We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We had to be moved 2 times until we got a room we actually thought was what we had booked. One room smelt of newly cooked fish and chips! Drinks significantly over priced. Dining room food disappointing General quality of rooms in annexe to rear of building disappointing Watch out for large bump on gym floor!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank zumsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete the survey and to give us feedback on your recent stay in our hotel.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the shortcomings you experienced during your visit. We will take the time to review your comments with the hotel team and will use your feedback as part of our on-going commitment to improve.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,134
    1,267
    824
    397
    187
See reviews for
739
2,039
62
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (821)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Casares, Spain
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I am writing this review on behalf of my parents. They were tour group from Japan. Unfortunately, the day they arrived in Scotland after long journey from Tokyo, my father became so ill and had to stay 2 days at the hotel. The hotel staff were so kind and helpful my mother was so impressed with the service. They were well looked after by the staff. I would highly recommend this hotel and again thank you very much!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arroyohondo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review on behalf of your parents.

I shall ensure your kind comments about the service they received whilst here is passed to the Team.

We do hope your father is recovering well after his illness.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
170 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Have stayed here a number of times. Always good and never exceptional. Rooms are good especially the superior rooms. Restaurant and bar areas are good and there is a sensible number of meal choices - not too many or too small allowing sufficient choice and for all food served to have received good attention to preparation.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking gardens are good. Worth upgrading to a superior room if available. There are often...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GardenerBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing the online questionnaire.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay overall and hope that we can welcome you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane in the near future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunoon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Appalled to pick up a germ at our first meal which consequently was diagnosed as food poisoning. This extremely painful condition ruined the rest of our holiday. The cause of this dreadful happening was thought to be a dish of raw salmon and brown shrimps.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane.

I understand my Deputy General Manager has now been in contact with your personally to discuss this matter with you.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Firstly I would like to say the staff in this hotel were friendly,polite,helpful,and tried to sort out all the problems encountered.On arrival on a 3 day break first impression was of a dark dismal hotel with poorly lit stairwells and corridors, a horrible mix of dark and brown colours. We were given room 211 which had no heating in bathroom and was pretty cold when having a shower. Dining room informed us it was not possible to get a table in dining room till after 9pm due to hotel being busy.( We were on a DBB deal) so we opted to eat in bar lounge which must be about one of the most depressing rooms I have ever seen in a hotel,even the staff agreed with us. ( I mention no names ).The menu here did not allow you to pick the same food as the dining room menu either.I can only say the evening meals we had during our stay were of a poor quality,tough lamb, water logged mash,, over cooked dry fish, etc..The bed in our room was so uncomfortable we had very little sleep. In the morning we complained and were given a another room, Room 227 . The next nights sleep was even worse and on examining the mattress it was completely broken,I asked the house keeper to come and see it and she agreed telling us the mattresses in hotel were in the process of being replaced. she offered us another room and we declined after moving from one end of hotel to the other within 24 hours we were not prepared to move again . She was very apolligetic and offered us some freebies,which is a kind gesture,but as we do not go on breaks for freebies declined. (We go on breaks to relax,have a comfy nights sleep, good food, and get refreshed ) on return to our room later that night several freebies had been put in the room , only to find,there was no power in the room to operate TV,kettle etc. We reported this to reception and went out to eat,yes we went out.To complete our break our bill was slipped under door in the morning which had an" OVERCHARGE" of over £200.00 .This we had to sort out at reception before checking out. Our 3 day break has been a total disaster,having to constantly complain and left us both with very sore backs. I say again though the staff were exceedingly pleasant and helpful,however the Hotel management need a real shake up and get the hotel sorted out, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a relaxing time. It is rather sad also to see mugs on tables at breakfast and no table cloths on tables at dinner in a 4 star hotel,but maybe this is a sign of the times,or maybe to save money. To charge £2.00 for one Tunnocks caramel wafer is nothing less than shameless!.A very tired Topguide/

Room Tip: Check bed to see if it has a matress that is not worn out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank topguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete the online survey.

I am sorry to read you were disappointed with your stay and your feedback is appreciated. We will use the information you have provided us with to make changes and improvements within our hotel and it will assist further our aim to provide the very best customer care we possibly can.

I would like to thank you for your kind comments about the team; I will ensure that they receive your comments.

We do hope you will return to our hotel, so we may take the opportunity to ensure you receive the excellent service we pride ourselves upon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunblane hotels

Tain, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Super,child friendly hotel in easy distance of many attractions. Food service slow in restaurant, in spite of pre ordering meal as there were 25 of us but meals tasty. The hotel could do with a children's play area or even some tyre swings on the many trees. Would definitely visit establishment again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing the questionnaire after your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane Hydro.

I was sorry to read that you had experienced slow service during your stay but do hope that this will not deter you from staying with us again sometime in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We went as a group of 32 people and stayed in this hotel for two nights. Most rooms were comfortable but there were many small pokey rooms where you could hardly move. Toiletries were not replaced. Worst was the food they provided. We had a buffet type dinner as part of our package. First the food was not enough for 32 people. Secondly the vegetarian food provided was pasta on both days which was half cooked and dry with very little sauce, and not to mention very cold. On the first day there were some vegetables provided but on the second day we were given boiled cauliflower and virtually uncooked broccoli. The non vegetarians were provided with reasonable food. I asked to talk to the duty manager and asked her to taste the food. She replied staff are not allowed to taste the food. Then we asked whether this was the standard of food provided to other clients or was just prepared for us. she said that same food was provided in all the dining areas and they always have two or three vegetarian choices. we looked at the menu and found that there was about six or seven choices of starter (and we were given only two options) and there was no vegetarian option in the main meals but seven or eight non veg option (we were given two same options on both the days). I am Hilton honours member and stayed at many Hilton hotels. Never have I come across this type of food. A lot of us vegetarians remained hungry and had to do with bread. I will not recommend this hotel to any vegetarians.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jyotsna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane.

I am disappointed to hear that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. I have passed on your comments regarding your stay to our senior management team, in particular our Executive chef. Please accept our apologies and our assurance that we will use your review to focus attention in these areas and use this as part of our on-going commitment to improve.

Thank you again for the time and trouble you have taken to give us this feedback.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunblane
2.8 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
20.3 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
13.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
11.4 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Property: Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Address: Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Hotel Dunblane
Hilton International Dunblane
Dunblane Hydro
Hydro Dunblane
Dunblane Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Stirling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing