here, food, entertainment, sevice all good but not too happy with the rooms....for our xmas night we booked away back in april.....we thought an early booking would ensure the twin rooms we wanted.....sadly not....after 3 room changes!!, double beds and strong damp smells pervading, i ended up on a kids bed !!! tho the night duty manager james was helpful and brought a matress at midnight to top the kids bed or i wouldn t have slept a wink, as it turned out i was quite comfy but they need to do something about the annexe....its pretty poor standard and lets the rest of the lovely surrounding down quite badly....sorry but sont be hurrying back

Room Tip: dont accept a room in the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackieglasgow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Please accept our apologies for not getting the sleeping arrangements right for you. We are nevertheless pleased to read you enjoyed our party night and would like to assure you that we will focus on improving our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broxburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Stayed last night for the second time at a Christmas party. Food was very good, atmosphere was great, the dance floor was full all night, staff as always were pleasant, helpful and friendly. Room was clean, comfortable and had all I needed, breakfast this morning very good. Excellent value for money too.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Thank you for your comments; we are glad that you had a great time on your second Christmas Party Night and hope you will be back for more festivities in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunblane
2.8 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
13.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
750 reviews
3.5 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Property: Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Address: Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Hotel Dunblane
Hilton International Dunblane
Dunblane Hydro
Hydro Dunblane
Dunblane Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Stirling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing