We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal experience at Double tree Hilton Hotel in Dunblane, Scotland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Personal experience at Double tree Hilton Hotel in Dunblane, Scotland”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We went as a group of 32 people and stayed in this hotel for two nights. Most rooms were comfortable but there were many small pokey rooms where you could hardly move. Toiletries were not replaced. Worst was the food they provided. We had a buffet type dinner as part of our package. First the food was not enough for 32 people. Secondly the vegetarian food provided was pasta on both days which was half cooked and dry with very little sauce, and not to mention very cold. On the first day there were some vegetables provided but on the second day we were given boiled cauliflower and virtually uncooked broccoli. The non vegetarians were provided with reasonable food. I asked to talk to the duty manager and asked her to taste the food. She replied staff are not allowed to taste the food. Then we asked whether this was the standard of food provided to other clients or was just prepared for us. she said that same food was provided in all the dining areas and they always have two or three vegetarian choices. we looked at the menu and found that there was about six or seven choices of starter (and we were given only two options) and there was no vegetarian option in the main meals but seven or eight non veg option (we were given two same options on both the days). I am Hilton honours member and stayed at many Hilton hotels. Never have I come across this type of food. A lot of us vegetarians remained hungry and had to do with bread. I will not recommend this hotel to any vegetarians.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jyotsna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane.

I am disappointed to hear that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. I have passed on your comments regarding your stay to our senior management team, in particular our Executive chef. Please accept our apologies and our assurance that we will use your review to focus attention in these areas and use this as part of our on-going commitment to improve.

Thank you again for the time and trouble you have taken to give us this feedback.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,179
    1,314
    843
    405
    190
See reviews for
773
2,104
63
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (840)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Myself and my partner were looking for something to do on sunday night, decided at the last minute to look for a reasonable and near to home overnight stay given it was a bank holiday weekend. We went to the Dunblane Hydro and we got a fantastic deal at the hydro. Top class meal in nick nairns restaurant, lovely breakfast and an over night stay all for £99 for two people. We also took a walk into Dunblane village. What a lovely village and the people were so friendly too. Service in the hotel was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for the staff on reception, in the bar and in the restaurant. We had a lovely day and night and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne310562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for recently completing the online survey.

I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable Bank Holiday weekend stay with us recently. It is especially great to read that our team delivered excellent service throughout your stay.

Your comments are appreciated and will be fed back to the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunblane, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

my stay was very comfortable what left me very disappointed was that I left my phone charger plugged in my the room 218 which I had stayed in I tries to phone the hotel and was given the very bad phone experience and eventually I was cut of the line I then tried to email but never even received an acknowledgement

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your valuable feedback on your questionnaire.

Firstly may I apologise for the difficulty you had in contacting the Hotel.

Our housekeeping staff regularly discover forgotten/lost articles in bedrooms which are immediately noted in our lost property and promptly returned by post to the guest. Had they found your charged in the guest room this would have been posted to you.

I do hope this will not deter you from staying with us again sometime in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskine, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Outstanding value for money and first class attention to small detail with delightful restaurant food standards. Highly recommended to all age groups. Easy access to train station opens up exploring avenues near and far with comfort & effortless.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank allan_gray1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey. We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us and hope to see you again sometime soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penicuik midlothian
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have just returned from a special Sunday night rate including dinner it was excellent value. We requested rooms together on a high floor in main hotel building all our requests where met. I found the food in the restaurant to be excellent along with the staff the service was excellent breakfast also was very good. No problems checking in overall I would say the staff are a credit to the hotel very polite but not stuffy and very attentive excellent stay would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penicuik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest

I appreciate you taking the time to complete the online survey.

Thank you for your excellent feedback after your recent stay with us. I shall share your comments with the team and look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane in the very near future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The staff were really helpful and found pretty much anything we asked for. The food was fantastic and they even had a seperate vegetarian menu in the restaurant which I really appreciated since most places just offer one vegetarian option on the normal menu. We had trouble with the shower not heating up but there was plenty of hot water for a bath. There was even a pianist in the lounge who did requests in the evening and the bar staff were happy to make us cocktails on request. Also used the spa facilities - great massage and nice to use the sauna and steam room. A very nice stay and great value for the dinner, bed and breakfat (only £90 each when the food alone should cost £40!). I will be very happy to go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing the online questionnaire.

We really appreciate you selecting DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane Hydro for your recent break and are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

It’s especially great to read that our team delivered excellent service throughout your stay and that you had an enjoyable meal in the Kailyard Restaurant.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunblane, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I turned up at the Dunblane Hydro, having booked my room in May 13 for a stay in Apr 14 (for my best friends wedding). The hotel manager informed me they couldn't find my booking and I didn't exist on their system, I thought this was ironic as I had my confirmation email, as well as an email from the previous week asking if I want any room service on arrival. (I also got an email to review my recent stay hence I am doing this). The hotel was fully booked that night, so couldn't get a room in the hotel, on my room home that night the taxi driver informed me the hotel do this a lot with their bookings. I can only assume they bumped me out as I paid a cheap rate by booking 11 months in advance. I still haven't received a refund 1 week after I was meant to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest

I appreciate you completing the online questionnaire.

It was very disappointing to read of the issues that you encountered. This is certainly not the level of service we wish to provide to any of our guests and offer our sincere apologies.

Your feedback has been shared with our management team to ensure we take all necessary steps to make sure this does not happen in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunblane hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunblane
2.8 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
13.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
750 reviews
3.5 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Property: Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Address: Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Hotel Dunblane
Hilton International Dunblane
Dunblane Hydro
Hydro Dunblane
Dunblane Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Stirling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing