We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Doubletree by Hilton Dunblane-Hydro
Nearby Hotels
The Royal Hotel(Bridge of Allan)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cromlix(Kinbuck)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stirling Court Hotel(Stirling)(Great Value!)
US$82
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Colessio(Stirling)
US$203
US$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$152
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,285)
Filter reviews
4,285 results
Traveller rating
1,318
1,420
899
435
213
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,318
1,420
899
435
213
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskailyard restaurantnick nairncookiescocktail barseparate buildingmain buildingfront facingleisure facilitiesjunior suitelovely hotelsteam roomdinner bed and breakfastboth nightsdoubletree by hiltonrelaxing breakself servicebeautiful building
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,853 - 2,858 of 4,285 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The experience of staying in a Hilton is always exceptional and the Dunblane Hilton was no exception. The staff are lovely and attentive. The food exquisite and the cocktails devine. The only problems we had were; bill was incorrect when we left (but quickly amended), the beds were uncomfortable (again sorted quickly when we complained) and the prices high (search for a deal, never take the first price quoted)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Arrived at the Hotel and it is stunning from the outside, cannot deny that.
Checked in OK and cookie is a nice touch, but not offer of any help with baggage etc.
Room was located on 2nd floor and required negotiating a set stairs up and then another back down reach the room which was not great if travelling with elderly or young children, as we were.
Room was clean but Z-Bed placed in room for our child was a joke. The mattress was about 2 inches thick and the springs and mattress sank to almost floor level when you sat on it, even our 3 year old deflected it significantly. Complained and by time we returned from swim a new portable bed was brought to our room.
On arrival at the leisure facilities the changing rooms appeared crowded and dirty. I suspect they had been cleaned in the morning or the night before and not attended since. Swimming pool was OK but no real kid friendly area where a young child could touch the floor of the pool.
when we arrived back at our room we sought to book the restaurant but were surprised to find that seatings did not commence until 6pm. Not really suitable for young children so we asked if our dinner package could be taken in the bar-lounge.
When we arrived at the bar lounge at 5 it was very busy and no tables were available in the main area. We proceeded to the rear of the bar-lounge area to be told we could not sit here as the wedding night-time reception was being set-up there for 7pm. We explained we would not be there after 7pm but were still denied. I asked for a manager as we were faced with no where to sit for our dinner. The manager organised a table for us in a small alcove which was receptive but then another table was set-up right behind us for a group of adults to drink at, which was a bit off.
Food was OK, not great but not bad. However, on ordering desserts at 6.15pm we did not receive them until 6.45pm and this required us to challenge another passing waitress to actually finally get to us otherwise I suspect it would have never come. This sort of defeated the purpose of eating earlier with our young child.
On returning to the room having got our child set down for the night the room felt really cramped. It was not a family room but this was on the advice from the hotel that a portable bed could incorporated in. It was located at the foot of our bed which practically precluded passing by this obstacle.
The double bed in the room was terribly uncomfortable, honestly leaving us with sore backs for 2 days after our stay.
In addition at ~9pm the music started! We were situated above the function suite. I rang down rather annoyed by this stage asking why they located a family with a young child un-attached to the function directly above the function suite. The chap on the phone was not helpful or considerate.
We had booked to stay 2 nights but ended up informing the hotel that we would not be staying the second night due to the issues and complaints.
They did try to rectify some things to their credit but it should not have got to this point at all in the first place. No excuses.

I had just recently visited the Apex Waterloo hotel in Edinburgh city which knocked the socks off of this hotel in every respect. For a rural hotel to have no comparison to a city hotel in room size, noise pollution etc. is unacceptable.

Hilton / Doubletree must do better.

Room Tip: Not room 201 on a weekend if your not at a function...as it is above the function suite.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Guest,
We appreciate the time and trouble you have taken to complete the trip advisor survey and to give us feedback on your recent stay in our hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for the shortcomings you experienced during your visit. It is always important for us to cater and deliver the best attention to our yougest audience and thank you for bringing your concern to us. We will take the time to review your comments with the hotel team and will use your feedback as part of our on-going commitment to improve.
We really hop to have the opportunity to welcome you sometme in the future.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Apart from having problems with check in and check out, This hotel was very nice just have to manage reservation system better. Staff all very helpful. The restaurant was very nice apart from the fact no-one seemed to know who we were but handled it well. We were given a double bill due to the mess with the reservations but all sorted in the end.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank 913sandraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to complete this questionnaire following your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane Hydro.
It is always lovely to hear following a guest stay and please be assured that your comments have been passed to our reservation team to feedback to the staff.
We hope to see you again very soon.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Birthday break with 5p.m. deal was great value. We paid for a room upgrade and it was good, with a lovely view across the valley. I hadn't realised I had mentioned my birthday, but someone had paid attention as there was a card and chocolates in the room - thank you for that thoughtful touch!

I imagine the plethora of good deals accounted for the fact that the dining room was full on a Monday night, and the same high turnover of people staying one night stretches the housekeeping staff, accounting for the room being a little dusty. However, there appeared to be no corners cut in the food which was very good. My desert arrived with the plate hand - decorated with 'Happy Birthday', another very thoughtful touch.

Great massages from Sheena in the spa who was also very considerate.

Late checkout option at 1.00p.m. meant we could make the most of our second day using the spa before our inclusive prosecco afternoon tea.

Overall, a lovely 1 night break. Well done Hydro.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Alfie'smum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to complete the trip advisor survey. We do hope you had an enjoyable stay with us on this occasion and please to know that our team went the extra mile to make it special. We hope to see you again sometime soon.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The hotel was lovely the decor/location what we expected. The check in/check out procedure is slow not only for ourselves but with most residents checking in that day. Also, we had no outside telephone line. The food was excellent and we would return, to enjoy the menu again, hopefully to a room with an outside telephone service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank lizgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey. We are please you had an enjoyable stay with us and will take the time to review your comments with the hotel team to use your feedback as part of our on-going commitment to improve. We hope to see you again sometime soon.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews