We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely scenery, large complex - poor new year service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Reviewed 24 February 2014

As a nice gentle start to the new year i decided to book myself and wife into a Dinner, Bed and Breakfast package on the 2nd January 2014.

Great hotel and lovely reception, once checked in we found the problems. Marked wallpaper, mouldy bathroom ceiling, cracked tiles and a broken safe which would not lock.

Arrived for Dinner at 9pm, we had a long wait for the staff to come over and take selections, the main meal we had to ask to be reheated as it was cold when arrived, and the dessert was a chocolate pudding, but arrived a solid hard brick, so both were sent back to which the young waiter said, yeah sometimes at the end of the night they do get a bit dry.

Problems with being charged for tanquery for a few rounds when we actually received Gordons Gin. Spoke with the restaurant manager and he assured they would be amended and the bill changed.

Upon checkout the next day i detailed my issues to the checkout supervisor and she informed me she would speak to the hotel manager.

So nearly 8 weeks on i am still awaiting the call back/email from the manager, but clearly too busy to contact me to understand my issues. Ashame as it is a really nice hotel and i thought it was working hard to become a premier destination hotel for weekend breaks, but lacks some polish around the edges.

Still happy to discuss the issues with Hotel Manager if you require anything from me.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the ground floor wing round the back of hotel, clearly the hotel rooms are run down s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morphman82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,780 - 2,786 of 4,156 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed at hotel last week 2 days.
Check in was ok with dinner bed and breakfast explained.
The room was very small although bathroom was large.
I found it to be cold.
Breakfast very busy and the self feeding toaster was no longer there instead 2 four slice toaster, which I do not think acceptable for such a large 4 star hotel.
I waited at least 20 mins on a pot of coffee.
Staff cleaning tables next to us used a dish towel!!!!
The hotel certainly could be doing with maybe couple of senior staff on in the breakfast room.
Being in this trade maybe is how I pick up a lot but I do think you expect so much better than I got.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Spritser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just returned from overnight stay, fab large room and modern bathroom. 3 course dinner included in deal and was well worth it. Good choice on menu. Vast improvement on leisure facilities since last time we visited although still not as plush as the hotel. Steam room great. Overall a great deal as booked during the Hilton flash sale in November. Would definately recommend a visit.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Carb08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

If you like Hilton you will not be disappointed.
The food was good but to be honest could have been hotter. The staff were excellent and the hotel in general is of the high standards acceptable for the Hilton name.
The room was a little on the small side but on a special seal this should really be expected.
A nice touch getting the hot cookie on arrival.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonygalente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This was our first stay and the experience was very pleasant indeed. We arrived on Feb 14th and although the hotel was very busy and there was a wedding, staff were very efficient and very attentive. We would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Eva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

High level of service with bedroom changes very quick and the restaurant quality in both food and service excellent. Relaxed atmosphere in the lounges made for a very comfortable visit. Three nights full board for the price of two represents great value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank GACGlasgowScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We spent 2 nights at the hotel and had no complaints about our room on the third floor. We ate both nights in the Kailyard and enjoyed the food apart from dessert the first night which was very poor. There was a reasonable selection for breakfast. The restaurant was very busy both nights but the service was fine.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunblane
0.4 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,204 reviews
13.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
5 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Address: Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Price Range: £89 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Hotel Dunblane
Hilton International Dunblane
Dunblane Hydro
Hydro Dunblane
Dunblane Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Stirling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing