We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plesant stay in Lovely suroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Just returned from a very pleasant two night stay at The Dunblane Hydro. Front entrance,spectacular , Check in efficient, receptionist friendly, the cookies a nice touch. Our room although nothing out of the ordinary was clean and had every thing we needed. The cocktail bar was inviting with great views over the lawns and Dunblane. Evening meals in the Kail Yard were good . Every member of staff we met from check in onwards were pleasant friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22friday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatchmanDunblane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear 22friday

Thank you for your review.

I was really pleased to read that your overall stay was very good particularly how friendly the staff were to you throughout your stay. The views to the front of the hotel are fantastic no matter where you look out with the stunning Trossachs in the distance too!

Thanks again for your time taken to write your review.

Yours sincerely

Liam

Liam Spillane, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,193 - 3,199 of 4,156 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stayed at hydro on sunday 23rd june and as we always do had a lovely relaxing day,We were in room 206 in main building and was spotless.Our evening meal was absolutely perfect and the young waitress was so helpful and polite.After visiting a restaurant previous night in Bridge of Allan and being so disappointed our visit to Hydro on sunday cheered us both up.We had a few delicious cocktails in the bar after our meal and thoroughly enjoyed rest of our night.Breakfast in morning was as usual such a wide and fantastic choice.All the staff are very polite and nothing a problem.Really looking forward to our sunday visit again in July

mr mcgregor

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobytobias1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatchmanDunblane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear tobytobias1

Thanks for your fantastic review of our hotel after your recent stay with us.

The perspective you brought to your review after your unfortunate experience in the neighbouring town was all the more pleasing for me in that you enjoyed the service and the quality of the meal so much.

Thank you again for your time, please let me know when you are coming back in July!

Yours sincerely

Liam

Liam Spillane, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Excellent. Used this hotel several times. Always great.
Great starting position for outings to anywhere in Central Scotland. Food is always good. Easy parking, Comfortable rooms. And the staff are very smart, polite and helpful.
Beautiful gardens.

Room Tip: Pay the little bit extra to get a front room in the old building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Catering for function was very satisfactory. Upgraded room was quite small but comfortable.
Staff helpful and pleasant despite hotel being fully booked. Facilities were good Would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithwesteren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatchmanDunblane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear keithwesteren

Thank you for your time in reviewing our hotel.

Your commentary on your stay is quite brief and appears on the surface to have been enjoyable, which is great to read. I would have been interested to see what you felt we could have improved on to get a higher rating from you, so perhaps the next time you would let me know when you want to come back and I will be happy to talk through any other feedback you may have.

Thanks again for your review.

Yours sincerely

Liam

Liam Spillane, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We had a family room for 5, so our room seemed a lot nicer and spacious than my brothers room he shared with his fiancée which was only 1 room. Where as our room was cheaper yet had a bedroom and lounge area with a sofa that went into a bed. We were really surprised at how lovely our room was, bathroom was fantastic, had a fantastic deep massage bath! We heard no noise from neighbouring rooms unsure if that was luck or if it was quieter than usual. But we were over for a wedding at the hotel for the weekend so were glad it was quiet at night for kids.
Function room used for my dads wedding meal was STUNNING! great staff, great food, great layout.
We heard there was a pool, we did not use this facility so cannot comment.
Breakfast in morning was great. Lots to chose from, and very filling. No complaints there!
Only reason the hotel didn't get 5 stars, and only 4. Was that from the outside you expect to walk into something out of this world. But inside, in the corridors on route to the rooms, its more out dated than a travel inn. Needs new carpeting in corridors and some more modern paint on walls. Instead of dirty magnolia.
This was only in the corridors, the other areas In hotel were fab!
All in, the hotel is worth staying at, id go back again definitely if Dunblane should be host to another wedding I am attending

Room Tip: Good rooms don't ensure good neighbours :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatchmanDunblane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear Wee T

Thanks for today's review after your recent stay with us.

I think you have been quite fair in your overall review even though I would prefer to see all guests having a completely satisfactory stay each and every time. The constructive feedback you have given will be followed up and I hope that when you return you will see an improvement - it is an ongoing process but we strive to improve in areas where there are shortfalls.

Thanks again for your review, I hope we see you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Liam

Liam Spillane, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed here for a three night break.

A very impressive drive up to the hotel, with a beautiful building and immaculate lawn area.

We arrived before 3pm and had to wait as our room was not ready. No bad marks for this, the check in is from 4 pm, but we were not aware of this, so put it down to our error, so we sat in the bar area, had afternoon tea and waited until it was ready. Corridors to the room appeared very tired and carpets were in need of a vacuum, but the carpet is dark brown so keeping it clean is probably quite a task. Our room was ok, and as we would have expected. Had to complain the second morning to the cleaning staff about a very badly stained bath towel, which she did apologise for and replaced.

Breakfast selection was fairly good, but had to ask for tea one morning and had to send it back another due to it being almost see through. Staff were nice in the restaurant, as well the staff in the other areas.

Shame it is not as grand inside as it looks from the outside, that said it is nicely placed and we will visit again I am sure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Floridachick2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatchmanDunblane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear Floridachick2606

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

There were many parts of your stay that were to your pleasing and some that fell short of your expectation which was disappointing to read about. I will make sure our laundry company are aware of the situation with your towel as a priority.

Thanks again for your review.

Yours sincerely

Liam

Liam Spillane, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel looked great when we ordered. The front seemed like a castle! When we got there and entered, we could tell that the hotel had seen better days, but was clearly keeping up appearances. No wifi in the rooms (you would have to pay extra), and who does that these days?! Wifi in the common rooms, but very bad reception. No way of controlling air supply in our rooms as the window wouldn't open for more than 5cm. The breakfast area was slightly confusing, and you could get different types of food from 3-4 different "stands" in the huge room. And on a hunt for fruit, one of the waiters cleared my friends food away, so she had to start all over again..

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maytovs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatchmanDunblane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Dear Maytovs

Thanks for your review of our hotel after your stay with us.

The subject of Wifi is understandable from what you have commented on to me. We do have a complimentary period of time and then yes, after this period of time, it is chargeable. I will check the coverage point that you have made as it should be available on the veranda as you stated, I'm sorry that this was the case.

Your points about breakfast will be shared with my team and I am sorry that your friend's food was removed accidently.

Thanks again for your effort in reviewing our hotel.

Yours sincerely

Liam

Liam Spillane, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunblane
2.8 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,204 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
20.3 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
5 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Address: Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Price Range: £89 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Hotel Dunblane
Hilton International Dunblane
Dunblane Hydro
Hydro Dunblane
Dunblane Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Stirling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing