We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad?!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Driving up to the hotel is a breathtaking experience, it certainly looks the part.

Walking into the foyer you are met with smiling desk staff, the double tree cookie and the sights and sounds you would expect from a Hilton establishment.

We were allocated room 232 which is where it started to go downhill! The room was VERY small and quite shabby. If you wanted to watch tv you and your partner would have to sit on the right hand side of the bed together as it was at a terrible angle!

The room had creaky floor boards, a broken tv/multi use cabinet, spotlights hanging from the bathroom ceiling and lights poorly secured to the wall, not to mention no bathroom extraction, tv remote not working and the docking station broken, Oh, and the smallest double bed we have ever slept in!!

Ok, so it isn't all bad!! The public areas are second to none! The cocktail bar was perfect and catered for any and every request with speed and ease! We attended a party night which was first class, the food, service and entertainment was of he highest standards.

The next morning we had breakfast which was undoubtedly the best breakfast we have had in Scotland probably the UK! At £10 per head we thought quality and choice was again first class and worth every penny!

We have complained to Hilton and are extremely keen to hear their reply since our last experience with a Double Tree was also negative.

In summary the Dunblane Hydro is a beautiful top quality establishment, it is just a shame that our room was tired and run down.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kay-Partyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Deputy, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear Kay

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent overnight stay and party night and I am delighted that you found so many areas of the hotel to be outstanding.

Regarding your comments on bedroom 232, I have passed these onto our facilities manager who will complete a full bedroom inspection and rectify any issues found (including making sure the TV is in a comfortable position for viewing).

I would like to thank you once again for bringing these matters to our attention.

Kind Regards

Andrea Paton
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,846 - 2,852 of 4,113 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

Had a great time for my mums 80th, staff were friendly and welcoming. We felt very well looked after. The food was all good and great breakfast. Probably good that I was unable to wrench open the mini bar!!

Room Tip: One near the only lift if you have mobility problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmlauder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Deputy, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your lovely review and we are all especially pleased that your mum had a fabulous 80th Birthday here!

Kind Regards

Andrea Paton
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Booked at the last minute for a Sunday Night DBB. Good value. Very large hotel with few guests, made for a slight lack of atmosphere. Perfectly adequate dinner...but the Hilton Breakfast always hits the spot. The insistence of Hilton demanding payment for Wifi in the rooms is antiquated and exorbitant and needs to be urgently re-viewed. Very good pool and fitness suite. Reception staff were excellent as were the restaurant waiters/waitresses .Good- sized family room, with a comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Pay the supplement for a larger room.....the basic room is compact to say the least !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gastronaut_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Deputy, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent review following your stay. Regarding our internet charges we do provide one hour free Wi-Fi access for all guests in our Lounge & Bar area. Our charge for access in guest bedrooms is in line with Hilton UK standards.

Kind Regards

Andrea Paton
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Lovely building as you approach, up on a hill overlooking the countryside. Check in was quick and efficient, with a lovely warm cookie!
The room was a good size and well equipped (carpet could do with a vacuum and a shampoo), the bed was comfy and there was also a nice chair to sit in by the window.
Bar area is okay but as usual the prices are inflated.
Food in the restaurant is good. There is a limited selection with a set price for 1,2 or 3 courses. The prices are high, far too high and to add further supplements to certain meals is a bit of a mickey take to be honest. That said, the food was well cooked and presented but it's not Michelin star food so it shouldn't be Michelin star prices.
I missed breakfast so can't comment on that but check out was quick, accurate and efficient.
I would return again but would probably see if they do a bar or lounge menu instead.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Deputy, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and I am delighted that you enjoyed your break in Dunblane.

Our Kailyard menu @ £29.95 per person for 3 courses does offer 8 starters, 8 meat/fish main courses in addition to 4 vegetarian main courses with a supplement on 2 dishes including a steak option.

We do offer a Lounge menu for all day dining.

Kind Regards

Andrea Paton
Deputy GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

perfect sunday deal was great value and food was tremendous- room was good but unfortunately no view however we did not expect a lot for the money we paid. Good service and easy location to get to. A bit pricey if not for the deal but overall a good experience for a special occassion

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank ColinDunoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Deputy, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear Colin

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane Hydro.

We value all guest feedback as this enables us to improve our business and increase guest satisfaction for future stays.

During 2014 we are planning to continue the Perfect Sunday offer so perhaps we might see you again very soon?

Kind Regards

Andrea Paton
Deputy GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

went here with friends for Christmas party night and overnight stay ,good atmosphere and didn't wait long to check in. The bedroom was small and well furnished but wasn't too clean very dusty as was our friends room .The bed was comfy and there was a safe and a hairdryer in the wardrobe .Dinner was very good and each table had its own waiting staff ,disco was very good and if you didn't like that there was a piano player in the other lounge .he even took requests and was very good .breakfast was very nice although the square sausage was inedible ,plenty of selection for everyone .when we booked we were asked if there was any special diet required and they would cater for that ,great night and I would go back .

Room Tip: its on top of a very steep hill not for the unfit to walk to
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aileen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Deputy, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Good Afternoon Aileen

We are very pleased that you all enjoyed a well earned Christmas party with us and thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Please be assured I will discuss your comments regarding dust with the housekeeping team.

Kind Regards

Andrea Paton
Deputy GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This is a great venue with wonderful, helpful staff. The food is excellent. The gym is well-appointed. Overall it was great value. The only point to consider is that there is only one taxi in town, so if you're taking the train prepare for a luggage-towing walk.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Deputy, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.
If you are planning to visit us again in the future please do not hesitate to contact our reception team with your train arrival time and we will arrange a taxi for you.

Kind Regards

Andrea Paton
Deputy GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunblane
0.4 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,177 reviews
13.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
798 reviews
20.3 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Address: Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Price Range: £90 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Hotel Dunblane
Hilton International Dunblane
Dunblane Hydro
Hydro Dunblane
Dunblane Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Stirling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing